We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peaceful Retreat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge on the Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #26 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Bemidji
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Lodge last February and were very disappointed with the condition of our room. When I made the reservation, ( I am a history buff) I had seen a photo of an historic room that looked wonderful, so asked for that type of room. When we arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly desk person who was efficient about checkin. But when we got to our room, it wasn't "historic", it was just old and tired. Our bathroom was a disaster--Cracked sink, also stopped up, broken and cracked tile on walls and floor. When we complained, they were full and couldn't change our room, so I asked that we get a price reduction, because it was way overpriced for the shape it was in. The manager was very pleasant, acknowledging that all of their rooms had not been remodeled yet and that he would think about giving us a price break. Bottom line was that he did not give us a break on price. On the positive side, the grounds are beautiful, the facility is quiet and peaceful and any staff we came in contact with, were extremely helpful and friendly. This facility was convenient to everything we wanted to do in Tucson. We had several meals in the restaurant, where the food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. The restaurant staff gave us superb service and remembered us each time we were there. What a shame that we came away from that experience with a sour taste because the manager did not care about his part in customer service. I would recommend the Lodge to others as long as they ask for the deluxe rooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a remodeled room or a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    229
    73
    45
    17
See reviews for
223
362
51
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Well located for our Arizona tour (easy day trip to Tombstone), comfortable room, decent swimming pool, and definitely not a corporate chain. And when we used the restaurant on our wedding anniversary, they'd remembered. We'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The opportunity to go green and save money at this hotel is wonderful. We upgraded our room for $5 per night to a larger room, a fireplace, and a huge tiled bathroom with whirlpool tub and shower. In exchange for a lower price, we made our own bed! The restaurant has a wonderful chef and happy hour is half price for food! Drinks are discounted at well. Eating by the outdoor fireplace is delightful. This hotel has an interesting history and is lovely. The staff are friendly and helpful. If I ever return to Tucson this is where I will stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the $5 per night upgrade!!! You will be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneS271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a pleasant experience at this boutique hotel. Unique pluses include a library, a 24hr access pool and jacuzzi, an outdoor fireplace poolside, access to the U of A fitness facility. Fantastic grounds, very friendly staff, wonderful restaurant, romantic pool/jacuzzi (open 24hrs!!!!!), fireplace in room (awesome), and all around fabulous stay!

Room Tip: Stayed in a king deluxe...would totally recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. No kids running around screaming. Plenty of relaxing pool time. Beautiful view from the room. Extremely clean and beautiful. It's like it's own little city all tucked away and yet Conveinenty located. GREAT value for the money. If I return to Tuscon, I will stay here again. Very friendly staff too.......

Room Tip: Choose a view room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Such a lovely, Southwest experience in the heart of Tucson. We enjoyed patio dining with excellent menu items and delicious choices for a special luncheon. Our meal was especially good, and beautifully presented. Will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank azbluskyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
268 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Lodge on the Desert, is a very nice place to stay, albeit a bit pricy. The walled compound removes the street noise and creates a feeling of quiet and safety. The location is convenient to downtown, the National Parks and most of the sightseeing in the area.

If you are planning on staying five nights as we were, you will be disappointed in the restaurant, because they do not change the menu. Since the menu is limited, this is a problem. There is a good restaurant 100 yards away for dinner, which is great.

It was also annoying to have to call the desk for any information about the hotels services, opening time for the restaurant, ice location, etc. I had to call the desk numerous times for the information most hotels put on a single sheet of paper. That was annoying.

All in all; however, it was a very good experience, and I'd recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back corner with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohiomitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
6.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing