We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well laid out sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well laid out sanctuary”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a nicely and compactly laid out set of accommodations in Tuscon. It is, therefore, not far from other activities. Nice green spaces, a few small water features. I felt as though I was secluded from the Tuscon that was right outside the walls. The restuarant is about average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    269
    86
    48
    20
See reviews for
254
408
56
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The lodge sits behind high walls in the south center of Tucson and it's very easy to forget that you're in the middle of a city when you stay here. Befitting a lodge that has been around for 60 years or so, the grounds feature mature cacti in wonderful shape so strolling around is a pleasure. Everything was spotlessly clean both outdoors and indoors.

A few negatives. I'd say the pool and surrounding deck are a bit on the small side. The hotel restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating and it typically seems to get very high marks. However, we weren't that impressed. The pork tacos were bland and the pork itself completely uninteresting. There is a chili on the menu which is nothing like a typical chili. It features a small brown bean that is apparently grown only by the local native American tribe. Once again, zero spiciness (that pork again) and although unique, something we'd never order a second time. OTOH, the pancakes were excellent, the bacon delicious and great guacamole. The waitstaff at the restaurant is made up of youngsters, far from professionals, so utensils may not show up and attention can be lacking.

In closing, this is a fairly laid back, modest and unpretentious facility. Don't come here expecting staggering views of Tucson as it is enclosed behind those walls. However, for a quiet relaxing low-key enclave hidden away, this is a perfect retreat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My organization and I stayed at Lodge on the Desert for a business meeting. The lodge had great accommodations and was a beautiful place to stay. All of the staff was very gracious and the service was great. I especially want to point out a bartender there named Jerry Lohrentz. He was extremely helpful and was always eager to serve your needs. He is also very knowledgeable about wine and other drinks. Try striking up a conversation with him and you will not be disappointed! The only downside was there was no fitness center on site.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewr944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The room I was assigned was in need of help. When I arrived around 2 PM, I reported to the maid that the toliet would not quit running and it was wasting a large amont of water.The maid assured it me she would take care of it. Being from Colorado, I am very aware of drouth and the lack of rain in certain states. When I returned at 9 PM, the toliet back was still where I had placed it on the seat. Water was churning in the tank so I called the desk to report it. Two young men arrived to check it out and then they left. The desk called me to report it could not be fixed that evening and would I like to change rooms. I declined as it was late for me. I cannot imagine the amount of water that was lost in the time period I was there. Plus I could not figure how to get in the shower to adjust the tempeture without getting soaked. I finally stood under the showerhead to adjust the water, then shower:( I have never seen a shower set up like this before.

Room Tip: Check out your room before you accept it:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carole3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vritts@stlcc.edu
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our third stay at this property and we will certainly stay again. The grounds are lovely and the room, deluxe King/Spa in the newer section, was both quiet and comfortable. We love the location of this property and the service is impeccable. I always request staying in the "newer" section and have never been disappointed. I think that it is an excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the "newer" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This property is nice and the service is acceptable. The rooms are clearly old rooms which have been updated. The update job was obviously done on a budget. Our room had an electric ignition gas fireplace which made a loud buzzing noise all night (I opened the front and unplugged the compontent on the inside which stopped the buzzing - I don't imagine most guests being comfortable doing that, and it rendered the fireplace inoperable). The walls were paper thin, we could hear neighbors and one night, they were up all night re-inacting the needle in the chest scene from pulp fiction (or so it seemed).

The bright side is that the restaurant and bar are eclectic and well executed. They are knowledgable about gluten intolerance and able to accomodate easily. The homemade chorizo is recommended and there are several desserts at the bar that are a lot of fun.

The value is fairly solid (because this is not priced as a high end resort), just be sure to ask for a quiet room at check in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-and-R_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night in this "boutique" hotel in Toucson. Its grounds are landscaped with flowers and cactuses and wind about to open new flora surprises. Our room was a traditional king, which may well have been in the bunkhouse of the original lodge. Although it had a slight musty smell on our entrance, it was large with a very comfortable bed, gas fireplace, and bathroom tiled with some older azuelos. Windows had hand painted flowers decorating them. The room was just around the corner from an excellent heated outdoor pool and hot tub. We had drinks at the bar, sitting on a patio in front of an outdoor gas fire pit and chimney. Breakfast at the restaurant was good, despite some initial ignoring by a discomposed waiter, whose lack of attention was replaced by warm hospitality from the rest of the wait crew. The Lodge is located about a quarter mile from a greenway that circles a park and golf course and runs by a historic neighborhood. We made our reservations through the Lodge's website, but assume better deals may be available elsewhere on line.

Room Tip: Lodge was full for our visit. Possibly the non-"traditional" rooms are more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USMC_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing