We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing grounds and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #19 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in one of the historic casitas, super cute vintage feel. Great bed and bedding! Room needed a slight touch up/ dusting but understand it is a vintage room, over all great room. The grounds will really wow you. Great staff, bar is nice. I did tour one of the newer casitas on check out and was really impressed, nearly every room has private balcony or outdoor seating areas which were just so amazing for morning coffee. This place is a definite spring, winter, & fall gem. You just want to stroll the grounds and sit out and soak in some rays. I would suggest they promote the bar/restaurant more. We will be back, would love to stay in one of the deluxe new casitas. We live in AZ but were still impressed with the landscaping. The two male bartenders are a real asset. No menu in the room or mention of the restaurant - or book of the hotels ammenites so that would be helpful, but the desk was very helpful. Look forward to another stay. We are season ticket holders for UA football, so I see many Saturdays at the lodge next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Lodge on the Desert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 982 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

A quiet oasis in the midst of a sprawling city. The architecture and decor suited our taste for understated Southwestern style. Our accommodations were inviting and comfortable for a five night stay. The hotel was centrally located enough for our far ranging activities, and after a busy day it was nice to go down the street for dinner at the Old Pueblo Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b13w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for four nights in March. This hotel was quite centrally located to all of the places we wanted to go. The rooms were giant with plenty of room for our hiking and cycling gear. This place is well appointed with wonderful grounds, a nice pool, and a great jacuzzi. The TV is huge and probably high-def, but the programs are not. So, there's not much good to a TV that big in that case. The window actually faced another room. So, we couldn't really keep the shade open without peering into someone else's room. There was a leak in the bathroom and the guy upstairs sounded like a herd of elephants when he walked around. Otherwise, we could hear no neighbors. We had a nice refrigerator and counter space in our room. The bed was comfortable, and I could have washed my car in the shower. We had a great time and would come to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Alvernon are quieter, I'd imagine.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dnucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We reserved a Romance package which was 2Dine4 where we got $50 dining credit at the restaurant and breakfast for 2. The restaurant was way understaffed and the food was over priced for sure. I called the next morning just to make sure about the breakfast and the amount allowed was $20 and no where in the description did it say there was a $20 limit it just said breakfast and most of the entrees were $10 or more, so you were bound to go over the $20 limit - of which I was glad I check on 1st before we went for breakfast.
Also the 1st room we had was the Traditional Fireside room - King bed with fireplace. It was an old room built in the 30's - read the fine print in the room description!!! The fireplace in the room didn't turn on so had to call the front desk and after an hour of which the maintenance guy work on the kiva fireplace it finally lit however, I had called the front desk to get another room. They did upgrade us to a better room however, it was on the 1st floor by the stairs going up to 2nd floor and people came in late and banged their luggage up the stairs and pounded on the floor for another hour. It was far from ROMANTIC!!! I was very disappointed and wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: don't get 1st floor or near stairs - very noisy. Plus the "Traditional rooms" are old...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for providing me with your comments and for choosing us as your destination. While I understand your feeling regarding our historic rooms, they continue to offer the southwestern feel which is appreciated by a great number of guests wishing this type of environment. I am glad we were able to move you to our newer section of the hotel and that you were happy with these accomodations. Our hotel has no elevators as it is only has two story structures and unfortunatly not all guests take care in going up stairs in a quite manner. I am sorry that you did not recognize the breakfast coupon pricing and that it is simply a discount which is included in the package your purchased. I apologize that you were not clear on the type of accomodations you purchased and I am happy we were able to put you in our accomodations which met your expectations. I hope you will provide us with another chance to show you why the Lodge on the Desert is highly rated on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in a traditional king room. Room was very dark (terrible lighting and in a fairly busy area on the ground floor, so couldn't have the blinds open) and smelled musty. The closets smelled very musty, to the point where I didn't want to put my clothes in there. The bathroom wall had a huge crack in it. All the bath towels were frayed. The fireplace faces a corner of the room, not the bed, so that wasn't nice, either. The grounds are beautiful, but the room itself was dingy. I was really disappointed and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and I apologize that you found the historic accomodations not to your expectations. Our historic rooms are unique and not typical of todays or our newer sections type of rooms. Your discription of it being "musty" was due to it not having been used for a couple of weeks and your stay was during a sold out period. I can assure you that we do not experience guest comments about this and that these rooms are exactly how guests expect them to be given their historic nature. I would guarantee that if your had stayed in our deluxe and newer section your experience would be more to your normal experiences. The fireplace was built during the period of construction of this room. When it was converted to a newer guest room the furniture was placed where it was convenient for guest use and could not be moved. It was decided not to eliminate it an leave it where it was originally placed so guests could enjoy having a fireplace in their room. Thank you again for your comments and I hope we can bring you back to the Lodge to enjoy our newer accomodations which would appear to be more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge just prior to Xmas. The room was terrific. The local temperature was cold enough in December that we actually used the gas fireplace in the room. Super comfortable king bed, good-sized bathroom with dual sinks. Great flat screen TV. The room was spacious, and very tastefully appointed.

The swimming pool area is small, but terrific, we enjoyed a couple of sunny afternoons by it - they have great furniture in the area. There is a small whirlpool tub. The grounds are nice, pleasant desert landscaping, but compact.

We went to the small bar on property for happy hour a twice. The servers in the bar were friendly, but a little slow (could just be the laid back southern AZ way of functioning). The happy hour food was very tasty and fairly priced, they served as a meal for us.

The front desk staff was very polite, and they were responsive to the two small maintenance items needed in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrbanManUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our room was lovely with a view of the Santa Catalina Mountains, even though we were on the ground floor. The swimming pool, library, restaurant and grounds were gorgeous. The staff were courteous and efficient. We will recommend this beautiful oasis to friends who travel to Tucson.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
701 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $116 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing