We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAYING IN THE BOWELLS OF TUCSON”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Flamingo Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flamingo Suites
Ranked #120 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Phoenix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“STAYING IN THE BOWELLS OF TUCSON”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

When we tried to check into our usual 3 1/2 starhotel on the north side of Tucson and found it was sold-out, I noticed a decent looking hotel on the other side of the street called the Flamingo Suites with rooms for only $54 a night. With my cheap side taking over I checked in at the lobby, the lady checking me in looked like she just woke up and rudely rented me a room.
My wife and I walked up the steps to our room and noticed two of our neighbors sitting on the porch across the way looked like they lived there. They were sitting in their fold out chairs and were smoking and drinking. They looked troublesome, but I continued into my room.
Oh my gosh , two regular beds that were hard as sleeping on grave, the room stunk like chemicalsd and the sink and toilet were out of the 60's. All I kept doing all night was waiting for the sun to come up so I could get out of this hellholel. It appears to have section 8 housing there and should not be considered a hotel. Best of luck to whoever might stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ua1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    2
    16
See reviews for
6
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapaa, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Filthy, smelly, foul. Offered to pay for one night and not even stay there. Left and was charged for six days. Owner lied to Amex. about our situation when I disputed the charges. Ongoing dispute months later. Won't even take my calls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PapaJ1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place is the worst ever!! First of all, we had to pay for our entire stay up front (before we saw the room). Then when we got to the room, it reeked of cigarettes and had cigarette burns on everything. There were roaches coming in under the door and smashed bugs on the wall! There was no hot water and the only TP was a roll that had been wet and then had dried. It was stained yellow and kinda crunchy. When we said we wanted our money back they refused! We reported them to the BBB and after a lot of haggling with the owner got $100 back. They should have paid us for trauma and suffering!!! DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE!!! The Best Western next door was pretty nice for the price though.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PAMELA0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here couple of times in 2011 and 2010- and it was a great bargain. Winter 2012- the room reeks from cigarets. People are standing in their doorways smoking. A girl came and complained someone broke into her room smashing a window. Rooms close to the street are noisy.Why did we check in? It was late and the kids were tired. It was a mistake. Nice people working here, though.

Room Tip: A very smoker-friendly place. It this is you, do stay. If your health is important for you, pay more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamarrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at this filthy garbage pit For two days. I got what I paid for this was my worst nightmare. They have no security whatsoever! My car was broken into by a fellow visitor. The management could care less. After my visit I wound up at a local hospital infected withMRSA do to the filthy premises that I had paid to rent.WARNING STAY AWAY FROM THIS MESS!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

phone not working air conditioner not working was provided with a fan on a day that was 109 degrees and reading the rest of the reviews i really can not add anything more, but i believe the health department and the consumer fraud division of the proper authorities should bet involved with this fradulent business. i have reported this place to the BBB maybe the next time i see this place it will be closed. these kind of places need to be monitored more closely they give traveling through tucson a very bad name

Room Tip: do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gmacin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Stay away from this dump. We booked a large room thinking we would have a great time during our stay in Tucson... Forget it... The room had all kinds of bugs in it. Furthermore, the manager was rude and still charged us for the night even though the conditions of the room were inhospitable. Save yourself the trouble and stay somewhere else. I just can't believe this place isn't shut down by health inspectors.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCMTY07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson
TownePlace Suites Tucson
#57 of 128 in Tucson
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
0.0 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Tucson Mall
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tucson
Candlewood Suites Tucson
#54 of 128 in Tucson
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Suites

Property: Flamingo Suites
Address: 401 W Lavery Ln, Tucson, AZ 85704-3922 (Formerly Travelodge Suites)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Flamingo Suites 1*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing