We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort-style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Booked blindly the night before via Hotwire at a great rate, and very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It is a large, lovely, sprawling resort-style hotel located in the Oro Valley area in north Tucson. Multiple buildings face a common area with pool, small water slide, hot tub and cold pool, and nice common areas; some rooms (including ours) face outwards to beautiful mountain views. Very relaxing, scenic hotel with friendly competent staff and good dining options on site; room large and comfortable. Only downside, if you are doing lots of trips into the city centre, is that it is located fairly far north from downtown as the city is quite a sprawl for its size.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Even though it is Arizona’s second largest city, Tucson still retains its friendly, typically Arizonan, southwestern charm. With breathtaking natural landscapes, year-round sunshine the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador is the perfect Resort.

For those guests who wish to explore Tucson and all it has to offer we recommend a rental car. If you just want a relaxing vacation enjoying one of our many pools including a 143’ water slide pool, hiking , golfing (with 45 holes of golf), and tennis (31 lighted tennis courts) -- the Hilton El Conquistador golf & Tennis Resort is truly a perfect choice for you.

Thank you for your comments, We am happy you enjoyed your stay & we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Best,

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,853 - 1,859 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

My boyfriend stayed here for a week for a conference and I joined him at the latter part of his trip.

Our stay was okay - room was fine (big), cleaning was okay (could have been better), beds were comfortable (best part of the room), pool was nice and service was about average. Our room was located in one of the cabins overlooking northern Tuscon.

Extras really got us - expensive internet both in room an in the business centre, a $75 phone bill for a 10 min call to Canada, and generally fees for items that should be included in a resort. At least parking was free.

Overall, it was a beautiful spot and a nice hotel but the extras were too expensive and there was just something missing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We hold our service expectations high and will review your comments with the respective departments. If you would like, you can send us the details of your experience to help us touch upon the specifics. Please feel free to contact me at: lori.bunker@hilton.com.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

The service was extremely slow. The price was high . The pool was closed. The maids were talking loudly in their native language (which was probably a good thing)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlicious021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHTucson, Director of Operations at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. Our pool does close after 5pm or if the weather posses a treat to our guest safety. I am sorry if this caused any inconvenience for this was not our intention. We do value our diverse team at our property. We will certainly review our expectations that with around guests, to be sure our focus remains centered on them. Thanks again for taking the time to share your concerns for we will continue to make each guest stay a memorable one.
Michael A. Hammer
Director of Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Overall my wife and I were happy w/our stay, however we had a few issues that were annoying, the main one being that the card key we were given at check-in didn't work, I know, not a big deal, however it was raining and I had to go back to the front desk (in the rain) several times to have it corrected. Room was comfortable, had a nice big flat screen TV, outside access via patio, very handy w/our pet. The restaurant was OK, had a late supper and a breakfast, a little over priced for the value, but lots of other restaurant choices close by. Didn't get a chance to use the pool facilities but they looked fabulous. Staff was courteous and helpful when needed. We stayed Dec 29-Jan1/11.
My main annoyance is their internet service, we travelled over 8000 kms, staying at numerous chain hotels/motels over eight different states, every other accomodation that we stayed at offered free internet, at this Hilton they charge $9.99+taxes per night. I find that unacceptable nowadays, yes they have a business area, but at a place of this size it's always busy or a line up to use it and there's only one which means you have quite distance to go to it, not very convenient when needed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammytheEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Tucson. Our Resort Value Pack program includes internet access, valet parking, as well as other amenities for a nominal daily fee. The Resort Value Pack is a great savings if you plan on using the internet in your guest room and the fitness center during your stay. We also offer complimentary WI-FI access in the lobby and restaurants.

We hope that your travels will return you to Tucson and the Hilton El Conquistador.

Kindly,
Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

On check-in they did not seem to have a record of my reservation but got me keys without too much fuss. I am a Hilton Honors Diamond member and was expecting an upgraded room but my room in building 5 with a view of the parking lot did not seem to be in that category. It must have been my use of the AAA rate? My continental breakfast coupons were delivered later to my room.

The room itself was very large and comfortable with a nice king bed and flat screen tv and a cable package with some hd channels. Our room was one with a connecting door and one night we had neihbors with a loud child....

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Plenty of staff out there keeping things tidy. The concierge was very helpful in directing us to hiking trails behind the hotel. Well worth the effort for the view.

We had continental breakfast coupons which used to upgrade to la carte items from the breakfast menu. I am not a buffet fan. The breakfast burrito was a big hit. It would take a smaller eater through 2 meals. For dinner the Los Lobos restaurant was not too impressive. Food was nothing special and the portions small. For the same type of food a better bet is one of the El Charro locations. There is one not too far away down Oracle.

The fitness facility is free for hilton honours members but $10 for others. It is well equipped and well maintained with new Precor equipment. Very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnotherOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Dear Ontarioguy~

We hope you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade from a standard guest room to one of our junior suites. All of our Diamond Hhonors members are awarded upgrades based on availability. We are happy that you enjoyed your spacious guestroom and the beautiful grounds of the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador.

We are happy to announce that, based on customer feedback; our well-equipped fitness center is complimentary for all guests.

Should your travels return you to the Hilton El Conquistador, please contact me and I will be happy to assist you with your reservations.

All the best,

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Lovely place.....room is beautiful and quiet.....bed was very comfortable...the only problem with the place was that the food in the Mexican restaurant was not good. Three people in our party ordered tortilla soup and all of the did NOT like it....My salad was fine though :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2011

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, and the Hilton Serenity Bed. Our culinary team is very involved with creating an exceptional dining experience for our guests. I will be sure to share your feedback with them about the tortilla soup.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton El Conquistador.

Sincerely,

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

When we arrived with our boys at the hotel it went well right from the start. Friendly doorman, happy receptionist and ok rooms. I asked for the bed in the living room to be made up for my son which was done promptly, towels and bath amenities added. Breakfast buffet was acceptable, service (with the exception of the hostess on both mornings) was excellent and personal, the waiter taking great care of the boys and even going out of his way to Starbucks to accommodate their desire for hot chocolate. Overall a very good HILTON experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

The Hilton El Conquistador is a Tucson Family Friendly Resort, and I am pleased to hear that your family had a great experience. It is our team's goal to send you home with warm memories of your visit to Tucson and the Hilton El Conquistador.

Another great time to visit our property is over the summer holiday weekends beginning with Memorial Day, as we have great family fun activities planned. Hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#17 of 129 in Tucson
1,032 reviews
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
5.9 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort

Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $154 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing