We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel with a great restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel with a great restaurant!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Comfortable, upscale hotel with a nice southwest feel to it. The grounds, pool area and landscaping were enjoyable. The restaurant was very good and I would recommend it, even if you aren't staying there. I have a separate review on that.

Some other pros:
- Rooms are spacious
- Feeling of a smaller resort
- Central to many attractions and other restaurants
- Great "white noise" from fan (A/C unit) if you like that
- Friendly, helpful staff
- Super flushing power on the toilet! (it was fairly loud)

Cons:
- Plumbing from adjacent rooms was particularly loud
- Pillows are fairly thick, so won't appeal to everyone
- Bed had a comforter but no sheets for some reason

Room Tip: Avoid the "traditional" rooms at all costs. These rooms are nowhere near the same caliber...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sttdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    265
    85
    48
    20
See reviews for
245
399
55
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A well appointed but reasonably priced hotel that feels like Tucson should feel. Great atmosphere both inside and outside the rooms. Love having dinner in the bar. Enjoy getting up early and reading the paper on the balcony. Some rooms are better than others but I have enjoyed every stay. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with a balcony/ outdoor sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

After driving through Tucson to get here, I started to worry that I made the wrong choice, but I didn't !!!! What a quaint and lovely place. Great pool and the rooms are very nice. There are not a lot of restaurants close but they are within driving distance.

Room Tip: Stayed in a king deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We found this on the internet with a special rate and looked at the reviews and were not disappointed. We had a new room which was large, had a fireplace and a nice large bath and walk-in shower. We could have used another chair in the room as it was cold when we were there and 2 chairs to read by the fire would have been nice. Front desk people were very helpful and professional. The grounds are beautiful and rooms spread out so it took away the typical hotel feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramsof10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodrich, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for several days in Feb.'13 at the Lodge while we were visiting the Tuscon area. We found the hotel on the Internet and then read reviews on Trip Advisor.

We found the Lodge to be a lovely quiet place. We stayed in the larger contemporary area. The room was quite large. One drawback was the lack of seating in the room. There was only one chair which seemed odd since the room was quite large. The room itself could have used more lighting. Good lighting in the large bath.

The room itself was clean and comfortable. The thick terry robes were a nice touch! Food and service at the restaurant was good but slightly overpriced. Unfortunately, there are no restaurants within easy walking distance ( 1/2 mile or less). The front desk attendant did recommend a great place for breakfast and he was right, there was quite a line the mornings we went there!

For the price, we thought it was a very good place and we would go there again.

Cookie

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CWB2896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Beautifully decorated, large, comfortable rooms. Was greatly impressed by the resort, a real treat for the money. Loved that the pool and hot tub were open 24 hrs. Was one of the highlights of my stay in Tucson. Didn't eat at the restaurant because it looked expensive but menu looked interesting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alfie2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Pulling up to the hotel it looks great and everything was clean. Here are my issues. Shower head was terrible. Windows did not open. No gym or fitness room at hotel. Room was aging. Now all would not be so bad if it wasn't so expensive and people on Tripadvisor weren't talking it up so much.
If you want a clean hotel in Tucson and want to stay in valley and aren't looking for too much hotel would work, but not for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I can only apologize for the inferior shower head. No excuses, simply an oversight on our housekeeping staff on a part which required replacement. Our windows on our historic portion of the hotel indeed do not open. Being first floor we decided to secure them until such time as a complete replacement is possible but it was a secuity issue for our guests. With the quality of the heating and a/c it has not been a recuring issue. We are in the process of building a fitness center and have an agreement with the University of Arizona for our guests to utilize their facility until it is completed. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
6.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing