We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for U of AZ visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice beds and large size room - great value for the price in Tucson! I would recommend if you have a busy weekend and are using the hotel for mainly sleeping and eating - the common areas are not luxurious!

Room Tip: Nice large room with extra bathroom space and mirrors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful hotel that captures the atmosphere of the location and promotes the very best of standards in service, facilities and room appointment. Excellent, helpful staff who despite a misunderstanding with the booking went out of their way to rectify the situation. I wouldn't choose any other hotel in Tucson now.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Again, we went to Lodge on the Desert for a quick weekend getaway and again, the experience was fantastic. From check-in to the free upgrade to a spa room to our complimentary cocktails to the bar and restaurant experience, it's all first rate. We've stayed at other boutique hotels in Tucson and other cities and Lodge on the Desert ranks as our favorite!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the new complex or, if you like something with a little more of that SW...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have stayed at the Lodge on the Desert several times now. When we can get a good deal on it--and sometimes you can get a very good one--this is our go-to hotel.

The hotel is actually a very old resort that has been updated with new construction within the last few years. This was a place were movie stars and rich snow birds used to stay in the 1930s, '40's and '50s. So there are two parts to the hotel: the older "traditional" rooms and the more modern "deluxe" rooms. The traditional rooms have an old-style "cool" about them, are large and comfortable, but they are older, so keep that in mind. There is nothing wrong with these rooms. However, I do like the layout and modern southwest design of the newer "deluxe" rooms. I'll stay in either, but if given a choice, I like the modern. But if I get a traditional, I am fine with this.

The rooms have a refrigerator and the one I stayed in last weekend (a deluxe with fireplace) had a safe. I assume all rooms have a safe, which I feel all hotels should have. My room also have a nice patio area.

I am very familiar with Tucson and find this hotel very well located for getting around. It has a great bar and restaurant--both being expensive, but not outrageously so--and their head chef, who's been there for years, is really rather good. I love to get snacks and drinks in the bar. I usually don't eat and drink in hotel bars or restaurants, but this one is definitely a good hotel for drinking and dining.

The grounds are lovely, the service is good, the rooms are safe and there are plenty of places, both cheap and expensive, to eat in the area.

I highly recommend this fine luxury hotel!

Room Tip: Remember: the traditional rooms are much older, but completely fine for lodging. The deluxe rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Staff was very friendly and considerate. Room was cozy and clean. Great place to getaway.We wiil be back for sure! Dining experience was great, no need to leave the lodge on a great getaway weekend. Everything was beyond expectations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This pueblo-style hotel complex is charming and restful. Our room was spacious, cool and quiet, with high ceilings and clean-lined stylish southwest furnishings. The king bed was very comfortable and the bathroom also great, both spacious and comfortable. Due to the layout of the complex, the rooms felt very private. You do need to drive if you want to visit downtown. The hotel has a small but pleasant outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi behind the reception building. At the time when we were staying we mostly had the sole use of the pool. We were particularly impressed by the excellent quality of the food which can be enjoyed in a very pleasant outdoor courtyard between the bar and the restaurant. The service is also considered and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northwindblew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Rooms that have that chemical smell are really off putting. Not here it was just great. We were so pleased to find this tranquil spot. The room was large by most current standards, it was well appointed and had understated and soothing decor. The no smoking room really was no smoking. The bathroom was very large and exceptionally clean, thank you very much!

The room was quiet and the bed was very good. Morning coffee on our patio with the view of the mountains was perfect!

The front desk was very helpful.

It is do nice to see an independent small hotel with such attention to detail, a caring attitude, and with none of the formula rooms of bigger chain hotels. We had a lovely stay and recommend it highly.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jemada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
736 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
3.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#22 of 129 in Tucson
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
6.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $143 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing