We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping problem”
Review of Hilton Tucson East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tucson East
Ranked #44 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Rockaway, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Housekeeping problem”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were in town on a family visit and chose to stay at the Hilton as it was the nearest hotel to family members and we figured a Hilton would be nice.

We found the hotel personnel at the front desk, bar and restaurant were very friendly and courteous and probably left the best impression of the hotel. Our problem was with housekeeping. Our first day we left a $10 tip, as we didn't have anything smaller but figured we'd leave a nice tip up front, hoping for good service. Over the course of the next few days we found the housekeeping staff would not discard our used coffee cups, not fully restock towels, intermittently replace the half & half for the coffee maker, not discard an empty beer bottle (I wasn't sure if they recycled so I left it above the trash can).

The light switch in the bathroom had been smashed in a bit and didn't quite work right and the GFI electrical wall outlet was popping out of the wall. Something housekeeping should report for repair.

We didn't complain during our stay because we were busy everyday and didn't return to our room till late and by then we were too tired to be bothered. However I did complain upon checkout.

We're not very picky but the daily surprises wore on us. I expected above average service from Hilton and got subpar. Otherwise the hotel is okay. There are less expensive hotels down the road and I think I'll look into them the next time.

Room Tip: 4th floor doesn't have an ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always strive to meet our guests' expectations and we apologize for missing the mark with you. I have forwarded your review to our housekeeping and maintenance teams for corrective actions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    296
    188
    75
    47
See reviews for
276
203
82
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We only stayed one night, but we were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. We had made our reservations on the Hilton website and got a great AAA rate, so we were expecting to get what we paid for. This was not the case. This hotel is an atrium hotel, very similar to Embassy Suites that I have stayed in around the country. The staff and the hotel were in top shape and we had a great stay.

The hotel rooms are very nice.. we had a 2 queen bed room and it was roomy enough for 4 adults. Everything in the room was clean and in great shape, and comfortable.

The hotel is located in a very nice area of Tucson, near the Park Place mall, with plenty of excellent shopping and eating in the area.

The only item to note was that there was no mention at all about a continental breakfast or free breakfast. Based on this, we were guessing there was not. We have a favorite place to have breakfast in the area, so it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgreen1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you were able to take advantage of a special New Years Promotion and we're proud to be a new favorite hotel of yours. Thank you for noticing our housekeeping team's tireless efforts to ensure rooms are spotlessly clean. During your next stay, may I suggest you choose our Bed and Breakfast package which is slightly more expensive than the AAA rate, but includes the Breakfast at Hilton Buffet which features 40 items on the buffet, an omelet station, a waffle maker, and entrees from the breakfast grill. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a pretty nice hotel on the East side of Tucson. All of the rooms are good, beds comfortable, staff friendly, good for more than one night. The restaurant is a bit pricy for Tucson, but there are loads of restaurants in the area. We stay here when visiting Tucson. It's the nicest hotel in the area.

The only downside is the corridor doors slam shut very loadly!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelerSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back during your next Tucson visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed on the executive level for 2 nights in a king room. The evening managers reception is one of the best I have experienced at any Hilton. Also,at check in as a Gold memeber I was given a coupon for 2 free drinks at the hotel bar. Breakfast on the exceutive level was also excellent. Additionaly, the staff was very freindly. If yoiu visit during the summer the hotel has a very nice pool and surrounding area. The location is alittle off the beaten path, but is only about 25 mins from the airport and about 15 mins off I-10.

Room Tip: Executive level (6th or 7th floors). choose a room which faces the front of the hotel and the Catal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odessa712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have heard from many guests that our Evening Managers' Reception beats the competition and we thank you for observing that is is one of the best you've experienced at any Hilton. We appreciate our Hilton Honors frequent stay reward guests and I'm so happy that we recognized you and your loyalty at check in. I will pass on your "two thumbs up" review of the Executive Level Breakfast and friendly staff to our Director of Food and Beverage. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place was a steal during the xmas holidays but the clientele made it unpleasant.
Yes, the daily rate for an AARP room was $67/n on the executive floor. We had room 740, a topfloor updated large king room with a hobbit sized bathroom. Newly redone it was well appointed and quiet, we slept well. Lots of room for luggage, 2 bathrobes, quick WiFi, attentive housekeeping, great view of distant mountains. We gave up trying to fit 2 adults in the bathroom, seriously it was 5x6 feet but newly redone. The entry foyer in the room was huge so go figure.
The 6:30am executive breakfast was continental most days, eggs only on weekends. Staffed by a hard working asian lady that kept it controlled and somewhat clean.
The 5pm happy hour lasted till 7pm and was a battle to eat. Numerous foreigner guests would line up at 4:59pm and dart into the small room to fill their plates with mounds of light snacks such as salad, chips and eggrolls. This had to been their main meal of the day and was such a hassle that we would wait till 6pm, when they had cleared out and then have some chips.
The management needs to get some control of this situation, have a separate person bussing the tables and cleaning up the mess they create. Somehow this "drink and nibbles" has morphed into a hogtrough of free dinner for the cheapos that the low day rate attracts. We were there for 5 nights and the hallways had the same dropped chips and lemon slice on the floor when we departed. Get housekeeping to vacuum the hallways every afternoon instead of the ridiculous evening ice offering. While you are correcting failings I suggest you purchase a new clothing dryer, yours took 2 hours to dry a regular load and squeaked throughout.
I will not even bother to recount our miserable dinner at the bar restaurant....maybe fire everybody, redo the menu , stop the free dinner upstairs and throw out rotted veggies for a start or close it down

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, the evening manager's reception is a reception with appetizers and drinks--it's not meant to be a dinner. I'm sorry other guests were not considerate of you. We're glad you were able to take part in the holiday promotion. I appreciate your feedback and have forwarded it to our food and beverage director for corrective action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here with our two dogs on a Saturday night. The hotel is beautiful and sits on a large property and has a lot of grass. The room was comfy and clean as well as the bathroom, but the room lacked refinement. The bed was large and comfortable. There must have been a large group staying on our floor (2nd floor) as a loud group was in the hallway around 1am and noise seemed to travel well. We didn't use the hotel restaurant or bar.

We were very satisfied overall with the stay. Check in was quick and easy. The only real downside was check out. The gentlemen at the front desk seemed inconvenienced when we went to the desk to check out and didn't ask about the stay, say thank you, or anything. Maybe he was having a bad day, but it was odd. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your wholehearted recommendation of our hotel and we are thankful you noticed all the updates and renovations that have been completed. I am sorry the front desk agent was distracted during your check out--we appreciate our guests and know that our success is built on your satisfaction. I apologize we didn't give you a pleasant thank you as you departed. We look forward to greeting you when you return on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,285 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've tried multiple other properties around Tucson and this is now my new favorite and where I will stay from now on. The location is a little less scenic than being against the mountains but it is easy driving distance to just about anywhere in town. The hotel itself has very nice common areas inside and out. The rooms were your typical upgraded Hilton rooms but the linens and mattresses were great. The executive level had nice options too. What really pushed things over-the-top was the perks they provided Diamond members.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issue_Resolution, Director of Sales at Hilton Tucson East, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that we are your new favorite hotel in Tucson. Our hotel enjoys a large percentage of HHonors return guests and we enjoy taking great care of our Diamond Honors guests. Thank you for noticing how perfect our central location is for exploring Tucson. Thank you for noticing our renovated and clean sleeping rooms and we appreciate your whole-hearted recommendation of our beds. Glad you got a great night's sleep and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#29 of 130 in Tucson
1,115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
4.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson East

Property: Hilton Tucson East
Address: 7600 E Broadway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85710-3705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Tucson
#46 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tucson East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern atrium lobby hotel with all-interior corridors in Tucson; this upscale hotel has a 7-story atrium lobby window that showcases the Catalina Mountain Range views. Guestrooms with King or 2 Queen beds and free Internet. Executive Level Rooms available with private key access floors, include access to the private lounge serving deluxe continental breakfast, all day snacks and beverages, and evening manager's reception with beer, wine and soda bar; additional amenities include turn down service and nightly snacks. Premium location close to Park Place Mall, attractions, business and shopping. Free parking. Restaurant, gift shop, pool, whirlpool, and exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton Tucson East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson East Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing