We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“R&R Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“R&R Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I was in Arizona for training and decided to meet my wife in Tucson. This location was perfect for escaping. The surrounding walls did a great job blocking out city noise and hospitality was better than some 3 diamonds I've stayed at recently. The King Spa room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. On the premises the restaurant served outstanding duck that was cooked to our liking (The maple glaze was amazing). Be sure to ask for Jerry as a server, he was really helpful in reccommending activities occurring in the area for Independence Day weekend. I would definitely stay here in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    235
    76
    47
    18
See reviews for
227
372
53
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

A small family reunion for 6 days at the lodge.....what a fabulous resort! Not sure where to begin- the food, the property, the service or the location ? All were amazing for our diverse family needs. It felt like we had this oasis to ourselves, but it was 80% occupied! Quiet, beautiful , and relaxing. The food was amazing.. While we had many daily excursions, we always chose the Lodge restaurant for lunch and dinner. The main courtyard lawn was the PErfect venue for a family croquet match. They brought the bar to us- pitchers of margaritas to help fuel the fun family competition.
The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The staff- super attentive. If you want to work out , they have a complimentary pass to a great gym near by. Lastly, the location was perfect for easy commutes to college campus, arts and entertainment, mountain climbing, golf and tennis.

Room Tip: There is a diverse set if room accommodations . Ask in advance for room types that will fit your tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Passing through 10 east getting caught in a rain storm. Stopped at the lodge and a spectacular thing happened. The most amazing and beautiful little oasis. Had dinner at the quaint little restaurant. First. Jerry our waiter was friendly. Helpful and very knowledgeable. We started with the cheese plate and amazing glass of Malbec. From there we had chef Marcus's creations. To a Texan anything with espresso and filet in the same sentences is a total win. The dish was outstanding. My husband had the fresh yellow fin and it was beautiful dish. Presentation was incredible The delight was the final white chocolate truffle Holy cow was that amazing. Please give chef Marcus a try. What an amazing off road delight we encountered. If ever back through Tucson. This is a must stop for us!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Pulled up to The Lodge and didn't expect much as was very low key. To our surprise, it was an amazing hotel! Everywhere we went on the grounds was beautifully maintained; many areas with pots and plants arranged like a still-life picture. The room was lovely. Spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated with a fireplace and small balcony. The restaurant had an incredibly talented guitar player the evening we arrived. So relaxing! The food was great - the waitress amazingly accommodating of our traveling food needs. But.....there's more. When we arrived in Phoenix, I didn't have the jewelry I'd put in the safe. We thought it was gone. Would you believe that the hotel had it for me? Nothing, not even the valuable jewelry was missing. Thank you so much, Lodge on the Desert. We will recommend you every chance we get!

Room Tip: If you sleep in the afternoon, don't book a room over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice property. Ate breakfast and dinner (happy hour) at lodge. Would stay again.
Use this lodge as a base to visit the area south of Tucson.
Room was large and very clean. Service was very good.
February was good time of year to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobodog1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Four of us went to dinner here on a Sun night to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant was hardly busy. We ordered a Bottle of Gruet champagne which was great. We had Caesar salads which were mediocre at best. The bread was warm and delicious and we ate 2 baskets. 2 of us ordered the fish special which was stripped sea bass. It came hard and dried out so we both sent it back. The waiter brought us each salmon as a replacement. This was cooked considerably better but overall lacked flavor or inspiration. I had to add salt to mine which I would normally never do. My husband ordered the sirloin which was delicious and cooked perfectly. We almost felt like the Chef didn't know how to prepare fish but did well with beef entrees. We were disappointed overall considering the price of the meal. We didn't bother to even order dessert. The waiter felt bad and could tell we didn't enjoy our meal. We won't return anytime soon

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kareninaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We booked from the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum website and didn't know anything about the hotel. It was a surprise find, and a very nice place to stay! We were a family of five traveling, and booked the Double Queen room. On arrival we were offered the Traditional Room, which slept us all comfortably in shared queens and a large pull out couch. The decor was nice, pool large enough for a bit of a swim and kids' play, and the staff all friendly and helpful. We stayed two nights, but only booked for one originally; if it wasn't as nice and friendly a place we would not have stayed another night. There are a smaller number of rooms compared to other local places, which added to the quaintness.

We didn't even step inside the restaurant as we ate with family the entire time, outside the hotel. There were fewer common areas, but did notice the business center with lots of books on our departure.

Room Tip: We booked from the museum website and got one free entry. It was cheaper than all the online sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank futisaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 North Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing