We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and large rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tucson University Park Hotel
Ranked #48 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quiet and large rooms.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were able to walk in and book 3 nights here with no problem. They do have great rates for AAA members and military families. We were military and were treated with much kindness. Our room was on the 8th floor, and was extremely quiet. The only complaint I have is the extra costs. $12 for high speed internet (free nearly everywhere else), and parking was costly. With these two expenses, we may have been able to stay at another hotel for the same price.

It's the location that nails this down: it's right off of the University's main entrance, next to two major dorm facilities: so if you have students who are moving in: this is your best bet. We were moving my niece from one dorm to another and it worked out perfectly.

The beds are luscious. Best night's sleep.

Room Tip: Top floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Never-Lost4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
van8buren, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you so much for filling out a review of the Tucson University Park Marriott. We really appreciate your business but even more important we appreciate your service to the United States of America. Marriott does have brands in Tucson that do not charge for internet including Fairfield Inn, Courtyard and Residence Inn. Internet in our lobby is available at no charge. All full service Marriott's do charge for internet currently and our property does charge for parking because we lease spaces from the University of Arizona parking garage and parking is at a premium in the University of Arizona area.

We certainly hope that we have another opportunity to serve you in the future and appreciate your feedback as it gives us opportunities to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    215
    90
    29
    27
See reviews for
168
62
29
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I usually check Tripadvisor, but in this case, I didn't. I actually worked at this hotel when it opened, and looked forward to visiting as a guest. On a trip across the country, my family and I stayed in numerous hotels and paid similar rates. The difference between those hotels and this Marriott was in the value. In other hotels, parking was free, Wi-Fi was free, breakfast was included, and they had queen beds in the room, not double beds as they have here.

In their defense, and as many of the other commenters note, the location is good. But quite frankly, any kind of hotel would have that advantage here. The Marriott brand should mean more.

It's possible that being a franchise hotel has something to do with it but I felt nickel-and-dimed, without the added quality that a Marriott guest would expect.

Other reviewers are right-- rooms near the elevator are loud. There are only two elevators, and one of them wasn't functioning for several days. We didn't eat in the hotel, as the staff recommended other places. (To the Marriott manager who replies to these reviews: this is not the employees' fault-- we knew this from when I'd worked here and they were being honest.) I can't stress enough how irritating it is to pay for Wi-Fi. In fact, it's $10 per day for Wi-Fi, but to get an "upgraded" Wi-Fi, it's $15! I understand that the defense is that this is "Marriott Full-Service policy", but to a guest it just sounds like an excuse. Other hotels provide this (even other Marriott brands) so they need to figure this out.

From what I understand, they have a renovation planned in the coming months. I'm sure it will be prettier but I'm hoping that they put some of the funding towards the more basic issues.

Room Tip: Be aware of the cost for Wi-Fi-- per day. Parking is an issue/additional cost. And yes, higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwanderer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for filling out a review of the Tucson Marriott University Park. Since you worked at this location several years ago I'm sure you realize that since parking is at a premium in the University area and the hotel leases spaces from the University of Arizona that charging in this urban setting for parking is typical. In regards to the internet, Marriott offers several brands that do not charge for the internet including Fairfield Inn, Courtyard and Residence Inn. The reason that most full service chains do charge for the internet currently is because there is a substantial capital investment in purchasing equipment and upgrading it to handle the amount of bandwidth necessary to provide this service to our guests. We also put a complete list of services on our website and whether there is a charge for the service or it is complimentary. Thank you again for your feedback as it always gives us an opportunity to improve and share your thoughts with corporate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's a hotel built between the 90's in the atrium style. The lobby is like an oasis with water streaming around and a fountain. It's a nice shelter from the hot dessert air except I found out that the sound of doors banging shut must be reverberating in the atrium as I can hear every door that shuts in the night. It took quite a while for me to fall asleep the first night amidst the banging doors and the elevator chime (yes, the room is near the elevator, sigh...) Other wise, service was fast and great, as in any Marriott. We asked for a microwave oven and a fridge and it was arranged very quickly.

My favorite is the little swimming pool - a little tattled and shallow, but it was well shaded in the morning, allowing me to swim without being burnt. There's a spa that's very popular at night. There isn't even a changing room but somehow the little pool corner is a nice escape from the heat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to have a peaceful night sleep. In the future, please feel free to ask us for a room away from the elevator and we would be happy to put you as far away as possible. I am glad the pool was able to meet your needs and allowed you an escape from the desert heat! We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were passing through Tucson and decided to stay here because of it's convenient location to downtown shops/restaurants, however for it being a Marriott hotel, we were very disappointed. There is a $9.95/day charge for internet and $11/day self-parking fee Monday-Fri, not to mention we had trouble leaving the parking garage in the evening due to the ticket not being properly activated. Our room smelled like mold due to what seemed like an evaporative cooler. If you sleep on cardboard, you will enjoy sleeping on their beds and our shower had poor drainage. In addition, the breakfast was $13.95/ person for the buffet...and the staff were very rude- ignored our table until we finished eating and sat there for almost a half hour. We definitely will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Tucson Marriott. We are very sorry to hear that your most recent stay was unsatisfactory. We are going over your comments and reviewing them with the proper leadership, to see what may have happened. We also have passed along the comments regarding the parking garage, to the University of Arizona, who manages that area. I assure you that we are taking the corrective action to ensure these things do not happen in the future. Thank you again for your time, and allowing us the opportunity to improve with your comments. We look forward to hopefully serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I am a DJ and performed at the Tucson Marriott University Park on July 10, 2014. There were more than 250 guests and it would have been difficult for the people in the back of the room to hear the comedian, the announcements and the music. However, there was a God send. A gentleman named Dan who is a Sound Engineer came to the rescue. WE discussed the situation and Dan came up with the mixer and adapters needed to fill the room with sound and the event was a roaring success. Thanks Dan. Thanks Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Tucson Marriott. We are so happy to hear that Dan was able to step in and take the sound to your event to the next level. He is a great asset to the property and is extremely technologically savvy. We are lucky to have him. We are glad that you enjoyed the event, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The end of a great conference at University of Arizona and a great stay at the Marriott. Great staff and service. It is in a great location and convenient to the university, shops and restaurants.
I am glad that I chose to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors with mountain views
See more room tips
Green Features: Welcoming lobby, Starbucks coffee, cold water- you need it
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culebra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review of your experience at the Tucson University Park Marriott. It is very rewarding for our staff to be recognized by our guests for providing them with exceptional service. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott University Park for the U of A college orientation, June 8-10. The hotel was clean and our room was excellent. The service personnel were very pleasant and helpful. The bellmen/valets went out of their way to say hi and offer bottles of water. The hotel is very close to the U of A campus which makes it very convenient for access. It is also close to restaurants and stores on University Ave.

Room Tip: We stayed on the east side which was a little noisy due to trash/delivery trucks in the early mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments on the Tucson University Park Marrriott. I am so happy that you enjopyed your stay and that the staff responded well to your needs. I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again very soon. One bit of advice that I like to pass on to guests who may be attending a major event at the University of Arizona such as Parent's Weekend, Homecoming and Graduation is to book your reservations early because we generally sell out fast for those events. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#60 of 130 in Tucson
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
3.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucson University Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson University Park Hotel

Property: Tucson University Park Hotel
Address: 880 E 2nd Street, Tucson, AZ 85719-4838 (Formerly Tucson Marriott University Park)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#36 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson University Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson University Park Hotel is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tucson University Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing