We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive
Ranked #31 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Tucson
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I would not stay here again. This hotel name should not be associated with Extended Stay America. Because of the Tucson location I will never consider staying at another Crossland Economy Studios. Beds are rock hard. Sheets are dingy and dirty looking. Pillows are sweat stained. Bedspread have cigarette burns. TVs have lines in the screens and volume goes down unexpectedly (don't expect more than 10 channels). Ants in the kitchen and bathroom (housekeeping sprayed, but left the dead ants). Showers are warm at best. Peep holes in doors are missing and plugged with paper towels. Lamp shades are cracked and broken. Maintenance doesn't fix any problems. Several weeks housekeeping didn't vacuum and sweep, wipe down sinks and counters, or make the bed (non the less change the sheets) . Rates promised by the front desk and management aren't kept as they promise. This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at tbu@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    11
    12
    23
See reviews for
12
14
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I'm not one for writing reviews; however Crossland Economy Suites is deserving of a response regarding my stay.

Once again, the Management; Dan G., and his staff go above and beyond the meaning of "Customer Service." They are truly exceptional in everything from the front office to the cleaning staff.

If you need to be away from home, for any amount of time, you can't go wrong when you book a reservation at this location.

I could go on and on relating my experiences regarding my stays but the best way to enjoy Crossland is to experience for yourself...you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce-Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your stay at Crossland Economy Studios. Our staff was happy to hear how pleasant your stay has been. Please feel free to let us know we can help you with future stays at our many Extended Stay America locations throughout the country and Canada. Once again, thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Crosslands for 3 nights while our house was being cleaned up from a broken water pipe. The room was clean,had a kitchen area, utensils, so we cooked a lot and enjoyed our "home away from home". No cleaning services unless you stay for a week but we knew that when we checked in at the front office. It was a small room but very practical. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend Crosslands! Nothing fancy but a good value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crossland Economy Studios- Tucson. It's great to hear that the staff was helpful and did great job at creating a "home away from home" for you. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

During my lenthy stay here at the Crossland Hotel, at one point a security issue did develop, in which one desk clerk here did not take the incident seriously. However, when I brought the problem to the attention of the manager, Dan, he resolved the matter promptly and with appropriate concern for hotel guests. The service here at the Crossland Hotel from all departments, including housekeeping, security, maintenance and management, continues to measure up to a very high standard of excellence.

gordongreen

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordongreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Crossland Economy Studios-Tucson. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. I am glad we make you feel at home! We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays. Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Husband and I needed a place to crash after a New Year's party and with the way every other hotel skyrocketed their prices for the night, we were happy to find Crossland had not.

--We got a single double bed room, the bed was plenty large enough for the both of us (it's only slightly smaller than a queen). The blankets on the bed were thin, but clean and more than able to keep us warm. The mattress was very firm, which I liked, but my husband prefers soft mattresses, so he hated it. The mattress also made a ton of noise whenever one of us moved. The pillows were of medium firmness and nice and a fluffy.
--Heat/AC unit is in the room so you can control it.
--The room has a two burner stove, microwave, coffee pot, mini fridge with freezer, cutting board, pot and pan, plates, bowls, silverware, can opener, ETC...Just the basics for a little kitchenette, which was great since we got to make our own breakfast in the morning (saves money!).
--There's a small open closet by the bed with extra towels placed in it.
--The bathroom contained two sets of body and hand towels as well as two wash clothes. There was another towel to serve as a mat in the shower. Soap for the sink and shower were provided. There are also extra toilet paper rolls in the bathroom if you needed. There was only a shower unit (no tub).
--One thing I wanted to note was while the room itself was totally spotless and clean, the shower needed to be rinsed & cleaned a little better. There were hairs and fibers on the bottom of it.
--The room has an older television with basic cable channels, I believe there was also some paper per view options available.
--We had a single table/desk with one chair, a single nightstand, and a dresser in the room for furniture. The walls were also bare except for one picture above the bed, but I think that would be good for an extended guest who may need to use the walls to tape up pictures, papers, ETC
--We also saw coin washer and dryer units down with the ice and vending machines, so you can do laundry.
--Yes, trains do go by every half hour or so, however, that is in no way, shape, or form the hotel's fault (in fact, you can hear the trains from all of the hotels in the area). My husband, who is an extremely light sleeper, had absolutely no issues sleeping through the trains.
--The gentlemen at the front desk in the morning when we checked out was very polite and funny. The young lady who had checked us in the night before seemed a little bored and underwhelmed (but maybe this was because she was working on New Year's Eve).
--You set up your house keeping needs (there's cards in the room explaining everything).
--It put us at only a 10 minute drive from where our party was on Broadway and only a 15 min-ish drive from the Tucson Mall, which was very nice.

Overall, it's a nice hotel. Nothing fancy, but very straightforward and well priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnufflesandHuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. As you know, our unique suites are designed with you in mind. Offering amenities like a refrigerator, stovetop, in-room wifi access, personalized voicemail, and on-premise laundry in exceptionally priced rooms has led us to be the premier extended stay option in the industry. And with guests like you, we will continue to thrive.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Crossland and we did not know what to expect but we had an absolutely great experience! My advice for the ones who are expecting a "full service hotel experience" is go somewhere else where the hotel is classified as a full service hotel. This is what you get: a room with a kitchenette and utensils (pots, pans) It is a studio. They are affiliated with Extended Stay and it works the same. No housekeeping services, you can take your used towels and exchange them for clean ones. In other words, it is like your own studio apartment and clean it. None of the stuff you get at a traditional hotel. I recommend this hotel and we will be using it frequently from now on!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for your recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

So many "NQR (Not Quite Right) Factors that I will not choose them again. Here's the laundry list: our non-smoking room smelled of smoke and had cigarette burns on the bedspread; they gave us a new room but it still smelled funny. Shower in room above us was leaking into our shower causing huge ballon of water under the paint, with drips nad eyesore. Trash and beer cans were strewn about the grounds. Fridge did not work; they eventually brought a new one 4 hrs later than promised. Missing kitchennete plates, silverware, etc.; we had to forage for enough cooking utensiles to prepare meals. The bright spot was the front desk woman who tried like make things right, however, the poor maintenance and shoddy upkeep were apparently beyond her control. Had this facility been clean and properly maintained, I would have far more favorable comments.

Room Tip: Be prepared for no pool, no ice machine, no restaurant, and train whistles at all hrs of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethsalamanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at our hotel. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

Please understand that maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve. As well, I apologize for the outside disturbances you experienced. We try to ensure our guests are not affected; however, some sounds are out of our control.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tucson hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#72 of 128 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tucson - Grant Road
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
#77 of 128 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Tucson Airport
Days Inn Tucson Airport
#96 of 128 in Tucson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive

Property: Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive
Address: 4800 S Butterfield Dr, Tucson, AZ 85714-3405 (Formerly Crossland - Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Tucson - Butterfield Drive. We're located right off of Interstate 10 and across the street from the Tucson Expo Center. Our hotel is just 4 miles from Tucson International Airport. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing