We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This place has spoiled us for all others as it was as good as it gets. Our rooms were huge and spotless and extremely comfortable. There are New Yorkers living in a lot less space! We had a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, microwave, sink, a wet bar with two bar stools, a comfortable sofa and a chair, a desk and chair, then a bedroom through French doors, so hubby who rises earlier than I could sneak out and read without waking me, a bathroom with dual vanities, and an amazing amount of storage space, plus two TVs and 3 phones. We were there for six nights on a two week Arizona trip, so the downstairs laundry room was great to have - each suite has an ironing board and iron too. Breakfast was very good with hardboiled or scrambled eggs (with cheese and salsa to add if you want), 3 kinds of oatmeal, sausage, bacon, yogurt, fresh fruit, teas, coffees, juices, milk, bagels, toast, pastries, waffles, and cereal. Free newspapers each morning too. Staff is super friendly and there's a nice lounge area and plenty of good, free parking. There's a nice pool and a small fitness center. The rooms were so quiet. Good wifi. Nice location. Very, very happy with our stay - would stay again if ever in Tucson again.

Room Tip: Room 338 was perfection. Close to ice machine and elevator, but ice never bothered us and having th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you Linda C. for taking the time to write about your last visit with us here at the Windmill Suites Tucson. We appreciate all the positive comments you mentioned in your write up. We truly look forward to your return visits. May you and yours have a fabulous 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 850 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

All rooms are two room suites and with the door closed to bedroom, you get soundproof sleeping. Just big enough. Just enough food for breakfast. Awesome 10+ mile running, hiking, biking trail beside hotel. North (best) end of town. You can't do better for any price. This is an older hotel, but is absolutely meticulously cared for and that attitude of pride comes through in the staff.

Can afford $500 a night Tucson hotels, but would stay nowhere else but here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have bedroom to outside wall and are quiet as tombs with interior door closed.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knives25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you knives25 for taking the time to write a review on your last visit with us here at the Windmill Suites Tucson. We appreciate your kind words and that you truly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visits. May you and yours have a wonderful 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights here recently while I had medical procedures done at the University Medical Center. The location was in a quiet plaza with some restaurants nearby. The front desk was wonderful about not making us move when we needed to extend our stay.
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
The rooms were large, clean and everything was in working order. Some of the decor was a bit dated but still functional.
The breakfast fare was adequate and gave you the kickstart that one needs in the norning.
A wonderful hotel that I hope will keep going for years to come.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank captrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you "capture" for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your latest stay at the Windmill Suites Tucson. We are elated that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to your return. May you and yours have a wonderful 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Made a reservation through Expedia for two nights, and after we got there, asked to extend it for a third. They were able to do that without making us move, and the price was better through the hotel. Sitting room, bedroom and bathroom were spacious and clean—not fancy, but totally comfortable. The location is a little distance from downtown in a shopping center that had two good restaurants. We could eat a meal without having to get back in the car and drive. Pool was good. Breakfast was typical free hotel breakfast (except for salsa and cheese served with the scrambled eggs—don't see that in Michigan). I agree with one of the other reviewers that the service was the best! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you Brett A. for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate hearing from our guests about their lodging experiences. We do hope you visit us again when returning to Tucson. Have a wonderful 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spent five nights at the Windmill Suites for a military class reunion. The large room in our suite was used as the class hospitality room. This worked great for a class gathering of 32 people. Why did we like the Windmills Suites? The staff, particularly the manager, were helpful whenever needed and set the scene for a successful reunion. Other reasons: location, location, location. A great location for dining options, north end attractions, reasonably quiet despite nearby busy streets, and wonderful options to the north and south.

The breakfast is so so standard upper end hotel fare. I don't select hotels for their complimentary breakfasts.

Negative, well perhaps the distance from the airport - about 35 minutes. No hotel van service. The good news is that Tucson can rentals were very reasonable.

Fantastic attractions to supplement your reunion agendas.

Yes, we definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to a timely return.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willyum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you "willyum2" for taking the time to write a review. We love to read about the guests experience such as yours and we too are looking forward to your return visits. Have a fabulous 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed twice. Good clean rooms. Quite basic but good for the price and in a good location near a shopping centre with a couple of decent restaurants. Breakfast limited but again good value for the price. Solid budget 3 star in the class but now showing signs of rooms needing updating. CRT TV in this age is no longer acceptable. Good value but don't be fooled by the Tripadvisor ranking.......a reflection of solid value in an otherwise expensive neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Wouldn't bother will poolside
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you "RJaga" for taking the time to write the review. We appreciate learning about our guests experiences and glad you feel you received value in your stay. We do hope you will visit us again when in Tucson. Have a wonderful 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Spent 4 nights at the Windmill Suites. Very nice size sitting room, large bedroom and nice bathroom. Extra sink and mirror. Microwave, refrigerator too.
Nice pool (3-6 ft. deep) and whirlpool. Breakfast included okay. Bacon and sausage a bit greasy,
scrambled eggs from a powder or pre mixed liquid but bagels, yoghurt and cereal available too.
Very clean room and bathroom. Good location just before foothills and canyons. In a pleasant shopping/restaurant complex.

Room Tip: They do have a few suites with an outdoor patio with table and chairs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j25aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindmillSuites-GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you "j25aj" for taking your time to write this review. We appreciate hearing from our guests their stay experiences. We learning a lot from this process. We do hope you will return to the Windmill Suites when visiting in Tucson. Have a wonderful 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
701 reviews
6.1 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
2.6 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
7.1 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $129 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing