We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Tucson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I've stayed at the Lodge 4-5 times now and it will always be my choice in Tucson. The location is central with easy access to the University, downtown, and the airport. As Finediner17 noted, the rooms are large, in several arrangements, but I especially like the older rooms with fireplaces, seating areas, desks, really comfortable beds & beautiful linens, and large, modern bathrooms. (The whole property has been recently remodeled.) The pool is lovely. I was just there last week (8/22-24) and enjoyed the quiet garden spaces and walks between the rooms and the restaurant. The restaurant is very good, and I like sitting on the shady patio for a drink or a meal. There's a happy hour 4-6. The staff are helpful and friendly. Tiny peeve -- there's no 'guide' to hotel services etc. in the room and hasn't been for the 3 year period I've stayed there - I've mentioned it to the manager before and been told 'it's coming' but so far, it's not there.

Room Tip: I prefer the older (but recently remodeled) rooms at the back of the Lodge -- just really charming a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeInMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 986 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

I love this little place. Join the Stash Rewards program for stay points. I am always treated very well here. The lodge has old rooms and newer rooms. The old rooms are circa 1940's and have a quaint feel. They are old and you have to want that atmoshpere to enjoy them. After a stay in the old rooms I now always get the new rooms. They are fabulous, especially the deluxe with the spa bathroom. Comfortable and luxurious. Centrally located close to downtown and UofA.
I travel to Tucson 5 or 6 times a year and now choose this place over the larger luxury hotels. If you have kids its not the best choice.

Room Tip: The old rooms are circa 1940's lodge and have a quaint feel. They are old and you have to want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdorrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This small hotel can be easily overlooked as it is in an unusual location. The "room" was actually the size of a guest house and was done in traditional Old Tucson decor--tile floors, stucco/adobe walls, etc. It had a fireplace, sitting area, desk area, large dressing-room central area and shutters. The neat thing was built-in bookcases filled with current books by popular authors! The food was delicious and the pool was lovely. Grounds were pretty and well-kept. Drawbacks were slightly musty smell in room (but it is old and had books) and very, very weak AC.( If not for AC, this would have been a five star.) It is pet friendly and I would definitely consider another stay when there is cooler weather.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finediner17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A beautiful, welcoming place to stay! Staff was so friendly and the landscaping was absolutely beautiful! The room were so clean and the views of the mountains great! We didn't have an opportunity to try the restaurant but have every intention on making the Lodge the only place we stay in Tucson. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slp4az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Lodge during a recent weekend trip to Tucson. We found the place on line (thanks Tripadvisor!) and were not disappointed. The room was very nice, spacious, and had the typical small fridge, coffee pot, etc. The room had a corner fireplace and the beds were actually quite comfortable. Next time I will bring my own pillow however and request a balcony room away from the pool area. Our room faced another building so we didn't get to enjoy the wonderful views that others posted about and the party at the pool at 2:30 in the morning wasn't too entertaining. The grounds were nice and the landscaping is beautiful. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did stop by the bar for a drink. Everyone else in the bar was having dinner so we didn't stay. Overall it was a great place and I would definately stay again. The location is central to most everything in Tucson and the staff was wonderful. Rooms of this quality in the area will cost double or more what we paid. Excellent value!

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem ask for a first level room - rooms on the north side have a beautiful view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZRoadHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I first stayed here on a business trip more than 30 years ago and loved it. In recent years, the property has lost its lush green space to new units, but the new units are quite nice. They usually feature a fireplace and/or balcony/patio. The fireplaces in the new units are electric/gas - just flip a switch and it's lit! They have large, updated bathrooms. Check the closet for the cozy and comfortable robes. My only complaint with the rooms is the poor lighting. Needs to be brighter -not adequate for makeup/hair.

The staff is welcoming and pleasant to deal with. Within minutes of checking out, I realized that I had not been given the advertised discount. I called the front desk and was told that they had already caught the error, corrected it and had emailed me to let me know. When I got home and checked my email, they had indeed emailed me before I made the call.

The beds are very comfortable (whether an older unit or new). The restaurant has consistently provided excellent meals. I agree with a previous writer that if the price was equal, I would choose the Arizona Inn which seems a little more upscale. If not, the Lodge on the Desert is a quiet, peaceful, pleasant place to stay.I prefer the older rooms tucked away along the paths - nostalgia and character. The property has an excellent location, quite close to the University of Arizona.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edamamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here three nights and except for housekeeping it was an excellent experience. The staff is truly welcoming and they deserve five stars! The room was in a one-story building, which was accessed through paths that weaved through pretty and peaceful gardens. Given the fact that I stayed during back-to campus week, the Lodge was surprisingly quiet. The king bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was small (the older section of the Lodge) but quite serviceable. The only negatives were about housekeeping issues. For example, the loudest late-night noise actually came from the housekeeping staff outside the buildings! Little things became increasingly disappointing: empty kleenex box, forgotten coffee (which was excellent the previous night), forgotten shampoo, piles of dirty linen on the porch chair. I did call the front desk, and someone immediately brought over kleenex - but having to get up at 5:30 the next morning the coffee would have been nice! I was told the Lodge usually has room service available (a nice feature after a long work day), but there were no menus, no one answered the phone at the restaurant...so I was able to access numerous restaurants and Trader Joe's not too far away!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimnCaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
5.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
7.6 mi away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#12 of 129 in Tucson
777 reviews
7.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $142 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing