We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lodge on the Desert
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great hotel and service”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the lodge on the desert at the end of our two week trip to las Vegas and Arizona. We now wish we had left more time for Tucson and the lodge on the desert. From the moment we walked into reception the staff could not have been more helpful. We were presented with a little map and told how to drive around close to our room and 15 minutes after arriving the front desk called to ask if everything was Ok with the room and if we were happy. The pool area is small but quiet and peaceful and the margarita's from the bar are excellent. We ate one night in the hotel restaurant and the NY strip steak I had was one of the best steak's i have eaten in a long time. One note of caution the wine was not the greatest quality and was a little overpriced.
The staff at the front desk were really helpful with trip suggestions, maps and directions. They even provided us with money off coupons for our entrance to the arizona desert museum which was well worth the trip.
Overall a great little hotel in Tucson.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    266
    86
    48
    20
See reviews for
248
404
55
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Service was great! Grounds were well-maintained. I stayed in a large room with a kind-sized bed. Liked that the room had a refrigerator and safe. I could not get the ceiling fan to work, so I left the maid a note. She wrote back with detailed instructions! Still, the ceiling fan pull was too high for me to reach, even when I stood on a chair! Comfortable and peaceful, I will definitely return!

Room Tip: I took advantage of the AAA deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbachenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Where to begin...

My now wife and I were just married at The Lodge. 100 friends and family stayed with us for 4-5 days as we vacationed and relaxed in Tucson. I cannot say enough great things about the Lodge and more importantly, the people who helped make our wedding celebration the best week of our lives.

For starters, the setting is gorgeous. The Lodge has the historic charm that us East Coasters wanted to see. Between the cactus garden, the beautiful pool, the palms or the unique architectural designs hidden throughout the hotel, The Lodge offered a setting so unique, so unlike any other hotel.

We knew that Lodge was the perfect setting, but they had to work with us to make the actual wedding just right. Yola Yarwood worked with us and was tremendous. She offered any assistance possible, she went above and beyond to cater to our many guests requests, and she did it all happily. She was invaluable in making the week perfect. Chef Ryan Clark made incredible meals for us and created a wonderful menu for the wedding. He even offered to make the cupcakes that we served. Try the lemon with raspberry filling! (actually try them all, they are that good). Carlos worked wonders with our coordinator to help decorate, set up the lawn, and generally transform the Lodge into our Mexican Wedding.

As for non-wedding thoughts...the rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. You can choose between a historic room in the historic southwestern motif or a modern room, you can't go wrong either way. The pool is refreshing, especially in the Arizona heat. The outdoor bar/patio is lovely with the outdoor fireplace and the surrounding fountains to offer ambience. Jerry, the bartender, worked tirelessly to satisfy our large group.

Probably the best thing about The Lodge was that everybody from the director of the Lodge to the waitresses, everybody was genuinely excited for us and went out of their way to make our week spectacular. I think they were honored to host our wedding and created the perfect memory. The Lodge offered something no other hotel could offer, and that was a sincerity to become part of our family, and took it upon themselves to make our wedding what it was. Perfect, no other place can offer that. Thank you Yola, Chef Ryan, Carlos, Jerry, and everybody at the Lodge!!!

Room Tip: New to the area? Ask for an historic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseymcc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

After staying at this hotel for a few days you instantly begin to feel at home. The staff is wonderful including Jorge at the front desk and Trista and Carlo in the dining room. The rooms were interesting. We had a historical room that was nothing short of historical. It just wasn't our taste and Jorge at the front desk quickly changed our room for a newer upgrade at no extra charge! The dining room patio is gorgeous. They seemed extremely busy when we were there but everything was handled with professionalism and hospitality. The food was wonderful and I wish we would have eaten there a few more nights. Instead we opted to try a Mexican restaurant that was close by. Don't do it! The pool is excellent but seemed a little over crowded and the Server that tended to us seemed a little rude. When we asked him for some drinks he told us 'he was busy and he'd be back in a bit.' But really, that was the only negative to take away from this place. Check it out!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Although it was the coldest night in Tucson since 1858 there still should have been heat in our suite. We were asked to go out to dinner and see if it warmed up. (it didn't). After packing the car the staff "found " another room available. Only compensation was a breakfat coupn for the next day which when we tried to use was not honored because they were too busy. Breakfaast would take 75 minutes. Poor servie recovery and lack of caring were quite disappointing. Went to Tubac Golf and Country club next 3 nights - Absolutely wonderful there.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gopher-Vol_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2011

The "new" section of the hotel is the absolute best. Big rooms, big bathrooms, air conditioning and ceiling fans. The staff will make it right for you. The resturant food is terrific.

Room Tip: New part unless you want old world charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniekaren69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This is a truly magical place. Our room was spacious, clean and modern, but still had the ambience and decor of the southwest. The pool, hot tub and patio area were wonderful. I am still not sure how they get the pool water so silky! None of that icky chlorine smell. Service was outstanding and we felt welcome. We loved our first visit to Tucson and the Lodge on the Desert definitely contributed to that. It seemed almost that we were tucked away in a resort catering to us. We definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdn_traveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
6.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Desert

Property: Lodge on the Desert
Address: 306 N Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-2855
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#9 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#14 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge on the Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge on the Desert is a Tucson classic and guests experience the authenticity of the Old Pueblo blended with the modern southwest charm that has evolved throughout the Lodge's storied 80 years. This 100-room boutique hotel is situated on five acres in mid-town Tucson, AZ and appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Plus with event spaces for up to 175 guests, Lodge on the Desert is popular for small to mid-size meetings and intimate social gatherings. An Arizona landmark and Tucson tradition renowned for its intimate residential setting and genial hospitality, here guests discover pathways meandering among regal palms, native cacti and manicured lawns wrapped in ribbons of seasonal flowers. Charming hacienda-style accommodations afford guests a sanctuary in which to retreat and relax. It is truly Tucson's urban oasis. And considered by many to be the Old Pueblo's mid-town masterpiece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge on the Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge On The Desert Hotel Tucson
Hotel On The Desert
On The Desert Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing