We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spacious and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #9 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with everything at this hotel. The two-room suite was huge and the bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up in the morning! Breakfast was great with waffles, cereal, eggs, bacon and sausage, pastries and all breakfast drinks. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking is free and convenient. The river walk was an added bonus and I enjoyed taking a walk after an eight-hour car ride. We would definitely stay there again. This is a great value as well.

Room Tip: Check several internet sites for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artist3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
“Spacious and Comfortable”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated! Andrea, Amanda, Elisabeth and our team members will be recognized for their “exceptional” service!

Thank you for being a loyal guest! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    177
    49
    11
    12
See reviews for
218
218
51
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently stayed at Windmill Suites in Tucson and were very pleased with the hotel. The gounds are surrounded by a shopping area of nice shops and several restaurants. One is a wonderful Italian place (Vivace), a small cafe-like place, and a pizzeria. On the weekends there is a farmers market right out the main door of the hotel. Many different types of local vendors to enjoy.
The hotel itself was different in the our room was a suite, but the layout was not your typical room- it had angled walls, two doors to the bathroom and a nice living space with couch and TV. There was also a TV in the bedroom.
At night we never heard any noise from other rooms or hallway to speak of, so that was a plus.
Not really a negative, but our room overlooked a parking lot. But considering the hotels location this couldn't be avoided.
I would definitely return to this hotel when we visit Tucson again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerider23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
“Very nice stay”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated!

We are pleased you enjoyed the layout and quietness of your suite and the nearby shops and restaurants.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife, Bonnie, and I were there for the AZ State FCE Conference next door at the local AZ State Extension Building. We spend two nights at the Windmill Inn. The rooms were great. Lots of room, a nice couch in a separate room and very clean. The staff was very friendly and easy to work with. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfteeples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for posting a positive TripAdvisor comment regarding our Tucson Windmill! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of your suite.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Windmill Inn and Suites for several nights and though it was a very nice place. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. We especially liked being next to the bike path so we could get some exercise while we were there. The only problem we had with the room was with the keypad on the door, which seemed to work in the morning, but left us standing in the hall every afternoon! The staff responded promptly to our situation, even sending maintenance to try to clean the lock. Although it was very annoying, we were treated kindly, and were given a reduction in the room rate as a result of our inconvenience. I would probably stay here again, as the location was a good one for us.

Room Tip: The north side of the property faces the mountains, which we enjoyed seeing each day, especially at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
“Friendly staff and nice place to stay”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Your review is most appreciated! Our team members will be recognized for their kind service!

We are glad you enjoyed the comfort and quietness of your suite and the location of our property.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you encountered with the door lock. We are pleased to know our staff members handled the situation to your satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Windmill estates recently and were very satisfied with our stay there. The pool provided welcome relief to the heat of the day, as did the air conditioning in the hotel.
Breakfast included enough variety to get us started on our days.
Our room was spacious and the bed was comfy.
The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean.
Only thing that was not well attended to was the supply of hot drinks in the lobby. A small thing as could make hot drinks in our room.
If ever we return to Tucson, I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TirelessWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
“Family wedding”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! Our team members will be recognized for their friendly service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of your suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our comfortable bedding.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having our lobby well supplied with complimentary coffee, tea and water. We have addressed this issue with our team members to avoid this from reoccurring.

Thank you for choosing us as your venue for your family wedding! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My company has used this hotel many times in the past until recently changing. I can't say I'm sad we switched. The rooms here are suites and are very spacious and nicely equipped (minifridge, microwave, 2 tv's). The room doesn't look like it has been updated in many years. My biggest complaint is that they were never ready for us when we got there. We travel with a large group and arrive late at night. I understand this is not ideal for a hotel. No owner wants to pay multiple employees to sit around for 3 or 4 extra hours for one group. But when 30 people arrive at 11pm they DO NOT want to wait for 45 minutes to get everyone checked in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicelynicely02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenge you encountered at check in six months ago. This situation does not reflect Windmill Inns’ standards of service and there is no excuse for it. We would have appreciated the opportunity to have been notified of this situation at the time of the occurrence back in April of this year, so we could have made it right for you and your group.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding the spaciousness of our suites and its amenities!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a marvelous one week stay at the Windmill Suites of Tucson. Everything was immaculate, every staff person was so pleasant and helpful, suites are beautifully appointed with 2 TVs, micro, frig, 2 bathoorm sink areas,comfy bed, great hot tub and pool, marvelous full included breakfast, free coffee/tea avavilable any time, warm afternoon cookies, and fantactic location with great restaurants next door and Traders Joes across the street. And, so reasonable that I'm ready to move there permanently.

Room Tip: WE loved our first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 73Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
“We will return!”

Dear TripAdvisor Guest,

Thank you for posting a positive TripAdvisor comment regarding our Tucson Windmill! Our team members will be recognized for their pleasant and helpful service.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and décor of our suite and the comfort of our beds. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, the additional amenities we have to offer and the location of our property.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#26 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
14.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 N Campbell Ave, Tucson, AZ 85718-6580 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing