We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow wifi, no TV”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
Ranked #25 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Slow wifi, no TV”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This has all the makings of a great stay but for the fact that it is "served" by ComCast which means that the wifi is so painfully slow as to be useless and the TV can't be accessed via the ComCast remote. Even after embarrassed instructions from the front desk, I was unable to get anywhere and could not access even the Weather Channel. (Disclosure, I am a tech savvy guy.)
The embarrassed front desk conceded that I am not alone and the situation was driving them nuts as well. Don't book here until they fire ComCast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intlpvti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    134
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
156
114
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nice hotel. Lobby is prettier than your average Hampton Inn, and opens out to a pretty pool area with nice views (on a hill). Breakfast was OK -- a folded disk of egg with cheese passes for an 'omelet', but they had fresh fruit. Room was quite clean and modern. Beds were VERY comfortable. We wanted to rent a movie, but the system was inoperative, so you only had the cable channels. Value was not great for Tucson, considering that this location is not very close to downtown or the UofA - around $150/night. That may be because we were there for Parent Weekend at the U of A (30,000 students).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

efficient front desk check-in, offered hilton gold upgrade to suite without any prompting, clean, quiet, well maintained

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdc1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Given the choice, I stay at Hampton hotels rather than the more "upscale" options, one of which was right next door. The water is hot, the breakfast is good, the wifi is fast, and the staff are helpful. This hotel was no exception. The front desk clerk asked pertinent questions to get me a room that would suit me and then called up to make sure my room was as it should be. She even knew where to tell me to look when I couldn't find an outlet. I had a relaxing stay in a quiet room and started each business day ready to go. I'll definitely stay here again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigeekgirl236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
444 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

As usual, the Hampton Inn has delivered and provided a pleasant nights sleep while traveling. There is a southwestern decor in the lobby and very well maintained. The rooms are smaller than some H.I. but that was not a problem for me as a solo traveler. Everything was updated, which is nice and the bedding, as usual, was comfy as could be!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Catalina's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I was a little concerned when I was booked to stay at this hotel by the company I was visiting in Tucson. I had read a review expressing consternation over the "comfort sensor" in the rooms which senses when the room is occupied or vacant and adjusts the temperature accordingly. I hate, hate, hate to be hot when sleeping. I crank up the AC to frigid and snuggle under the comforter.
I am pleased to say that this "comfort sensor" no longer exists - at least not in the suite I stayed in. Perhaps enough folks complained about being uncomfortable and Hampton Inn listened.
The complimentary breakfast is pretty good. There's enough choices from the cholesterol laden bacon and eggs to the low fat yogurt and fresh fruit. Coffee is decent, too and I'm a coffee snob.
The room was very clean and the bed comfy. I like the apartment-like layout of the suite making it feel more like home. The full kitchen is nice but the cooking utensils need to be replaced. I had thought about cooking while there but after looking at the skillet, I was repulsed by the damaged non stick surface and crusted on gunk. Yuck.
The free wifi is very good, never had a problem with it.
For the business traveler, this is a comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

BEWARE: This is probably one of the nicest Hampton Inns I've seen, beautiful lobby, nice rooms, great beds. However, this is the second Hampton Inn I've stayed at that has a special "comfort sensor" in the rooms. Basically, what this is, is a motion detector that shuts off the AC in a room when the guest leaves. The problem is that this"sensor" cannot tell the differance between a room that is empty and a room that has a sleeping guest. Consequently, when you arrive and are unpacking and watching TV, things are great, but then you go to sleep, you are awakened in the middle of the night , kicking off covers, sweating, in a stuffy, hot, uncomfortable room! You can try waving your hands or jumping around and the AC will come on for a few minutes and then, once again, shut off. I stay in hotels perhaps 200 times a year and I must admit, this is the most galling, insidious effort by a hotel to save money at my expense that I have ever seen and I could tell by the staffs reaction to my complaints that they hear this all the time and they are well aware of the problem.. Trust me, if you are like me and you prefer to control the temperature in your room, don't stay at this hotel! I had a miserable night and hardly slept and then tried to conduct an important day of business in Tucson. I'm really ticked! This has happened now at two Hampton Inns and one Courtyard. From now, on, if I walk in and see the "DIS-comfort sensor" on the wall...I'm out of there! Thankfully, so far, only a few hotels have installed this system. Fellow hotel guests...we must rise up and refuse this awful attempt to save money at our expense and demand a decent nights sleep! (Thanks for hearing my rant). Do not stay at the Hampton Inn Tucson on Oracle Road.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank BuinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
0.3 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites at Tucson Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
#27 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson
TownePlace Suites Tucson
#65 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
Address: 5950 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-3816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#21 Family Hotel in Tucson
#21 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson-Mall hotel is located just 12 miles north of downtown Tucson and just two miles from the popular shopping destinations of Foothills Mall and Tucson Mall. Our Tucson mall hotel is also only 5 miles northeast of La Encantada shops and restaurants. The Bisbee Mining & Historical Museum, the Old Tucson Movie Studio and the Pima Air & Space Museum are all a short drive away when considering things to do in Tucson, AZ. Beautiful Sabino Canyon and Saguaro National Monument are also just minutes away as are dozens of other fun and interesting Tucson hotspots. Stay at this Tucson hotel and enjoy true southern hospitality. Sleep deeply in a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and stay connected with free access to high-speed internet. Start each day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast or just grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag to take away with you from Monday to Friday. Swim laps in the hotel's large outdoor pool or relax in the whirlpool spa, or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines and weights. Stay on top of work in our fully-equipped business center, and host a meeting in this Tucson hotel's 836 sq. Ft. Of dedicated meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tucson-Mall Hotel Tucson
Hampton Inn Tucson
Tucson Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing