We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #9 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

In April of 2013 my husband & I had the pleasure of staying at the Windmill Suites. We were in town for our daughter's wedding and we invited our out of town guests to join us for several days before the big event. We arranged to reserve a block of rooms with patios around the salt water pool. If we had the opportunity to do it all over again, we definitely would choose this hotel again! The rooms are clean and spacious. The front desk hospitality is impressive. Whether you call on the phone or speak to them in person, the staff are helpful and treat you with a warm friendliness & a positive attitude. I worked with both event coordinators (Michael and Crystal). They helped me from the beginning - giving me a tour and explaining how they could best serve me and my guests to checking in with me after everyone had arrived and making extra seating/tables available outside so everyone was comfortable. On weekends there's often good sized farmers market on the plaza right outside the hotel. It has a wide variety of vendors with all sorts of wonderful food. If you are in the mood for food, the hotel offers a very tasty breakfast with everything from scrambled eggs with sausage/bacon to waffles and yogurt. For lunch and dinner, there's a popular Italian restaurant, The Vivace, right next door, or walk across the plaza to The Union House, a restaurant/bar that has macaroni & cheese, shepherds pie and a lot of other common and unique menu items. It also has a really cool patio. The Union House stays open til 2am. At night twinkle lights sparkle from the tall trees in the plaza and cast a glow in the clear Tucson night sky. The sight makes you happy you have found such a beautiful and friendly home away from home.

Room Tip: They have several room choices and some are available for guests with pets. A microwave, little ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
“Home away from home”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive detailed feedback of our Tucson location! Our team members will be acknowledged for their impressive hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the nearby restaurants in the Plaza.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back during your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    177
    49
    11
    12
See reviews for
219
218
51
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoy staying at this two suite hotel. It is situated in the middle of a beautiful plaza with restaurants and shops.
The location is perfect for us. It is truly a two bedroom suite inn offering two spacious rooms, two separate tv’s, and the best part is two separate vanity areas. The rooms are so soundproof we are never aware of any other guests. The public areas are always clean and inviting and the staff friendly and welcoming. They go out of their way to make our stay have that "at home feeling." The breakfasts are generous and the homemade, fresh, slasa is so good it should be packaged and sold. It’s refreshing having a selection of newspapers, especially the Wall Street Journal.
We have been visiting Tucson for the last 15 years and there are so many things we enjoy about the Windmill Inn it’s no wonder we keep coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
“Truly a two room suite Inn”

Dear Ms. Gen L.,

Your detailed review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our public areas and the spaciousness and design of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the complimentary newspapers.

Thank you for being a loyal guest for the past 15 years! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had an enjoyable stay at this hotel for 2 nights. Rooms were right by the pool which was very handy. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The Plaza is nice, we ate in the Union Bar and it had good beers and good deals. We borrowed a bike to ride to the store late at night. I would stay here again in Tuscon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
“Very pleasant hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your suite located next to our pool area, our guest use bicycles and the location of our property with the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Most friendly, conscientious staff in Tucson, from the general manager, to sales director, to the excellent, helpful front desk team. Large hotel with a small european inn attention to customer service. We feel at home here when we visit from Virginia, and the reasonable rates include a full breakfast as well as the Wall Street Journal and USA Today. There is a Trader Joe Grocery across the street, and two excellent Italian restaurants adjacent to the hotel. On the weekends, St Philips Plaza is the site for lively food and craft markets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rappahanneckjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIAQuality, Guest Relations Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
“Wonderful staff, great property and St. Philip’s Plaza location”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had reserved a room for a night after a medical procedure at the UA Medical Center. Windmill Suites gave us a special "medical" rate. Later in the day, when our doctor advised us to return home to Phx that night instead of staying over in Tucson, they released us from our reservation for no charge. Thanks, Amanda! We appreciated your customer-oriented policies and kindness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
“Great customer service”

Dear Janet M,

Your review is most appreciated! Amanda will be recognized for her great customer service!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We travel to Tucson about every 3 months. We always stay at the Windmill Inn and Suites for the following reasons:

(1) Windmill is dog friendly and does not charge extra for a dog. At check-in, your dog receives a bag of dog biscuits.

(2) The hotel is located on Tucson's dry riverbed park. (Tucson has built miles and miles of walking trails along the bed of the Rioito River bed.) So, as soon as you walk out the door, you can walk for miles with your dog without ever encountering traffic or having to cross a road. The hotel is at the intersection of Campbell and River roads, a great location for visiting Tucson. On Saturdays, the plaza where the hotel is located has a lovely farmers' market.

(3) The pizza restaurant next to the hotel has a covered outdoor patio that is also dog friendly. Good food and not just pizza. The salads are great and the bottles of wine are 1/2 price after 8 p.m. Always a plus to find a great dog friendly hotel with a great dog friendly outdoor patio restaurant next door.

(4) A very complete breakfast is included at Windmill but the feature we love is that you can have coffee, muffin, juice and the newspaper delivered to your room in the mornings at no extra cost. We love waking up slowly before heading out for a long dog walk.

(5) The staff has always gone out of their way to help us and to correct any minor problems. I am really surprised by the earlier review I read on trip advisor that complained about a site manager being rude and condescending. The site manager we have dealt with has gone out of her way to help us with minor problems and to make our stays wonderful.

If you travel to Tucson with a dog, there really is no other place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
“Great dog friendly hotel”

Dear Ms. Pamela F,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed positive review of our Tucson property! Our team members and Karin, our General Manager, will be recognized for their outstanding service!

We are pleased you enjoyed the nearby restaurants, the walking path our breakfast buffet and our Windmill Inn Good MorningÔ delivered to your suite. We are also happy to know that you appreciate how we accommodate your needs while traveling with your pet.

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a hotel on the north side of Tucson, in St. Francis Plaza. The rooms are large and comfy and the price wasn't too steep given our March stay. We found two excellent restaurants withing walking distance, the Union Public House and Vivace Italian restaurant. Rumor has it the pizzaria in the same complex is also very good, but we ran out of time. While not downtown, the location isn't more than 15 minutes from the center of the city or the university. Make sure to get a fresh-baked cookie at or after 4pm -- they will bring a smile to your face. There is shopping across the street and a walking/bicycle path just outside the door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KommissarKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
“Nice folks, well situated”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property located in the St. Philip’s Plaza. We will share your comments with our team members!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness and comfort of our suite. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property with the nearby restaurants, shops and the walking/bicycle path and our cookies complimentary to our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#26 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
14.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing