We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed February 22, 2006

The mountain view was stunning, but that is where the positive comments end.Flat pillows, missing light bulbs that made the room seem dark and kind of dirty, loud air conditioning that woke us up all night long, every night, the beds seemed smaller than advertised, and the hot tub was out of order. Parking is at the back of the building and can be quite a distance from the hotel. There is a small hill that you must go down to get to your room, so seniors and people with disabilities may want to inquire about alternative entries. Our experience was just okay, but definetely NOT worth the money. This pricey hotel had a motel feel to it. When I contacted the Hilton, they avoided addressing my issues. Spend your money wisely someplace else.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for your review, I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy our newly updated property.

Ghee Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    637
    237
    104
    52
See reviews for
620
490
78
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, OH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2006

Location and service are truly outstanding. The casita, however, was a bit sorry at $279/night. The kitchen area that they show prominently on their website not only has no silverware, plates, or glasses, it doesn't even have a refrigerator- unless you want to spend an extra $20/night. The suite is very spacious, but in serious need of remodeling at this price range. I'd have been very pleased at $150, but traveling a lot, this doesn't come to the quality usually associated with the price tag well over $300 when taxes added in.

I agree with the prior reviewer who mentioned the annoyance of the $4 bottles of water in the room. The hotel also wants to charge you $10 a day to use the exercise room, $10 a day to use wireless internet... need I go on? The irony is that all these things are usually "free" (included) in hotels that charge 1/3 the rate. I'd go back if the rate was outstanding or if I had to (had a conference here this trip, no other decent hotels are close). If just visiting Tucson in general, though, look beyond this place until the reviews talk about the casitas being remodeled.

PS- a friend attending the same conference got a standard room, which was less expensive and had been recently renovated. Still all the painful surcharges, but this would be a possible option unless, like me, you've got kids and need the extra room.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank msmithmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our newly updated resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2006

We loved El Conquistador. My wife and I love to hike so the location was perfect, 1 mile from the National Park where there were many trails. The resort and the pool area are beautiful. Just make sure you know the room category and size of the room you requested. We didn't have any problems, but saw some of the other rooms, and they were smaller than ours.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junkrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 19, 2006

Stayed here once before in February of 2004. Hotel is nice and is sort of expensive as would be expected. The first time I stayed I was in a Casita at a rate of $179. I rebooked this year (2006) even though the rate had increased to $219. I made my reservation for February first, but the person I spoke with mistakenly made it for January first. They charged me as a no show at the $230 (tax included) rate for one night. When I called to rebook and have the charge removed, they refused to do so unless I would rebook the room at a rate of $319!!

In short, they refused to refund my money for THEIR reservation error, and then tried to extort me for $100 a night to get the refund that should have been anxiously offered with apologies in hopes of keeping my business. After much cajoling they "generously" offered to charge me only $279 a night...a $60 per night increase in order to receive my refund for their mistake. In the end they refused to honor the price I originally booked at or refund my money.

I had reservation problems in 2004 as well but they were suitably rectified. However, the fact that the front desk made similar errors on both occasions is ludicrous. If you're looking for a grossly overpriced hotel with poor customer service this is your place. If you expect to be treated as a valued customer for the several thousand dollars you'll spend on the lodging, I suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Resident Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2006
Being in the hospitality field, we always try to accommodate our guests and their requests – that is our business. Unfortunately, it appears that a communication lapse occurred in this particular instance. Would encourage any traveler that has a similar issue to contact the property direct in an effort to help resolve it; given the chance, many misunderstandings can be corrected at the property level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2006

We just returned from a 6-night stay at the El Conquistador. This resort is tucked into the Catalina Mountains with a spectacular view. I am normally a fan of Marriott Resorts and have not stayed at a Hilton for a while, but I must say that this was a well run, meticulously maintained resort. The staff was professional and courteous. The front desk staff went out of their way to put us into a nice, quiet room with a view of the mountains. We had a holiday dinner that was very good.

The only downside that I could mention was the breakfast that we had. The prices were very high and the buffet breakfast was not as good as at Marriott, which typically includes an omellet station, fresh Belgian waffles. The breakfast food was mediocre.

We were touring and we ate many of our meals at the many fine restaurants in the suburbs and in downtown Tucson. Don't miss El Charro restaurant, home of the Chimichanga!

Helpful?
4 Thank PG_Lancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2005

Stayed here this weekend as a little in town getaway for my boyfriend and I. Bed was comfy, very clean room albeit a little outdated for a resort setting. And at those prices per night for a suite, you'd think they could splurge on some bottled water that wasn't $4 each. Room service was well staffed, but the food was cold and rubbery. The catered dinner for the party that we intitially came for was very good. Went to restaurants off property for the rest of the stay.

Indulged in a massage at the wellness center, very nice and the therapist (Sharon) was very good.

All in all, it was an ok stay, I'm just used to a little more 'luxe' at the prices we paid.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThreadEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2016
Thank you for your review.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our newly updated resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2005

Very, very nice surroundings, nestled in the mountains...so relaxing. The lobby is beautiful. Nice pool area. I was disappointed in the bath tub. I thought it should have a garden tub for sure! Would definately stay there again. Delightful experience.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank justmewonderinginyuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
19.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 130 in Tucson
872 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing