We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“range of impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Ranked #41 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Battle Ground, WA USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“range of impressions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I use Comfort Suites a lot. They have a "happy hour" with inexpensive (not free) beer and mixers, free chips and pretzels. Breakfast was excellent with real scrambled eggs, sausage, cereals, juices, fruits, and more. However, I was disappointed that the motel is at the end of a strip mall on a busy street. i booked this property thinking it would be out of town, in or near a canyon. It's near a canyon, but in a strip mall lot. This also means it will take a long time to get back into town or back on to the freeway. Has a very rustic feel. Does not have the same look and feel as other Comfort Suites. Rooms were clean, bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    141
    52
    13
    23
See reviews for
106
149
36
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We ended up staying at this lovely hotel by accident. Due to some issues booking with another hotel, we decided to save some money and book at the Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon. We were not expecting much but a clean place and a decent bed for the price listed. (A low $69.99). We were so surprised when we walked in at how charming this hotel really is! From the outside it appears to be a brick cube sharing a parking lot with a Big Lots. Inside, however, is a whole different story. The second we walked in we were greeted with the warmest, friendliest staff I think we've ever experienced at any hotel (and we travel a LOT). The high ceilings host gorgeous wood beams and the soft lull of the fountain in the main lobby was relaxing and inviting for two tired travelers.

Our room, overlooking a beautiful outdoor courtyard, was immaculate. We expected the bathroom fixtures and some of the decor to need updating, being that it was an older hotel, so that was not an issue for us. The bed was sooooo comfy and we slept better than we could have hoped for. The cleanliness and the thoughtfulness we experienced at this hotel was just wonderful. Attention to the details was evident everywhere. The management has a note for each guest room that offers a blessing over your stay, your visits with friends, families etc. and that the work you may be doing while staying under their roof prospers. They state that they are not solely about earning revenue but also offering true hospitality. THAT, I can tell you, was definitely felt!

The hotel has a great pool and hot tub outdoors in the main courtyard. In the evening on certain days there's a wonderful happy hour at the pool bar where draft beer is $1 and Blue Moon (my personal favorite) $1.50. The pool and bar area is lit with white lights. LOADS of charm here!!

Last, the breakfast! Not your average powdered eggs and boring food here! (There was only one day we experienced this and it must have been when the lovely Carmen wasn't overseeing the breakfast shift). We found hot scrambled eggs with bacon and cheese, burritos, waffles and a great selection of the typical continental breakfast (cereals, fruits, yogurt, muffins, toast).

All in all, we were thrilled to have discovered such a hidden gem in Tucson. The hotel was great and the staff was even better. For $69.99 we hit the jackpot! Considering we visit Tucson often, we now have found our home away from home and will not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRBatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I by-passed this hotel a while back for the Ramada opposite, a big mistake. I had a suite (218), a corner room that faced the car park, so what - it was quiet and I like to see my car anyway., It had good natural light and not a sound at night. Spacious room, comfy bed and a wet bar to make snacks etc rather than eat out constantly. All staff very friendly and helpful, especially Julia (she's lovely) and Alfred both are very professional Even the support staff (Aman?) had a friendly greeting and everyone remebred my name which is good. Guests were an older age group and tended to chat with each other.

Hot tub was HOT, pool was clean as was entire hotel. Very relaxing. Breakfast was good, good choice, varied daily. Snacks for free at night in the Happy Hour before dinner was always welcome, especially after a late lunch.

I am NOT easily pleased so to find a hotel where all went as expected, with decent food and good friendly staff is a welcome surpise.

All in all I stayed there several times over a three week period. Forget the car park, Big Lots etc etc you don't stay in those places do you. I had NO problems with security of car or room. It is certainly NOT the worst hotel ever by any means!

Only sore point - and this is NOT the hotel itself - is the time it takes for Reward points to come through from the Company.

Room Tip: Rooms 112 and 114 avoid, they are dark, you need lights on all the time.. Room 218 and other suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a room for the entire family with our three sons and my wife. This is a nice part of Tucson - not like by the I-1o.
The interior court yard and pool were well kept. Too bad customer appreciation closed early but still got some pretzels. Rooms were nice.The gate system was nice not to allow access without a key. Breakfast was OK but they got to rid of the box rubber eggs.

Room Tip: Always take 2nd floor rooms less wear and tear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmelowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place was great! It's in a convenient location, has clean rooms and terrific service! We had the free breakfast every morning, which had very good variety considering the value price of the room. Our room was around a pretty little courtyard with a fountain. The front desk staff was perfect, and the housekeeping crew actually respected our 'do not disturb' sign (this is unusual in our experience). Next time we're in Tucson, this is where we'll be!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripDuo729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
256 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Surprise. This property at Sabino Canyon is acutally in the Big Lots parking lot with a cleaners at the front door (seriously). This is not what I was expecting from the photos and name. Checked in and Julia was great. She strongly requested I take the map to find my room. Wow! Who the hell numbered this place & designed it. I took the map and wandered around to find my room through all the quads. Then I took the map as I left for dinner to find my way out. If a fire occurred, I'd probably burn in this place. Do Not let your elderly parents stay here as they'll be totally confused by the numbering system and series of quads. I'm still shaking my head as to what the building design team was thinking when they drew up the plans for this placel.
The room was dark with '70's green walls, horrible yellow comforters from the same era, and dirty green carpet from an industrial building. The bed had a "U" shape but wasn't too bad.
I'd really like to see Choice stop jacking guests around and remodel and update as the decades change. I never know what I'm getting with a Choice property. I always know what I'm getting at a Hampton, HIE, McDonalds, etc. Choice just has no consistency. It's always a big surprise. I probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing Big Lots & the cleaners for round the clock entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcjw700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

PLEASE, I warn you with all my heart never ever go to this hotel!!!! :( My work company set me up here for a week for training and over 13 items of my "nice expensive clothing" was robbed from me on my last night of stay. I was devastated! My work uniform was left untouched, my pajamas, untouched... BUT my nice expensive clothing was robbed from me! I contacted the so called "manager" about the issue and he insisted his employees would never do such a thing. I can understand maybe one or two clothing items missing here and there, but i'm talking all my best dresses/shirts/shaws & yes, even leggings taken from me. All I am saying is PLEASE choose any hotel but this one unless you got a lock safe for your belongings! Tell all your friends cause till this day my corporation refuses to do any further business with them! If you need any further proof or verification or have similar results please email me so we can build up a case against these thieves! E-mail me at Luv4nevaeh7@yahoo.com Thank you and best wishes :/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luv4nevaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#37 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
#46 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#42 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
9.0 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon

Property: Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Address: 7007 E Tanque Verde Rd, Tucson, AZ 85715-5311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#35 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Sabino Canyon Hotel Tucson
Comfort Suites Tucson
Comfort Suites Sabino Canyon
Tucson Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing