We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #20 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little hotel, very quiet and centrally located in Tucson. Very close to just about anything you would need. Room was very clean and spacious, front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool area is nice and has plenty of seating, I would suggest that they have music playing by the pool and if you want some drinks, the bar is a little bit of a walk from the pool, but I guess you could just bring a cooler to the pool, I didn't see any signs saying otherwise. Our room was on the first floor and our patio didn't have any seating, however the 2nd floor patios all seemed to have chairs. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattb787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good value, quality stay. Rooms are bigger than a std hotel room. Bed very comfortable. Liked having mini-fridge in room. Having an available microwave, even in common area would have been good. Toiletries, esp soaps are nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NairobiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The Lodge was an unexpected treat as we traveled through the Tucson area. Well appointed and very comfortable, the Lodge had all the amenities we wanted. The restaurant was top notch. My only complain is that restaurant didn't open until 7:00. But it was worth the extra time. Excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great check in. Beautiful Southwest foliage/landscaping. Awesome Adobe/Santa Fe architecture. Very quiet and spacious room with unique qualities. Great bedding. The lounge and restaurant totally comfortable and laid back but outstandingly gourmet. The food was absolutely delicious. I am vegetarian and my husband loves meat and fish. We were thrilled with our choices. This is an urban oasis. So don't be thrown off with the locale which is in a downtown Tucson neighborhood (you wouldn't know it once inside the property [plus you are close to all the downtown has to offer]).

Room Tip: Traditional king with fireplace was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nJOYing_Lif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fantastic place/fantastic staff. Just the right size. Absolutely love it! Feels like the Southwest not like some Phoenix mega resort. A very unique property. Beautiful, well kept grounds. Pool, hot tub, just right. Beds are great, rooms are quiet. Cut my finger deeply & staff was there immediately with the proper aid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

great customer service, very clean rooms, total privacy on rooms (stayed there several times) clean pool always open, amazing restaurant with high class cusine, plenty or parking, comfy beds and close to a park if you need a run in the mornings to get your day started. Love this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for 4 nights, originally only 3 and so glad we changed our mind to stay on that extra night. From checking in to checking out you can not fault the service. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was massive and very comfortable. We had breakfast and a couple of evening meals which were fantastic, you must try their steaks..... and the cocktails!! You could tell everything was cooked fresh. I had banana and walnut bread for breakfast and it was divine.

The pool area was kept immaculate (in fact the whole grounds were), it was very relaxing and fun to get out of the pool and jump in the hot tub/jacuzzi.

The lodge is in a good place and free parking so you can hire a car and not get stung for parking fees. It was easy to find and also great location for sight seeing. Free internet too, some times a bit slow but great that it was free.

We was also very fortunate to get married at the hotel. It was just the two of us. LeeAnn (Director of Catering) was wonderful throughout my contact with her through emails, and she came to our wedding too. The general manager popped out to congratulate us. The hotel treated us to a wedding breakfast which was a lovely surprise.

I loved staying there and was sad to go, so saving like hard to go back asap...

Room Tip: All rooms will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixxy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
720 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $141 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing