We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Space for the Buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“More Space for the Buck”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was visiting family in Tucson and wanted a quiet, safe and pleasant place to stay for the week. I'm so glad I chose Windmill - room was a true suite having separate area with full couch and 2nd TV. Though the TVs were not flat screen it was not a concern to me at all. Also had a small bar sink area near the mini refrigerator and microwave. In-room coffee very good and plenty of it. Breakfast was the standard "free breakfast" at other hotels but adequate and well stocked. Staff was excellent and very attentive to every detail. Safe location in small upper-scale shopping plaza and Trader Joes is diagonally across the highway. Also a popular walking/biking trail runs along the back of the hotel property. I would definitely stay at Windmill when visiting Tucson again.

Room Tip: I felt comfortable and secure on the 3rd (top) floor. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
“More Space for the Buck”

Dear Ms. Eileen M,

Thank you for your feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their excellent customer service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the quietness of our suite, our breakfast buffet and the security of our property. We are also pleased you enjoyed the nearby shops and walking trail.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back during your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    190
    53
    13
    14
See reviews for
251
253
56
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Windmill Suites in Tucson. The front desk staff was amazingly friendly, they had our rooms ready 2 hours prior to the normal check in time, and helped with directions around town. The continental breakfast was great, the pool was perfect for the 5 little boys we had, and the rooms were spacious and CLEAN!!! Even the housekeeping staff made sure to ask if we had enjoyed our stay :) THANK YOU to everyone at The Windmill Suites!! Should we visit Tucson again we will be sure to book with you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
“Awesome!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Our team members will be recognized for their outstanding service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our pool.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel offers large, exceptionally clean, and comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. The beds and pillows were so comfortable that we woke refreshed every morning. The staff is friendly and responsive too. The grounds and pool area were well maintained. I was impressed with the on-going maintenance that quietly was happening around the property on a daily basis....tree trimming, painting, etc. We loved the walking/riding trails located in back of the property. We used them every morning. My only wish would be for the wifi to be a bit more consistent, coverage was spotty at times.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very quiet, even those facing the shopping area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
“Clean, Comfortable, Quiet”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their hospitality!

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of our suite and the maintenance of our property. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed the nearby walking trail.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue you experienced with the WiFi. We are currently looking into this matter.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

All of the staff were very friendly from Karin, the General Manager, to the Maintenance Staff. We liked the idea of every one on the hotel staff always had a good morning, good afternoon or a hello. The General Manager, was always visible, in the lobby, at the reception or just walking around. This is the best way to be a leader--walk around leadership, not be excluded from the organization and customers by sitting in an office. Outstanding room service. Rooms facing the back were a little noisy from the garbage trucks in the morning, but otherwise just fine. Excellent location for our activities. Overall impression is outstanding. We recommend this property to anyone and we definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravisR102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
“Customer Service was outstanding”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our Tucson location! Karin and our staff will be recognized for their outstanding customer service!

We appreciate your comment regarding the service of your suite. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Upon our arrival there was some confusion with our 3rd party reservation. The employees and general manager immediately contacted the 3rd party provider and rectified the situation beyond my expectations.

Some properties rely on their location and do little to add value to it, at the Windmill Suites the employees add a great deal of value to your stay. They seem to enjoy their jobs and take pride in them, which can be rare these days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricA451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
“Great Customer Service”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive review! Regarding our staff members and our general manager, we will acknowledge them for their great customer service!

We are pleased to know that they handled the situation to your satisfaction regarding your reservation.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene, oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Large, quiet, well-equipped rooms (microwave, fridge, separate sitting area with couch and desk) and excellent beds. Reasonable price. What more to ask for? OK, it is not exactly new, but neither am I. We are both well maintained, though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveEugene_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
“Good place to stay”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness and quietness of our suite. We are pleased to know our suite accommodated your needs and that you enjoyed our beds.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is in a convenient and attractive location, and the grounds, especially the inner courtyard and pool area, are very attractive. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Father Seraphim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
“Good staff”

Dear Father Seraphim W,

Your review is most appreciated! Our Guest Service Agents will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service!

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location of our property and our courtyard.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your patronage!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing