We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #9 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
157 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 days here. The rooms were nice with the "living room" and small kitchen. It was nice having 2 sinks for the bathroom area. The room was quiet. The free breakfast is limited and some mornings there was no hot food except the waffles. All in all we would stay here again as the price per night is good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
“Good value hotel”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property!

We appreciate your comments regarding the design and quietness of our room.

Please accept our apologies for the lack of breakfast items during your stay. This issue has been addressed with our team members to ensure this situation does not reoccur.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    177
    49
    11
    12
See reviews for
219
218
51
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Windmill Suites is located in St. Phillip's Plaza, an upscale boutique mall filled with fine dining, shopping and true Southwestern appeal and charm. Children will enjoy their stay here too. Swimming pool, continental breakfast, spacious rooms , and pet friendly. What more could you ask for? Well-- moderately priced!!!

Room Tip: Requested a quiet area. The front desk was most accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eadieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
“Comfortable, friendly staff, great location”

Dear Eadieg,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson property! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service!

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness of our suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our swimming pool and our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our daughter moved to Tucson and we visit often from CA. We have a dog, so we needed a pet-friendly hotel. We were so glad we found the Windmill Suites! Even if we didn't bring a dog, we would stay there. The location is in beautiful St. Phillips Plaza along the river walk. The lights of the restaurants and on the trees give the area a magical feel. The hotel itself and the guest rooms are attractive, clean, spacious, and quiet. The desk clerk always gives us a bag of dog treats and if you are in the lobby after 4:00 p.m. you are treated to one of their fresh baked cookies! The complimentary breakfast is pretty typical and does the trick. We have stayed at the Windmill many times and I can honestly say we have never been disappointed. We highly recommend you try it yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
“Love this hotel!”

Dear Ms. Elizabeth M,

Thank you for your positive feedback!

We appreciate your comments regarding the attractiveness, cleanliness, spaciousness and quietness of your suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our fresh baked cookies complimentary to our guests.

Thank you for being a loyal guest and for your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My room was clean and quite. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The Windmill Inn is also in a great location. There are shops and great restaurants within walking distance. The pizzeria was WONDERFUL! I would absolutely stay there again. I only had the continental breakfast once during my stay. My only suggestion would be to keep the scambled eggs and sausage warmer-they would barely warm.

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper so I wanted a quiet room. So I had a room on the third floor (302) at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
“Gracious and friendly staff!”

Dear Ms. Ann Marie D,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated!

We thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness and quietness of your suite. Our team members will be recognized for their friendly and helpful service.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the breakfast issue. Please accept our sincere apologies. We are currently looking into options to resolve this challenge immediately.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed at Windmill Suites every November for the last 5 or more years and it's always been a perfect fit for us. During our last visit, the staff seemed even more friendly and helpful and often went above and beyond what would be considered very good service. Andrea, Angela, Elisabeth (hope I got those names right!) and others were exceptional. We thought the housekeeping staff was very good as well.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the plaza might be a little noisy on weekends with all of the plaza activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azcartripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
“Excellent customer service”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for posting a positive TripAdvisor comment regarding our Tucson Windmill! Our team members will be recognized for their helpful and friendly service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the spaciousness and comfort of your suite. We are also pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the nearby river walk.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with everything at this hotel. The two-room suite was huge and the bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up in the morning! Breakfast was great with waffles, cereal, eggs, bacon and sausage, pastries and all breakfast drinks. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking is free and convenient. The river walk was an added bonus and I enjoyed taking a walk after an eight-hour car ride. We would definitely stay there again. This is a great value as well.

Room Tip: Check several internet sites for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artist3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
“Spacious and Comfortable”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated! Andrea, Amanda, Elisabeth and our team members will be recognized for their “exceptional” service!

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently stayed at Windmill Suites in Tucson and were very pleased with the hotel. The gounds are surrounded by a shopping area of nice shops and several restaurants. One is a wonderful Italian place (Vivace), a small cafe-like place, and a pizzeria. On the weekends there is a farmers market right out the main door of the hotel. Many different types of local vendors to enjoy.
The hotel itself was different in the our room was a suite, but the layout was not your typical room- it had angled walls, two doors to the bathroom and a nice living space with couch and TV. There was also a TV in the bedroom.
At night we never heard any noise from other rooms or hallway to speak of, so that was a plus.
Not really a negative, but our room overlooked a parking lot. But considering the hotels location this couldn't be avoided.
I would definitely return to this hotel when we visit Tucson again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerider23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
“Very nice stay”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated!

We are pleased you enjoyed the layout and quietness of your suite and the nearby shops and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#27 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
14.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing