We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Welcome Home'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tucson University Park Hotel
Ranked #48 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida, US
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“'Welcome Home'”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

As a frequent traveler to Tucson I often stay at this Marriott hotel. The location is ideal if you are visiting U of A and is also centrally located within Tucson. I am primarily there for business conferences and have been satisfied with the catering and other business services. BUT, by far the best reason to stay here is RAFAEL! Rafael is the most warm and welcoming hotel staff person I have ever met. He treats each guest as if they are a long standing friend who are visiting his home. (I stay in more hotels than I do at home each year.) Rafael is in charge of the concierge lounge in the mornings. This is a recent change from his evening shift. He goes out of his way to ensure that you have everything you need, and most things you want. He is well traveled and can not only help you with travel plans in Tucson, but also so many other places in the world. If you visit this hotel - please go visit Rafael - I guarantee the second time he sees you, he will say, 'Welcome Home' and mean it.

Room Tip: Balconies are nice. Depending on the time of year and the number of guests that are students....t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for recognizing one of the best associates I have ever had the pleasure of working with. Rafael is truly a guest focused individual who makes all that come in contact with him feel very special. I am so happy that you had a great experience and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again very soon. Thanks for the kind words it means a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    217
    90
    30
    28
See reviews for
169
62
29
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfect if you are visiting the University. Easy walk to some cool areas for dining. A little pricey for a Marriott but actually worth the upgrade to get a high floor with balcony. The views give you a good feel for the city and relax for a while. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A nice feeling to the place. Free business center to print boarding passes. Lobby looks nice but did not get to eat or drink there. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Indeed, we are fortunate to have a location so close to the University of Arizona as many of our guests are visiting or have business on campus. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you have an opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This Marriott is a good choice if you have business at the University, otherwise, I would find someplace else to stay. There really isn’t anything terrible about it, it is just nothing special and very much geared towards university functions. As such, it tends to be a bit noisy with student and alumni groups, conferences, etc. I recently stayed for three nights. Those nights overlapped with stays by the Washington State and University of Washington basketball teams and a sorority convention. The gym was full with the basketball players most of the time and the sorority met in the lobby for most of a day.

As other reviewers have noted, the atrium design of the hotel means that noise carries up to the rooms and the staff does a poor job of keeping things quiet late at night. The several colleagues who were with me on this trip and I were all up until 1:00 am or so with the noise from the lobby bar. There was a great deal of carrying on and one would have expected to hotel staff to ask the guest to be a bit more considerate.

Other than the noise issues, the rooms are fine. The bedding and bath towels are of decent quality and everything worked. The internet is extremely slow, particularly given that they charge $9.95.

The gym has good cardio machines and some free weights. It is open 24 hours which is nice. There is also a heated pool which I didn’t use but I heard other guests comment frequently on.

Unfortunately, the food in the hotel restaurant is not that great; it is worth making the effort to dine someplace outside. I will say that the servers at breakfast were extremely friendly and helpful. They even remembered my drink order on just my second morning there.

Overall, the staff is excellent, friendly and helpful, but it is really a college hotel and not one for business travelers.

Room Tip: The club floor seems to fill up quickly but you can get a room on a lower floor and still have acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We certainly are very busy during the school year with guests who have business with the University. I do apologize for the noise issues you had as we try to control this during the evening hours as best we can. We also appreciate you recognizing the staff being attentive to your needs and hope you have an opportunity to visit our hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Land USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful friendly attentive staff. Delicious variety of menu items. Clean spacious rooms. Safe night life surroundings! Great value. Recommend
This Hotel as a favorite and dependable choice!!! Great hot spa tub and pool.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoy our location and hotel. Thank you for recognizing the staff. We hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I travel often to UA and this hotel is my first choice. It is in great location with walking to (fun) restaurants and UA. It is a full Marriott so Internet and breakfast are extra. If you r Gold member they have a conciase on 9 floor . If pool /grounds is your preference go elsewhere (Resorts are cheap in Tucson and match hotel prices, Marriott star pass is nice). This is the first hotel to sell out ( GEM show, parents week, Rodeo, sport events) so book early.

Room Tip: Internet is pricey, UA has free internet so walk outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so happy you enjoy our location and hope we have an opportunity to serve you again very soon. Go Wildcats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Az
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My Wife, my Mother and Myself had traveled to Tucson to attend our son's girlfriend's ballet performance at the Stevie Eller Theatre on the University of Arizona campus.
Upon arrival in at Tucson Marriott - University Park we were greeted by very friendly valet who helped unload and parked the vehicle for the remainder of our stay. We had reservations for two rooms. Upon checking in at the front desk we were greeted by Katrina and and another very nice young lady who processed our registrations very quickly and told us about the amenities of the hotel and said to contact them if we needed anything else or had any questions.
After a quick dinner, we took a cab to the performance. (no waiting for cab as the cab company has a station at the Marriott).
The cab driver also gave us his cell phone number and said to call him and he would pick us up if he was available or he would send another cab. After the performance, which was excellent!, we called him and he picked us up in less than five minutes and returned us to the Marriott.
We went to the lounge to have a drink. While we were there we were greeted by Eddie, the restaurant manager, who was checking with guests to make sure everything was ok. While visiting with Eddie he made several recomendations for surrounding activities and told us about the breakfast buffet which we had the next morning. The buffet was very good with a great variety of breakfast options.
We checked out with no problems, valet brought us our vehicle and we left wishing we had been able to spend another night at the hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed at this hotel before and have had no problems with any of the rooms. All of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel and staff. How exciting to see a live performance at the Steve Eller Theatre especially when you know one of the ballet dancers. We appreciate you recognizing Katrina and Eddie as they both work very hard at setting an example of excellent guest service. We hope that we have an opportunity to serve you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved this hotel, me and my love went to this hotel as a little get away for the summer. Good service, great location, lots of stuff in walking distance, shopping and food. Very quiet.Would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SweetLittleTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TucsonMarriott, General Manager at Tucson University Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and the location. It is so nice that our guests have many dining and shopping choices. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 130 in Tucson
280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
683 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
3.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucson University Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson University Park Hotel

Property: Tucson University Park Hotel
Address: 880 E 2nd Street, Tucson, AZ 85719-4838 (Formerly Tucson Marriott University Park)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#36 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson University Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson University Park Hotel is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tucson University Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing