We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great way to return to Tucson!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to return to Tucson!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in this quiet, clean, comfortable hotel conveniently located in St Philip's Plaza at Campbell and River. Staff were friendly, helpful and caring. We loved the pool and being able to borrow books. Breakfast was cheerfully served and started the day well. Good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
“Great way to return to Tucson!”

Dear Ms. Laura R.,

Thank you for your positive review of our Tucson location! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, quietness and comfort of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, pool and the location of our property.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    178
    50
    11
    13
See reviews for
229
225
53
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I Stayed there five nights in August for a convention. The location was great for shopping and for taking walks on trails. There is a sprouts,trader joes and lots of places to eat. I love having a kitchen and lots of space in room. The staff was awesome.....shout out to crystal Sara Emma Victoria Amanda and Pam. I will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniegutai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
“Great staff and location”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Crystal, Sara, Emma, Victoria and Pam will be recognized for their hospitality!

Thank you for your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property.

Thank you for recommending us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Risskov, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed at the Windmill Suites when I visited U of A at the end of August. I have had unforgettable experiences there. The reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, roomy, practical and the bed supper comfortable. Besides the free bicycles are available for guests, which was very appreciated to be used to enjoy a city tour...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GZhangDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable bed and our bicycles for our guest’s use.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Fairly quiet even next to pool. Easy to walk to Zinburger, PF Chang's, Scordato's Pizzeria & Scordato's and Trader Joe's is across street. As with most breakfast included hotels, I'd rather let them keep what we Americans allow to pass for food and have a reduction in rates while I go to a bakery or restaurant to get healthier, tastier food. We were pleasantly surprised by a Saturday morning farmers' market in the complex near the hotel. Knowing this, next time we stay here we'll bring a cooler and see what's available. And we will stay here again. Had the spa & pool to myself at 7 AM.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve60831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
“Convenient location, walk to some great restaurants, farmer’s market”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are pleased you enjoyed the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Windmill Suites when we took our son to check in to the U of A this summer. It was a great location at a great price. The beds were surprisingly comfortable and the room was spacious. The elevator in the wing we stayed at was a little retro - really small and looked like an after thought in the design but it was functional and got us to the floor we needed. Over all I would recommend this place for a weekend stay when visiting Tucson or your student at the U of A. The local is perfect. We also got to enjoy the Farmer's Market that was taking place in the plaza on Saturday morning. That was an added treat we didn't expect but really enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
“Great Value”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson Windmill!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here the first week of August for a softball tournament. The hotel has easy access in a cute shopping center. There is a Trader Joes across the street, and other shopping is close by. The free breakfast in the morning was the perfect way to start our day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, and included a kitchenette with a refrigerator and microwave. The best part of this hotel, in my opinion, was the beds! By far the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Even better than a Hilton bed. I slept like a baby all seven nights of our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tuscon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OTH348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
“So comfortable!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, our comfortable beds and the location of our property.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Windmill Suites. We were getting our daughter moved in to U of A and spent 3 days. The motel is conveniently located, very quiet, has all the needed amenities and spacious, well kept rooms. It's layed out very well, with easy access to parking and the pool no matter where your room is. The hot breakfast is great, and they never run out of anything. The staff is excellent, very helpful, and Sara at the front counter is welcoming and kind. We'll be staying at Windmill every time we head down to see our daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
“Pleasant Stay”

Dear Mr. Ken C.,

Thank you for your positive review! Sara and our team members will be recognized for their customer service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the design and spaciousness of our suite and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#27 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing