We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Desert Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. No kids running around screaming. Plenty of relaxing pool time. Beautiful view from the room. Extremely clean and beautiful. It's like it's own little city all tucked away and yet Conveinenty located. GREAT value for the money. If I return to Tuscon, I will stay here again. Very friendly staff too.......

Room Tip: Choose a view room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Such a lovely, Southwest experience in the heart of Tucson. We enjoyed patio dining with excellent menu items and delicious choices for a special luncheon. Our meal was especially good, and beautifully presented. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank azbluskyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Lodge on the Desert, is a very nice place to stay, albeit a bit pricy. The walled compound removes the street noise and creates a feeling of quiet and safety. The location is convenient to downtown, the National Parks and most of the sightseeing in the area.

If you are planning on staying five nights as we were, you will be disappointed in the restaurant, because they do not change the menu. Since the menu is limited, this is a problem. There is a good restaurant 100 yards away for dinner, which is great.

It was also annoying to have to call the desk for any information about the hotels services, opening time for the restaurant, ice location, etc. I had to call the desk numerous times for the information most hotels put on a single sheet of paper. That was annoying.

All in all; however, it was a very good experience, and I'd recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back corner with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohiomitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel certainly talks itself up online, but once the reservations are made, that's the end of the communications. The check-in was practically wordless -- the desk clerk put an x on the map to show up where our room was, and that was it. There was absolutely no literature about the hotel in the room and no information on check-in and check-out times, what facilities were available and where they were located, restaurant hours -- nothing.

When we went back into the lobby to get directions to a local attraction, the desk clerk -- who had checked us in less than 15 minutes earlier -- looked at us blankly and said "Name?" as though we were brand-new guests checking in.

The grounds are beautiful and our room in the historic section of the hotel had plenty of character, although we could have done without the hole in the wall, the non-functioning television and air conditioner/heater/fan and the slow running drain in the tub.

When we went to check out, we dealt with a different desk clerk, but the level of apathy about customer care was pretty much the same. She said "Hello" without looking up from her computer and then made us stand there for several minutes while she finished up whatever she was doing.

I have been a guest in European hotels that were not as visually impressive as this one, but without fail, they were gracious and hospitable.

I am at a total loss as to why this hotel has received service awards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We learned about the Lodge on the Desert at The University of Arizona orientation. We have stayed with the Lodge on the Desert twice since. Once for moving our children in and once for Family Weekend. On both occasions, the grounds were perfectly groomed and the room was beautifully kept. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We will definitely stay with them again!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the newer side of the property because they have wi-fi available. The rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had gotten the brochure at college orientation and I had spoken to the representative. The next day I called to make our reservation. We booked a deluxe 1 bedroom suite for a very resonable rate. We headed to Tucson for parents weekend at U of A. Upon arrival, the lodge looked very nice the service was accurate and check in went quick. We were extremely happy with our room. The room was spacious and very comfortable. There were plenty of outlets for chargers, a coffee maker, a TV in the bedroom and living area AND the bed was very comfortable. We would stay at the lodge again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very helpful staff. Well groomed grounds with numerous cactus species. If you enjoy quiet and relaxing - this is the place. Our room was comfortable and very warm and inviting. The price was reasonable and I will definitely book again when I come visit my son at U of A...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRWDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.3 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
745 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#23 of 129 in Tucson
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $132 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing