We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Retro and Great Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown
Ranked #87 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple, Retro and Great Quality”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've stayed here about 5 times and it's about time for a shout out. Nice and friendly employees add value to a clean, spacious and renovated room. I visit my boys often and the University and it's proximity to campus is appreciated. It's also close to the freeway for easy in and out. The free breakfast is a hit with the guests although I haven't tried it. The large dining area is adjacent to the office and was staffed by two nice ladies. Next time I'm there! I couldn't get tickets to the last basketball game so watching it on the flat screen tv in the room was great. The fridge and microwave were also convenient! I'll be back!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    90
    44
    30
    23
See reviews for
46
85
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We arrived at night and weren't too happy about what we saw. The place was practically deserted and the neighborhood seemed a little dodgy, though the apparent proximity to the U of A would have been convenient if we'd been going there. I'd say the rooms had seen better days, but everything was clean and we had a good night's sleep. The breakfast was good, but the breakfast room and lobby were really beautiful--bright and sunny. You could appreciate in a good way the age of the motel--the 1950s style. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Best of all, when my son left his coat in the closet, the maid found the coat, turned it in to the front desk, and it was waiting for us when we stopped in later that afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and was very impressed. It is an older motel in a run-down neighborhood but is a gem. It is very convenient to the U of A. The rooms are spacious and clean and the facilities are well maintained. The room felt like I was in a much fancier hotel. The breakfast was surprisingly varied and good. In fact I usually would go out for breakfast but ate here instead. The grounds, pool, and appointments are not fancy, but are functional. The street view gives the wrong impression of a sleazy motel (come on folks-fix or replace the big sign above the office). But the first impression of this place is not accurate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Stone Ave to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppylinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surgeres, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were a little concerned reading the comments after booking this Motel but were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and clean as was the pool, staff friendly and breakfast offering had a good selection and frequently refreshed. We asked for a quite room and were allocated an upstairs room equi distance between the stairwells - had very little problem sleeping

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suenpeter37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityflamingo, General Manager at Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your responce this helps us with training and making sure our property is ready for all guests. Thank you again and have a wonderful day.

Jackie Pesina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed there a couple of weeks ago for a night and we were very pleased with everything, including the hot breakfast included in the very reasonable room price. It was quiet and conveniently located.

Room Tip: No restaurant but excellent breakfast. I can't recall if there was a fitness room or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityflamingo, General Manager at Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review on Trip Advisor about the Quality Inn Flamingo. I have shared the review with our staff and we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to provide a clean comfortable room with a hot healthy breakfast to insure a great start for our guests. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We checked in for one night and liked Tucson so much that we extended our stay for a second night. The hotel is not downtown but it's a very short drive there and there are some convenience stores that you can walk to: we had no problem with the location. In general, the place is clean and relatively modern. The pool was filthy but we were there during windy, cold weather so that might have been why.

Unfortunately though, we ended up covered in bed bug bites. We had some bites already on the first night but as we have never experienced them before, we didn't really make the connection (as obviously would not have extended our stay).

I have been in two minds whether to write this review because the incident was handled well and we were given a full refund ... but after almost three weeks, we still have the bites. My boyfriend was bitten so many times (I counted over 100 bites on his back alone), he had a severe allergic reaction to them and ended up covered in pus-filled blisters. Not the hotel's fault but as you can imagine, this put a dampener on the rest of our trip.

One thing that I didn't like was that there was a very young man on reception who kept going into the back to consult with his manager on the issue and coming back saying 'My manager says xyz': the manager should have come out and dealt with this problem her/himself instead of making a junior staff member do it.

I must also add that another guest (who looked like he had been staying for a while) was in the reception when we informed the staff of our problem and said that he had not experienced it so I guess we were just very unlucky.

Lesson learned: always check your bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleintje78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityflamingo, General Manager at Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and I want to apologize about the situation concerning your recent stay. We do everything possible to avoid bedbugs and took action to isolate the problem and we are taking precautions so this will not happen in the future. A recent change in management has occurred and we welcome you back to see what we have done. Thank you again for your review and we hope you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. We chose this motel because we had a coupon giving us a rate of just under $50. Hotel was well worth it. Rooms were comfortable and clean. We had a microwave and small refrigerator in the room. Breakfast was included and was a bit more than many comparably priced motels. They had eggs that were edible, but nothing to write home about. Two mornings they had bacon. There were sausages, muffins, juice, coffee, etc. Staff were nice and friendly. Location is not ideal as there is not much else in the area but other motels and a liquor store, but it is convenient to getting around town. We wanted a place that was not too far from Saguaro National Park and the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum, which were an easy 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityflamingo, General Manager at Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and Thank you for staying with us at the Quality Inn Flamingo. Our goal is to provide a clean comfortable room at a reasonable rate and to provide a hot and healthy breakfast to help start your day. In response to your review we are educating our staff on informing our guest with recommendations on dining and entertainment venues within proximity of our hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
8.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tucson Airport
0.3 mi away
University Inn Tucson
University Inn Tucson
#52 of 130 in Tucson
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copper Cactus Inn
Copper Cactus Inn
#101 of 130 in Tucson
24 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Limited Tucson West
6.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
#83 of 130 in Tucson
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown

Property: Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown
Address: 1300 N Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705-7338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown Tucson! Our hotel is conveniently located just minutes from the University of Arizona campus. Our hotel has been recently renovated and under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Flamingo Hotel Tucson
Quality Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing