We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Great place to stay and very affordable. Even when i first arrived they had fresh baked cookies waiting . The rooms are clean and spacious. The continental breakfast in the morning was great with everything from waffles to hard boiled eggs. I wish I could live here!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunriseset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 882 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

We decided to go to Tucson for a family vacation and discovered this hotel on tripadvisor.com. What great find! This hotel was consistently ranked in the top 3 in the Tucson area, and we discovered why as soon as we arrived. We were the last guests to arrive that night, and the front desk told us that they were out of our requested type of room - and were therefore upgraded to a bigger suite!
Although the suite was fairly simple in design and decoration, it was big! We had a full size bedroom with a large bathroom with jacuzzi tub. The main room had a pull out sofa, along with a full size dining table and a small kitchenette - perfect for traveling with small children!
The hotel is centered around a quiet courtyard and pool, and is located in an upscale area of shops and restaurants. Although we didn't try any of the upscale restaurants in the immediate area (due to having a 5 and 1 year old with us), we were pleasantly surprised by some restaurants suggested by the hotel staff. For our family, one of the best surprises was a restaurant called "Chopped" which is just across Campbell from the hotel - good prices, and a wide selection of burgers, deli sandwiches and salads.
This hotel is fairly easy to get to as it bounds both Campbell and River which are busy streets that run through the city north-south and east-west respectively. We would definitely stay here again and would easily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

This is at least my 5th or 6th time staying at this location. Always have been greeted by exceptional staff. Rooms are always excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akinken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We have stayed at the Windmill Suites everytime we have come to Tucson. The value is incredible. The suites are roomy and immaculate. The staff will do anything they must to meet your requests.

It is located in beautiful St Phillps Plaza. There are many lovely boutiques and quaint restaurants just a short stroll away. There is an excellent place for your morning walk or run on the wash by the hotel. I wish all hotels were of this quality.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YodaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We stopped here on our way to NM and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly, the room was very well appointed (2 TVs!), bed cloths were in good condition, bed was not sagging!

The hotel is located within a groups of shops and restaurants, so food is a short walk away and there is a supermarket just across the road if you want to picnic in your room.

They will bring you breakfast to your room free of charge and if you need more after that then you are still allowed to go to the big breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The room was clean and reasonably spacious, and the breakfast was good. Pool was private from the road, and the hotel is located in a small shopping area with some upscale restaurants and shops. Overall, it had a very good feel. One very nice thing is that it is located immediately next to the Rillito river (which is really just a large dry wash most of the time). The river has very nice walking trails along it, and it was easy to slip out of the hotel and onto the walking trail for a little exercise.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normalguyfromlogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

I found the Windmill Inn on Trip Advisor and it exceeded even the positive ratings given by others. I loved the Spanish exterior, the suites, the service,and being tucked behind a Farmer's Market.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin_TXCato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
1,017 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#22 of 129 in Tucson
1,215 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
6.1 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $138 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing