We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The property is quiet, grass and desert plants, and once you exit the parking lot and enter the property you don't remember you are in a large city, in the university area. The rooms had all the amenities and an outdoor patio. I asked for a chair and table for my little patio and it was there within a short time.The buildings are desert adobe and the rooms are good size, Mine had a huge bathroom. A fireplace in the corner added charm and I turned up the a/c and turned the fireplace on just for the enjoyment or relaxing with my book.

The bar area was friendly and I had a wonderful snack during happy hour which was a smaller size of a main entree. The margarita definitely had real tequila and was not watered down. The pool area was quiet and clean. I would recommend the hotel to out of town visitors and those in town who just want to relax for a weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I live in the area but stayed 2 nights recently to host a small celebration there. Loved the room. It was clean, quiet and secure. The wifi was a bit spotty. I contacted catering about my little celebration. Because it was small, it was suggested we just gather in the bar area. The chef at Lodge on the Desert has been the winner of the Tucson Iron Chef competition three years in a row! We gathered as suggested, ordered drinks and an array of appetizers. the food was fantastic! However, the area was not comfortable or conducive to both food and conversation. The real problem was the service or rather, the lack of it. Once we were served, there was no one following up for drink or food refills....didn't even ask. A bill was just delivered to the table. Some of us were interested in moving to the dining room, but the poor service put the kibosh on that. Old pueblo grill is in walking distance.

Really loved the property and quality. Service in the bar was the downer for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We loved this hotel! It was so peaceful and quiet. Our room was big, clean and comfy. The people that worked at the front desk were always friendly and helpful. It was a good location, too. We appreciated the pool and the bar! We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the new addition. It was very nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouserMaplewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here this weekend, and had a great experience in every way. When we checked in, the customer service agent upgraded us right off the bat. As we made our way to the suite, there appeared to be a miscommunication as the room was still occupied - I guess someone hadn't checked out. Upon returning to the front desk, we were immediately assigned a suite, with several apologies for something that appeared to be beyond their control. Great service, and a seamless experience. Our room was lovely - great southwest vibe, and a HUGE bathroom. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melandpascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, great location, and great staff. Our room was very big and clean. We stayed two nights and played at the pool the whole time. Kids loved the pool, and we loved the spa. This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel and would stay again. It was the perfect weekend getaway at a great price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Even when you live where the weather makes you think you're on vacation all the time, you still need to get out of Dodge for a couple of days. Fortunately, we found the Lodge on the Desert, a boutique hotel near our favorite shopping haunts and restaurants in Tucson. Once you enter the property you feel like you have a private hideaway with winding pathways and lush landscaping. Rooms are oversized and very comfortable. Double sinks in the bathroom, separate shower and tub...a wonderful retreat. Breakfast was delicious with especially excellent coffee-Arbuckle's which is local and organic. Staff is absolutely excellent.

This is definitely on our list to visit again when we need to have a weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at Lodge of the Desert as a "Birthday" Staycation... marguaritas were awesome, pool was refreshing, the meal was "outstanding" by the Three Time Iron Chef.... Room was clean, comfortable... we had a fire place, balcony and in room jacuzzi tub! Water pressure was outstanding for a hotel shower! Tucked away off a main street, it was unbelievable quiet. Close to a major park complex that offers golf, the zoo, great walking paths...You couldn't ask for more at such an affordable price!

Room Tip: Upstairs facing the mountains was awesome, could see the monsoon storms over the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#5 of 129 in Tucson
744 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#24 of 129 in Tucson
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $133 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing