We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I was so pleased after seeing the location of some of the other hotels I had considered before booking. My only disappointment was not being able to play on the courts because the USTA was having their national championships. We lugged our racquettes shoes and court wear for nothing. We tried a night game but it was FREEEEEZING!!!

tip of the day: Pool/slide closes at 5pm so plan accordingly.

We opted for the breakfast deal so we don't have to rush around and FIND a breakfast place when visiting and only found out after our 3rd day (and all the vouchers spent) that there is a children's menu and child buffet price. We didn't notice because the first time they billed us full price for all and didn't catch it the second day as we were running out the door for our trail ride (highly recommend Houston's !!) Ooops - wish someone had told us that!

Also, I wanted a mountain view room - I was afraid the pool might get noisy but no worries they are quite a distance from the pool area and it is quiet (because they close early). We ended up with a view on the neighborhood development. Not great but it was a short visit.

We were so charmed by Tucson that it didn't seem to matter.

Definately recommend the El charro Cafe suprema!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caraibespourmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you found our courts busy due to the USTA championships.

The desert in the winter months can be quite chilly in the evenings, which is one of the reasons our slide pool closes at 5pm.

I apologize that you were not advised of our children’s menu, and I will forward your review to our Director of Restaurants.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton El Conquistador.

Best regards,

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,000)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,730 - 1,736 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

Recently spent 4 nights at El Conquistador as part of a convention. Hotel rooms were clean and nice. We had a twin room with iron and board, hairdryer, TV, fridge (filled with chargeable items), coffee machine. Water left in the rooms for us was charged at high rate if we used it so we bought our own. Furnishings and fittings were not new but they were absolutely fine. We had access to free internet in lobby but had to pay for it in our rooms. We found that the noise of the room above us opening and closing their wardrobe door was really grating - need sound proofing between floors or to make sure they oil the runners on the cupboard doors.
Pool area was fun but all the various gates irritating - open plan between the various pool areas would have been more relaxing. Absolutely hated the plastic plates, glasses and cutlery at the pool - felt so tacky. If safety is the reason they should use better quality items although I've been to plenty hotels where they've not felt plasticware was necessary near the pool.
Over all I liked the hotel and the ambience that came with it but the food was just not up to standard. It was like they were trying too hard to make regular dishes "local" and not getting the combinations quite right. Also it did not taste fresh and flavoursome. Too many processed sauces to add flavour. There is one restaurant - the more expensive one that was not open for lunch - that served some very good meals. I also had one adequate salad with shrimp for lunch at the other restaurant in the main building but the rest of meals I had there were disappointing. My recommendation to anyone staying there is to have a car and eat out during the day.
At the conference the breakfasts served were all egg based, presumably to cope with those who had gluten allergies, but one breakfast was truly awful - just very cold very hard boiled eggs! Tasteless.
Staff were generally friendly and helpful.
Loved the Starbucks coffees available from the lobby "bar".

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAfricanCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2010

Thank you for comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that your food and beverage did not meet your expectations. The use of plastic cutlery by the pool is quite simply for safety purposes; however we frequently evaluate the products we use and we will definitely look into our Desert Springs cutlery.

I am sorry that the gates that separate the slide pool, and the hot and cold springs from the main pool were an annoyance. The gates are a state mandated code that we are required to have in place.

The Hilton El Conquistador is known for its friendly service, I am happy that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

Should your travels return you to Tucson, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

My wife and I were in Tucson last month, visiting family, and this hotel was very highly recommended to us by Sacramento and L.A. friends. My wife's a golf fanatic so it was an easy choice, El Con has one of the most popular courses in Arizona. She rated it highly. It was expensive, for Tucson, and there weren't a lot of perks-- we got charged for just about every extra there was to get-- but the quality of the stay was great. The people there were friendly, knew their way around, and anticipated a lot of our questions and issues. Management, keep these people, they are excellent representatives for your hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2010

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff is meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

We are glad that you had a chance to enjoy golfing at the El Conquistador. The Resort offers 45 holes of championship golf on three exceptional, pristine courses.

Should your travels return you to Tucson - we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton El Conquistador.

Sincerely,
Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I attended a meeting at this resort last week and I was in close contact with many employees. I had a few "special" requests from in room dining that satisfied my needs/wants (excellent fruits!) The meeting manager and supervisor Chris and Dan were very personable and helpful as they handled the bulk of my requests . Terry at the bar was also very nice. The only part of this resort that I do not recommend is Dos Locos! Too pricey for extremely low quality food!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vannid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay.

I am glad that the meeting you attended was successful, and that our staff accommodated your special requests. The Hilton Tucson El Conquistador is fortunate to have a very talented events team. All of our Events Managers have won the prestigious Convention Services Manager of the Year award from the Association for Convention Operations Management and Successful Meetings Magazine.

In regards to your dining experience in Dos Locos we appreciate your insight, and I apologize that you were disappointed. Our menu pricing and offerings are frequently evaluated, and we have found that our restaurant pricing is competitive with other local establishments especially when you compare it with all of our resort offerings.

We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful Hilton Tucson El Conquistador.

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Opposite of other recent reviews, we loved our two night stay! Booking through one of the Hilton websites, we paid about 1/2 the regular rate. Beginning with Marta at check-in, extending to Jeff at the desk, and then the woman who was working in the gift shop (overpriced bags of rocks) - the service was fabulous! Our room (top floor corner) was nice for two adults, a six year old, and a dog. Parking was a cinch, a spot near to the gym was always available over our 48 hour stay, maybe we were lucky? As HHonors guests, we utilised the complimentary continental breakfast and internet - unremarkable food and slow connection speed made more bearable by the "free" price. Buying drinks and snacks during the posted "Happy Hour" also saved $$. My one complaint, poor water pressure, was easily mitigated by the great service, kid-friendly pool areas, and "spa-like" mountain views.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainelybbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to hear that our service was outstanding from the moment you arrived. As a pet friendly resort, we are happy that you chose to bring your dog for your quick get-away.

The “Happy Hour” selections are a great way to enjoy a sampling of our food and beverage specials in a casual setting. I am forwarding your comments regarding the internet speed, and the water pressure to the appropriate departments for further investigation.

Nestled in the Catalina foothills - it is hard to beat our beautiful mountain views! Thank you for being a loyal Hilton Hhonors member; we look forward to welcoming family back to our beautiful resort.

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

In 5 weeks around the USA this hotel is gonna be the worst memory of the whole holiday!
U think.. well its an Hilton, lets spoil a bit ourselves for a quiet wk in Tucson after so many days travelling visiting National Parks..
Well.. spoiling ourselves?? A dream!! The room was ok, honestly pretty big, the beds really confy, the bathroom a bit dated but... first the room was not properly clean!! Actually a disgusting stain of blood in the toilet was there when we walked in!
NO privacy at all.. we had to have always the curtains drawn as in front of our room there was a bloody path going to the swimming pool and some minigolf i think
THAT WAS AWFUL!!!
Then.. (and im not stingy at all) in 2010 at Hilton hotel do i have to pay 10 dollar at day to use have internet in-room???
COME ON ITS JUST RIDICULOUS!!!
Even motels in the middle of nowhere now offer FREE Wifi access to the guest

and on the top of it..... the refrigerator inroom was LOCKED!!! if u use it like minibar u can have the key ( and i dont even know how much it costs cause to me its out of my mind) otherwife NO FRIDGE available at Hilton hotel!!!!

At the moment actually im in another Hotel that has locked fridge but at least free wifi, i really think its really MEAN and DISGUSTING service at these days!!
On the top of the 2 awful days at Hilton, the park is pretty far from the rooms.. and when it fills up.. night time they just put a notice.. park full ( never something SORRY FULL PARKING u can go - and indicate - as alternative parking area!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squilibrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Thank you for posting about your stay at the Hilton El Conquistador. Our apologies for the challenges you had with parking and the mini-bar. We are able to deliver a mini-fridge to a guest room for a small fee for those guests who require the use of a refrigerator during their stay. We also offer complimentary WI-FI access in the lobby and restaurants, which is a great option for those guests who do not wish to pay for guest room internet. Please note that we will follow up with our housekeeping department in regards to your guest room.

We appreciate your comments and would welcome another opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations should your travels return you to Arizona and the Desert Southwest.

Sincerely,
Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The good news: Good location at the foot of the mountains and beautifully landscaped. The bad news: Internet costs $10 per day and it doesn't work very well. In our room, we cold not maintain a working connection on either of the two computers we had with us, a PC and a Mac. The hotel management couldn't solve the problem.
And the exercise room costs $10 a day.
If you don't like connecting doors, avoid the "casita" rooms. According to the front desk, they all have connecting doors.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. Located in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador’s setting is hard to beat!

I am sending your comments regarding the internet connection to our IT department so that they can further investigate the issues you experienced. Our Resort Value Pack program includes internet, fitness center access, valet parking, as well as other amenities for a nominal daily fee. The Resort Value Pack is a great savings if you plan on using the internet in your guest room and the fitness center during your stay. We also offer complimentary WI-FI access in the lobby and restaurants.

A Casita Suite is like being in your very own cottage. Decorated in a contemporary southwest-style, Casita Suites offer a private bedroom with king bed, and a separate living room with a fireplace and dining area. Casitas are located adjacent to the heart of the resort in a private location along with their own pool & spa area.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton El Conquistador should your travels return you to Tucson.

Lori Bunker
Executive Assistant
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
19.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
896 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $173 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing