We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome change”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #17 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Tucson is a treasure trove of nice hotels, most very pricey and suited for the Country Club crowd and "Snow Birds" escaping the chill of winter. We decided to try something different, and found this nice boutique hotel nestled away from the resorts and crowds. June is part of the "off-season", and the room rates at this time are wonderful, starting at $99. We opted for a "Fireside" room for an additional $10, not needing a fireplace in summer, but expecting a room with more space. We were not disappointed, the room was large and nicely decorated. The bathroom was roomy, and had an interesting walk-in shower with glass doors. Not any spectacular scenic views as it sits in its closed courtyard in a light business/residential neighborhood. Comfortable beds, tile flooring with tasteful decorating, a warm and friendly staff, and a very nice restaurant make your stay totally relaxing and enjoyable.

You are only a few blocks from the bustle of malls and an assortment of eateries, and the Tucson Botanical Gardens is a few blocks away. It was a wonderful get-away from the normal busy hotel/motel environment, and we will be sure to return here on our next trip.

Room Tip: The Fireplace rooms are larger and well worth the small price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZinFanatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

The wife I were headed home after a weekend in Rio Rico and just felt like staying the night instaed of traveling. We called our daughter who lives in Tucson to let her know we were in town. She said she had attended a wedding at The Lodge On The Desert and that we should stay there. This place is very nice. Very clean and quiet. Everyone working there is very pleasant and the food is very good. We were so relaxed we stayed a second night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

One of the nicest hotels in Tuscon and for sure the USA, especially when you consider the cost to stay here.

Rooms are a great size and well appointed, with high quality bedding and towels etc.

The location is good and the staff are great.

Stay here, you deserve it!

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are quieter, but no elevators. whatever works for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband an I stayed the night here recently and food the experience delightful. The room was large and comfortable with a small balcony and fireplace. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom very spacious. We dined at the hotel restaurant and found the food excellent. It was well cooked, the portion size was just right and the wait staff was very attentive. All in all I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melrose154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a family gathering for an anniversary celebration. From the moment we arrived we were very happily surprised. This is a somewhat small property originally founded in 1936. It was remodeled (according to the staff) in 2009. The rooms are very clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. The beds are as comfortable as the Westin Heavenly Bed and all the linens and towels are high quality. Even the complimentary soaps and shampoo are above average. Since we were attending a dinner party with about 50 people we got to witness the excellent service provided by the banquet staff. They were quick to serve wonderful dinners, clear the tables quickly and anticipate our needs. The very BEST part of our stay was breakfast the next day. The on-site restaurant is charmingly decorated with hand painted beams and Mexican tiles. The food was truly excellent. If we lived in Tucson we would eat there often. It was a wonderful little weekend getaway and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuelvieinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was the second time my wife and I have visited this property. The first time we found the staff attentive and helpful and we found them just as good on this occasion. Once again we booked a deluxe king room and it was excellent with all the amenities we needed; we found it comfortable and relaxing. Arriving in Tuscon with the temperature in the daytime reaching triple figures we were looking forward to some time relaxing and swimming in the pool. Unfortunately this was the one thing that was completely different from our first stay. Instead of being greeeted by clear bright sparkling water, we were greeted with dirty cloudy water and a film of black scum around the top of the pool. The depth marker tiles were meant to be white but they were actually black from dirt and unreadable above the waterline.
Many guests were using the pool but it just looked grubby and was in need of very good clean. If we had nothing to compare this with maybe we would not have been quite so disappointed by this one problem. However when it is 100 degrees outside the use of a nice cooling, clean swimming pool is essential and this was a real let down. The rest of the property and inside the rooms all seemed to be cleaned to a good standard. This high standard just needs to be applied to the swimming pool!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked a weekend staycation for us at Lodge on the Desert and we enjoyed every minute. The resort was very quiet and felt like it was all ours. We never had to wait to grab a bite to eat or get a drink at the bar. The staff was extremely friendly and made every effort to make the experience a positive one, especially in the bar. We enjoyed a couple days at the pool and lounged in the sun. The pool was never crowded, but we did wish they had pool music playing. The room was large, clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSUCHRIS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#5 of 129 in Tucson
743 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#24 of 129 in Tucson
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $134 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing