We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place for UA parents” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tucson Marriott University Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tucson Marriott University Park
Ranked #57 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for UA parents”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

Have stayed at this hotel many times when visiting my daughter at UA. Great location to walk to the school, fun shops and restaurants on University Place. The staff is always so helpful and nice. Love the cookies in the afternoon at the front desk and the water with lemon at the desk in the summer. Have only been to the restaurant downstairs at breakfast and is was good. The staff is great about printing off directions to local shops, etc. But I do not understand why the internet is not free. With the price of the room being what it is, this should be included. Many other hotels that are less expensive have free internet.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank beachlover60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    180
    67
    24
    21
See reviews for
123
51
25
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

University Park Tucson was ideal for my husband and I to see how our son was doing at U of A. We left the younger kids at grandmas because we knew this hotel is not for kids. We stayed in a King room on the concierge level, and it was a bit pricey. The evening social hour, was just a room down the hall from us. The had out some cheese, crackers, and grapes. The waiter guy asked for my id before he would serve me a drink, even though both my husband and I have grey hair. So I had to go back to the room and get my license. The hotel’s location was great for our son. He was able to walk over after classes, and the hotel was very close to his dorm. Since we didn’t get to spend that much time with him, it was just about worth the extra money to be so close to his dorm. For the money, there are other luxurious hotels in Tucson that I prefer. For the location of being right next to U or A, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
204 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

Excellent room, service, and location. This is one of the #1 best hotels in Tucson, so I highly recommend it. Great rooms. And the service is excellent. Very friendly and helpful. I'm a tough person to please and this place is great! But, it is designed for someone traveling on business or to see the University.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Buff_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

A decent hotel, but for $270 a night I could have stayed at one of Tucson's luxury resorts, either way I'd still have to take taxis everywhere. Seemed like a pretty bad value in comparison.

I struggled to find a hotel in the city center of Tucson (where my business activities were) that had any life to speak of nearby. Near the convention center and most of the downtown area looked pretty dead - no active restaurant or shopping areas. So we stayed near the University, and the Mariott is in a great location there, nestled among a cute block of shops and restaurants.

Rooms are nice - more sleek and updated than the dated lobby, which is a replica of early 90s era Embassy Suites (think fake plants and rocks and mini waterfalls, glass elevators facing the atrium, and a restaurant in the middle of the lobby floor.) Stayed on the concierge level which was pleasant and had good mountain views.

My main problem was that for the $270 I spent per room per night, I could have stayed out at the JW Marriott Starr Pass or the Westin La Paloma or any of the other lovely, sprawling desert resorts. Even being near the University, we ended up having to take taxis to any truly nice restaurant or any business function. So we might as well have been at one of the luxury resorts for the price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millertimegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here while visiting the University of Arizona on a college road trip. The hotel couldn't be in a better location if the campus is your destination, literally a block away from everything. Every employee we came across, from the valet guys to the front desk staff, were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable. There is a large restaurant on the lobby level where we had a breakfast. As with every hotel I have ever stayed in, the food is ridiculously expensive. However, the hostess and waitress were on their game and were friendly and efficient. The food wasn't too bad either, just expensive (you pay for the convenience). My only complaints were the fact that internet wasn't free (seriously, it's 2009 and you're still charging for internet?) and the bathroom could have been a little cleaner. With that being said, I would stay again at this hotel in a heartbeat and plan to do so for orientation, move-in, and parent's weekend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
371 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

This is, of course, a chain hotel, but a good one in a fine location, especially if you plan to visit the University of Arizona. The rooms are clean, substantial in size, and comfortable. The bed was particularly comfortable. Extra towels are available in the room. There is a ironing board, iron. Internet is available. A large modern TV is in every room. There is a small in-house restaurant that serves until 9, but the same menu is available in the lounge area until 11. The same restaurant is the breakfast area and the buffet is a bargain. Especially nice is the fact that pancakes or waffles are made to order, not left steaming and getting soggy. Also made to order are all manner of eggs. Breakfast is first-rate at the Marriott. Newspapers are available free as are fresh baked cookies in the lobby (from a fine bakery very close by). Fresh water with lemon is also always available in the lobby. I expected much less from such a hotel, but was pleasantly surprised. I would return any time I needed a place near the University at a good price. I have stayed at the Arizona Inn, La Paloma and Ventana Canyon. All are superb in every way, but all are much more expensive. The value/price ratio is higher here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

My wife and I took our 2 month old to Tucson on a short weekend getaway. We both attended the U of A and wanted to stay close to be within walking distance of everything.

This is the 3rd time i've stayed here and I've always really enjoyed it. It has a great atmosphere with the giant atrium in the middle with the restaurant and bar below. It has a decent pool (a must in the arizona sun) and good fitness facilities. the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

the rooms are very comfortable. nice, huge, comfy beds. clean and classy bathrooms. a good-sized flat screen tv. i have no complaints about the room at all.

the best part about the hotel by a wide margin is its proximity to the university. it's about a block away from the main gate entrance. it's a 1 minute walk or less from the shops, restaurants, and bars on university blvd. if you're coming to Tucson for the U of A, it's an absolute no-brainer to stay here. even if you don't have business at the U of A, this is still the best location to stay in tucson in my opinion. the only possible exception being the arizona inn if you have money.

i definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottSD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#52 of 129 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
3.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucson Marriott University Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson Marriott University Park

Property: Tucson Marriott University Park
Address: 880 E Second Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#36 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson Marriott University Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tucson Marriott University Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing