We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodge on the Desert
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arizona Inn(Tucson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,058)
Filter reviews
1,058 results
Traveler rating
606
288
93
49
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
606
288
93
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplaceboutique hotelnewer roomsroom was largecactus gardensouthwestern stylesmall patiobeautiful groundswalk in showeron site restaurantpool and hot tubhappy hourmini fridgebed was very comfortabledowntown tucsoncatalina mountainsdesert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
947 - 952 of 1,058 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed here 6 nights and this midtown location can't be beat for being home base to activities in any direction of the city. Love the 4-plex casita style rooms, instead of a motel or hotel layout. The only drawbacks: the pool area is way too shaded for my liking, and there wasn't any info in the room regarding the lodge's amenities (but were told they were in the process of printing new ones). Service was outstanding, the little bit we required, and the staff very friendly and courteous.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank IowaSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-yourGM, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

Iowa Sunshine:
Thanks for making us your home for six nights during your recent stay and we can't wait to see you back at our place that some have described as a boutique 'adobe village'. We're working on getting the guest directories inside the rooms and training our associates on promoting greater awareness of all that we have to offer in the interim. We hope winter comes to an abrupt end soon in Iowa...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We used to live in Tucson and I had stayed at the Lodge about 15 years ago, so it was a natural choice when looking for a hotel for a recent trip. It had a nice quaint feel even back then, but it's much nicer now! We had a room in the newer part and it was all we could have hoped for -- nice bed, great bathroom and even a gas fireplace. The location might not be for everyone, but it was perfect for us since we were visiting the University of Arizona and other centrally-located places, and knew the area well. We also got a great rate, especially for high season. We didn't eat any meals at the restaurant so I can't comment on that. Overall, a very nice experience and someplace we definitely look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJTraveler020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-yourGM, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

NJTraveler020:
We can't thank you enough and we agree that the new rooms may be the most comfortable guestrooms in the city - most guests love the more central location because it's convenient to the University, downtown and most of the major sights and priovides them with an urban oasis. When you come back, I'd like to introduce you to our restaurant and some of the incredible flavors coming out of our kitchen while sipping a Lodge Classic Margarita!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The room was clean and very comfortable. The pool area was relaxing and the lodge provided towels for the guests. Location was great; close to many things.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-yourGM, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

Tiffrig:
Thank you and I'll be sure to pass your comments on to our team - we hope to see you again at Lodge on the Desert! Were you able to try any of Chef Ryan Clark's specialities when you were here?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

On a recent our of Arizona, I opted to stay at Lodge on the Desert, based on many considerations, including past reviews, history, and location. The lodge has a unique hsitory of once being a private residence now turned (or turning) into a beautiful little boutique property.This is truly a wondefrul little place, tucked into a quiet residential neighborhood. A spedid urban oasis comprised of villa's and bungalow's in a lush tranquil setting.The room accomodations are tasteful, with a subtle southwestern touch coupled with modern up to date amenities, such as large flat screen TV's , plus a very large bathroom with double walk-in shower, double sink's and two person jet bathtub. My suite even had a nice electric fireplace and balcony.
Although most importantly, it is the staff that really makes this place. It appeared to me that a transition was happening in all forms at the hotel, as new features and personel where hard at work. The jovial, friendly staff where eager to please and competent,skilled and knowlegable at their jobs. Making for a most relaxing and enjoyable stay.
I highly reccomend Lodge on the Desert, and look forward to my return stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMChep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-yourGM, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write and recognizing the dedication and enthusiasm that our team exudes every day to make this the best boutique hotel in Tucson. Please come back to see us soon on your next visit to sunny Tucson...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We visited Lodge on the Desert in early February and were deeply unsatisfied. Actually we contacted the management of the hotel to let them know our displeasure and only gave us there condolences. Stay here if you only wish for a place to stay that needs no amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waterskiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews