We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A relaxing home away from home”
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We spent our usual 3 weeks over Christmas and New Year and this time flew directly to Tucson. Although we have spent a lot of time at the Windmill we always find new things to do/discover and the staff and stay were first class. We tried the guest laundry this time which meant we didn't have to bring so many clothes and could pack our suitcases full of new purchases on our return.

The hotel provides so much for the guests it is hard to make use of it all. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcpilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    191
    55
    13
    14
See reviews for
259
256
56
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We got a great deal on a great suite. While it was too cool to swim the warm staff made our stay most enjoyable. Excellent breakfast buffet without all the fatty bacon and watery eggs -- just egg whites cereal, waffles and fruit.

We easily arranged the suite furniture to accomodate a cot without having to close it every day and the beds were very comfortable. Had a great view of the mountains and the location is right by the river run, and the foothills. Its right in next to a trader joes, and has a farmers market on sunday.

Great value, Highly recommend for families. My only complaint was that the coffee was too weak but its available 24/7

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captaintraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2011

The TVs in the rooms are literally 1980s models. I was really surprised that they hadn't updated one of the most essential items in a hotel room.

The beds were totally fine and seemed clean. No complaints about the service either.

Just think if it were 1987 and you wanted a clean, decent room. This would be a great choice - in 1987 that is.

Would not stay here again simply due to the age of the place, but nothing really "wrong" with this hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoggFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, mo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

My friend and I enjoyed our stay at Windmill Sutes. It was nice to have a separate living area, and we appreciated the second sink set in a nook between bedroom and bath. This hotel is in a pretty central area of Tucson. We were equidistant from the Oro Valley where we had friends, the University, and the Convention Center. The facility is located in an interesting small shopping center with a very good Italian restaurant, Vivace.

Windmill Suites has a guest laundry and offers a so-so continental breakfast. Parking is good. Tucson is expensive and I would say this was good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenapegirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
We would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team members. We will recognize the outstanding service they have provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We are traveling from California to Texas and needed a pit stop. Concerned about Tucson with the plethora of guns and the recent tragedy plus the proximity to the border, we wanted a safe place that was comfortable that took dogs.

This place is it.

Safe area. Took dogs. Very very comfortable beds. Kind of an old hotel. But well taken care of. It's winter and we still wanted the a/c to blow strong. Our room wasn't the winner but they were willing to relocate us to another room. I wouldn't trust those rooms if it were summer. They are well appointed and huge. Big comfy beds. They had choco chip cookies when we checked in. My wife loved that. They had dog poop bags and dog treats. The check-in staff was amazing. The check out staff? Not so amazing. They had a huge "hiring" sign hanging off the building. Guess it's hard to find good help in Tuscon.

Best thing about it was: we found a discount rate and they gave us a 2pm late checkout. Made the slightly higher room price more of a bargain.

Breakfast was OK. Typical hotel self serve breakfast.

There's a great Mexican restaurant nearby called "Guadalajara Grill". And there's a Trader Joe's across the street for snacks.

I would go back on the rebound. They try hard to handle your concerns. At least the check-in staff did. The check-out staff was not so cookie chip warm. But checkout the room if it can handle the temp before you settle in. It's hard to find a decent stay in this town. So I would keep this on the list.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMLOOPS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Enjoyed our stay but found the hotel & local restaurants rather pricey. Located a few miles from Tucson city center.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We arrived late on a Sunday after a long flight and to a friendly woman who quickly got us checked in. I always ask a for a restaurant recommendation and it turned out that we got a couple other people to send us to the same spot that we enjoyed. It also turned out that another recommendation for an Italian restaurant was in the same plaza 30 seconds from our hotel and that was wonderful.

The layout was just the right size. We enjoyed the separate living space from the bedroom with the bar and sink and small fridge (unlike some top hotels in Vegas that charge you to use the fridge) with the microwave (which came in handy for leftovers from the restaurants).

While we found it necessary to open the windows during the day because the space was a bit musty, it was otherwise clean, spacious and just right for the two of us.

The workout room had just an eliptical trainer and a treadmill, but we managed to get our workout having to wait a few minutes on a couple of occasions.

The bed was very comfortable and the three sinks came in handy. There was an outdoor pool that we didn't get to use because our stay was just three nights.

The staff was friendly and the continental breakfast worked for us, as well. It would be nice if there were more environmentally friendly alternative to the disposable styrofoam cups, plates and bowls.

We also had no problem getting the internet. The location was good and it was a pleasant all around experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berkshireclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
3.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
954 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
682 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing