We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Mahnattan48
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overall Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Lodge May 29 - 30. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was huge with two sinks and tons of counter space as well as storage room underneath. There was a separate shower stall and tub. The shower was very nice, but the tub was an ordinary low-walled tub - not deep enough to bother using. I didn't understand why they would use cheap white placates trash cans in the bathroom when everything else was better quality.

When we got in to our room we discovered that the door was extremely hard to open - I almost panicked because I thought we were somehow locked in the room. We called the desk and someone came right away. The door needed to be shaved down, and he took care of it right away.
is.

We didn't swim or even sit around the pool since we like to be on the go when we travel. but it looked very inviting.

Breakfast is not included, but the room price was so low that was not a problem We had one breakfast and one dinner in the restaurant was very good - the chef knows what he's doing in the kitchen - but the coffee was weak.

The location was fine - Tucson is easy to get around.

Room Tip: We had a small unattractive patio that faced the parking lot. It had a high wall, but because the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manhattan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    260
    84
    48
    19
See reviews for
242
395
55
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our third time staying at Tucson's best boutique hotel. Well kept grounds, very clean & comfortable rooms; pleasant & accommodating staff! Dining here is superb. Highly recommend The Lodge on The Desert. We have never been disappointed and definitely will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. Had a spa suite and it was quite large and luxurious. Big, well lit bathroom. Very comfortable bed and nice furniture in the room itself. The AC worked well, which was good as it was 100 degrees. Staff was very welcoming and efficient.

Excellent location with plenty of parking. And very quite despite being in the middle of everything.

Certainly a property I look forward to visiting again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramps25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is fantastic!! It's in the middle of the city so we felt like we could easily go whereever we needed to without driving all over. The room was very nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The grounds are fantastic! You feel like you are in a little oasis of your own. Laying by the pool was nice and relaxing. At checkout the manager actually came out and asked how everything was and made sure we were satisfied when we left. The only thing that would have been nice was to have a waiter come out by the pool once in a while to see if anyone needed a drink. Otherwise, this place was great!

Room Tip: Call and confirm you actually have a pool view or garden view. I didn't specifially confirm tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacaMom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't be happier that we stayed here...being brand new to the Tucson area, we had no idea where anything was...luckily it was close to just about every restaurant you could imagine. The staff was excellent...warm and friendly, they did everything possible to make our stay the best!! The pool was lovely and the restaurant on site was so delicious!! :) I highly reccomend and would encourage anyone to stay here! Beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoogrrlfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel definitely has a desert view on the outside, and the rooms are decently spacious and decorated. The beds are very comfortable; the bathroom has two sinks and a large shower. Breakfast was fair, and service was slow. There were a few restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, and more restaurants can be found on the two main roads nearby (Broadway and Speedway).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
6.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing