We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally a good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Ranked #14 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2010

The other reviews are pretty accurate. The pools are nice, and kids will enjoy. Beyond that, there isn't much to offer unless you are a golfer or tennis player.

The hotel has a very small spa/sauna- really, really small and very basic.

The only issues I had was with the restaurant staff at breakfast- VERY lackadaisical service, and the cleaning in the hallways- the maid staff seemed to not keep on top of vacuuming the halls.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Promed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,817 - 1,823 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

Great location away from the city. Very elegant all around. Rooms are OK. The outdoor pools are the best attraction, they have a the big pool, and a kids pool with a slide. Very comfortable place. There is a fee for internet use, free parking, and an expenside restaurant. The property is huge wich makes it great for quiet walks. You are away from everything, so you'll need to drive for groceries, gas, restaurants etc. I would consider staying here again depending on rate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozziecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This is a resort hotel with many different amenities. The staff is friendly, caring and helpful. The condition of the property was excellent. The wi-fi worked well, although they did charge for it. They have places to eat during the day, but the hotel restaurant appeared not very busy on evenings. If you can get a reservation at a price that is reasonable for you, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizexecMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This hotel is beautiful. The service was excellent, we were treated impeccably. The Room Service staff was exceptionally friendly and met our needs with ease. The pool is a lot of fun. They have a separate slide pool which I couldn't pry my son off of, truth be told I didn't want to stop playing either. The service at the pool area was excellent. Sometimse when you are not right in the main pool area, servers may tend to forget about you, not here. Drinks were refilled without having to flag someone down, and the food was good. The lounge doesn't have entertainment, but is rather a place just to relax. If you venture outside of the resort for food and entertainment, depending on where you are heading you might have a good 20 minute drive, but it is on a main road so everything can be accessed easily.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickielw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The colorful buttes at sunset are the best time to lounge by the pool. However, the pool, like the rooms and lobby shows its age. Two six foot sections of concrete and tile at the water line had broken off.

In the rooms, the beds, armoir and TV are updated, but the carpet, side chairs and patio/balcony furniture shows its age and wear. The lobby was always too noisy to relax and talk with family. One night it was a piano with loud drum trap set playing. Go figure. Management says that room renovations were last done in 2003.

If you can get the $99 room rate as we did as part of a group, you might want to try this hotel, but be prepared for expensive prices on food, beverages and everything else. Beware of reservations. They were an absolute disaster and oblivious to the complaints of conflicting room rates, disconnected calls, and then lost when trying to reconfirm.

Plenty of newer mainstream non-resort properties in this area of Tucson if you just need a hotel for a few nights at a good rate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40yrsworldtvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

I hope that we can welcome you back so that you can enjoy our newly renovated guest rooms, and see the wonderful improvements that we have made.

Ghee Alexander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Over all this place is great, great view, quite, peaceful. But talk about the staff. OMG really where are they getting there training.

My family and I checked in Friday night, First we were told to wear pinkwrist bands at all times when going to the pool. but if you needed a new one you have to bring the old one. Ok we understood that part. We really did not want to walk all the way to the front desk everytime we lost our pink wrist bands, plus they are very uncomfortable to sleep with. they are made of paper and once you take them off they won't stick together again.

The next day my son and husband lost there pink wrist band, we went to the front desk, asked for pink wrist bands, One staff member stated next time bring the old one back, Second desk member asked to write my childs names and ages. What kind of resort or hotel is this. (I felt like if I was in prisoner).

Next ,at the pool you need to check in to get towels and make sure you return them when your done with your yellow slip. OMG really people all you want is to relax and enjoy your stay, but forget this, this is not cool. Next time I' ll try some where else. It's all about write you name here and there. They sould just save trees and stop wasting paper just to check out towels. Food by the pool very expensive and not good at all. Mcdonalds is better.

It's sad because this resort is very nice and it was nothing like this in the past.
Ooohhh...and mr. security guy that works at night big dude, thinks his all that......NOT....
Staff is not friendly at all would not recommand this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relax1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

I hope that we can welcome you back to enjoy all the wonderful improvements that we have made since your last stay.

Ghee Alexander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I booked a weekend here and chose the "Romance Package" with a mountain view room. We arrived on Firday afternoon and checked in. At check in the lady behind the front desk was less than friendly. More like a robot, but I just smiled and continued to the room. The "Romance Package" includes 50% dinner at the restraunt, 2 mornings of breakfast in bed and a bottle of wine in the room when you arrive.

We walked into the room. It was nice and clean, no wine and no mountain view. The view was a hillside full of homes. I called the front desk. They told me the wine would be delivered while we were at dinner and our room "was considered a room with mountain views". Okay?

We took off to dinner and had a fantastic meal. Not because the food was out of the world, but because the waiter did a excellent job. The food was good also, dont get me wrong. After dinner we headed back to the room and the wine was there so we just relaxed and went to bed. The beds are not comfortable. They are hard......

The next morning I called and ordered room service and when asked if I wanted sausage on one of the orders I told the lady that I would like Chorizo instead. She informed me that it was $2.00 extra.... Okay? That seems a little crazy when I am paying twice the normal rate for the package but I just blew it off...

Later that afternoon we went to the pool and were told that it was closed because of lightning and ordered by a punk security guard to leave. This was the final straw for me!

I returned to the room without a view and called the front desk. The person on the phone told me she was busy and would call me back. She called back and I asked for the manager. She told that someone would call. About 3 minutes later the front desk manager called me. I once again asked for a manager. Within 5 minutes the executive chef called me and introduced himself and told me that he would do whatever he could to fix our issues. He asked for some time to work on it and I agreed and asked him to call me back. He did call in about 15 minutes to tell me that he would switch our room and wanted us to be his guest for dinner. He then sent a bellman up with a new key for the other room. He also sent us a snack from room service while we switched rooms. The new room did in fact have a great view and we enjoyed our snack.

Our reservation was at 1930 and we had the same waiter. The service was amazing and food very good also. The chef stopped and visited us and the rest of our trip was nice.

The real problem I with our trip is that we spent almost $500 for a weekend in the slow season in Tucson and the treatment was way below average. The bed was hard and for the most part the employees of the hotel were not friendly. I will have a hard time making a return visit here and this trip will stick in my mind the next time I think of staying at any Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

I am sorry for your last experience, and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to deliver the hospitality that you should have initially enjoyed. Our rooms are renovated, and the views are still spectacular.

Ghee Alexander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,010 reviews
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
13 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort

Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $148 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing