We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“steps away from Campus, with Awesome Customer Service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tucson University Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tucson University Park Hotel
Ranked #63 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“steps away from Campus, with Awesome Customer Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I've stayed here a total of 5 times over the past few years, and everytime I think the service can't get better, it does. They just get it, and I LOVE it.

The rooms are spacious is size, most have a balcony with views of the mountain and some of the nearby activities. Cannot beat the comfy Marriott beds! I will say that the rooms are approaching "dated" status, but it's just normal wear and tear.

I had breakfast a couple of times this trip, twice in the room, and once in the lobby restaurant. All were great, though I preferred the room service, to be honest. It was fast, correct, with the eggs hot, and the juice cold.

The location is key here... great location, steps off the University, one block to shops, restaurants and watering holes. If you're looking for some wings and a beer, check out Gentle Bens. Deep dish pizza and a cocktail, go to the Frog and Firken. Both only a block from the hotel, and located across the street from each other. Both are great spots to watch the game on big screens, and have both indoor and outdoor seating.

There is a pool, with a hottub, a small workout room, a business center, a lobby bar / restaurant, valet parking or a gargage around the corner, and fantastic staff to assist with your any need.

Looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a balcony, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyupnorth03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    187
    77
    28
    23
See reviews for
130
56
28
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott this past weekend while in Tucson to see the Mythbusters Behind the Myths tour (awesome show by the way!!) We got a pretty decent deal, I thought, on the room for the night with a discount. When we arrived, check in went smooth although the woman working the desk could have been a bit less like a wet dish rag and a bit more enthusiastic about having customers (who ultimately are the reason she gets a paycheck). (Yes I've worked in the hospitality industry and I know how the job goes.)
The lobby area seemed clean and well kept. I inquired about the roll away bed as I requested when I made the reservation and was told if one was available it would be brought to the room (for an additional $20 fee! which was not listed on the reservation website) since I'd requested the room with king bed. We got into the room and it was clean and fairly roomy but the room we had at a Homewood for less money was bigger and had a kitchen! This one didn't even have a fridge. They wanted $4 for a bottle of water, which they conveniently leave out. The bed was fairly comfortable, the pillows (foam) were pretty decent. The bathroom was huge and well cleaned. I just can't believe people pay $200 or more for these rooms. This was nothing special, especially compared to other rooms we've paid less for! I'll stick with Candlewood or Homewood because even if I don't intend to cook, it's really nice to have a fridge available without getting charged for every little thing. Oh and since we were there on the weekend, parking in the garage was free but during the week they'd charge on a per night basis to use it. We didn't bother with the internet connection but I'm told they charge for that. The location was great for getting to Centennial Hall on the ASU campus where the show was. There was a wide variety of options for places to eat or drink within a reasonable walking distance. Surprisingly to us, most places were shutting down at 10pm on a Saturday night in a college town! We were disappointed because we would have like to get a bite to eat after the show and the choices were pretty much bars at that point- not a good idea with a preteen. We ended up going to a grocery store about 3 miles away which is okay but made finding ready made and healthy choices that didn't need any prep a bit challenging.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Conveniently located right next to the campus (practically on the campus) and within walking distance to a few restaurants and bars. Highly suggest Frog and Firkin they have great deep dish pizza! Also right across the street from the hotel is a parking garage if you park Friday or Saturday nights it is free and seems much safer than trying to find a spot on the street or to pay for valet. The room itself, I was actually quite surprised how big it was, a lot of room, it is a bit “out dated” especially the bathroom, but it was very clean and the bed was comfortable, also it was really nice having a balcony! Our balcony overlooks the street that had the few bars and shops on it so that was fun! I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to be near U of A.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigglynay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I had business with the University and the Marriott was suggested because of the proximity to the University. The hotel is in need of a makeover. The rooms are outdated. There were also issues with the cleanliness of the room.

The location was great! The hotel is within walking distance of the University, shopping and restaurants.

I have stayed at much nicer Marriotts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CORedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is a very functional hotel located in the U of Arizona area. Room and service was fine. Internet was $13 a day. The hotel has a huge open atttrium and rooms on the outside. The huge atrium generates some strange acoustic effects and it sounded like a person was vacuum cleaning outside me room. This noise was noticeable in the bathroom next to the door but was not an issue when trying to sleep. Towels in the bathrooms were too small.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel for a conference. The service is great and the proximity to the University and shopping and nightlife is fabulous. The roroms are spacious and the beds are heavenly! there is a business center downstairs with freeinterent to print boarding passes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are great. They have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoMickeymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Close to Univ of Arizona. Lots of things within walking distance:bars, restaurants. Pay for parking $11 per night in the garage across the street. Bellmen very helpful with bags. Had a nice view facing north to the Santa Catalina Mountains. Hotel has a workout room which was nice right off the lobby. Also free paper each day(USA Today) and a WSJ on Saturday. Tough to get service for the room as one day no maid service at all and had to call at 500PM to get some towels, etc. The next day service did not show till about 400PM. Hotel seemed busy and understaffed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ted40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#58 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
1.3 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucson University Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucson University Park Hotel

Property: Tucson University Park Hotel
Address: 880 E 2nd Street, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Tucson Marriott University Park)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#36 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tucson University Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the main gate of The University of Arizona, the Tucson Marriott University Park is the ideal hotel if you're staying in Tucson for business or pleasure. Just steps from the front door is Tucson's most vibrant social and cultural neighborhood: over 30 restaurants, shopping, touring Broadway shows, and 4 museums (perfect for the off-site function without the transportation cost!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tucson University Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucson Marriott University Park Hotel Tucson
Marriott Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing