We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort”
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Hilton El Conquistador Resort in Tucson for a week in July 2008 and met up with other members of our family who were also staying there. We loved the place so much that we will be returning with our children next year. The resort offers plenty of amenities for couples as well as families. We took advantage of the extensive pool area (includes a water slide and separate hot and cold jacuzzi areas) and the fitness center. The resort has extensive tennis courts, a golf course and horses. The conceirge helped me map out running trails. The location could not be better as you are off the beaten track but within minutes of great restaurants in the area. The food at the hotel was exceptional and the decor in the lounge made you feel like you were in your own living room! The beds were very comfortable. The only negative was that it felt like the walls were thin and on 2 separate nights we were woken up by yelling in the room next to ours. We could hear every word. I had to call the front desk to ask for help. However, if you had normal neighbors (who know how to behave in a hotel) you would not experience this problem.

Yes, we liked this resort and will return. The most amazing feature has to be the views of the mountains, which you are right beside. Breath taking!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Thin walls between rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank islandtrav07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    637
    237
    104
    52
See reviews for
620
490
78
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2008

I booked this hotel for my fiancee and I over Memorial Day holiday. We have stayed at a few Hilton hotels. Unfortunately, this one wasn't the best. The location is perfect. The drive up to the hotel is lovely. The hotel itself is a bit outdated. Once remodeled, this hotel will most certainly compete with the finest hotels in Tucson.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Ayleszona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencove1
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We stayed here because we had business in the area. The hotel/setting is extraordinarily beautiful, the staff very helpful, the rooms as plush as you could want. Ask for one with a mountain view. Fantastically comfortable beds and lots of down pillows, with duvets covered in white sheeting so you don't have to touch a blanket some other traveler has touched. Soft plush towels & lots of them. My room had a little outside seating area as well.

The downside: breakfast. Overpriced & not that good.

  • Liked — the world's most comfortable bed
  • Disliked — expensive not that great breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glencove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

The hotel has lovely grounds and is near a wonderful national (cactus) forest BUT it is better not to be too hungry there, because meal service was terrible....long waits for very expensive breakfasts and lunches were typical, as well as the usual ungracious Hilton touches (like charges for wireless). After a 40 minute wait just to be seated for breakfast, I was told that "everyone came at once." Duh....it was breakfast time. Room service worked better.

  • Liked — beauty of location
  • Disliked — restaurants and prices
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TobyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

The El Conquistador is a top-notch hotel with wonderful amenities, terrific rooms, and great scenery. It also offers restaurant food that is as good as any you will find.

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite -- a terrific option for our family of three. Lots of room, a mini-kitchen that provided all facilities you'd need for a quick breakfast or snack, terrific swimming pools, wonderful beds (even the pull-out sleeper was comfortable), an adequate work-out facility with a first-class locker room, and even a Starbucks in the lobby.

This hotel highlights one of the gaps in TripAdvisor reporting. All of the pre-renovation reviews are lumped in with the current reviews. Don't rely on those earlier comments. This is the place you'll want to stay in Tucson, as long as access to downtown isn't your priority. The hotel's in the foothills -- that's part of the magic of the place -- but don't assume that you're around the corner from the university, the business district, the baseball parks or the airport. They're all 30 minutes away. The extra few minutes are worth it, believe me!

  • Liked — Comfortable room that was slightly removed from resort scene but very accessible
  • Disliked — One waiter's service at breakfast, but it was luck of the draw and nothing major
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ATAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We wanted a nice relaxing, romantic long weekend away. We also planned the trip around seeing a spring training game, which was a lot of fun. The hotel itself is very beautiful. It is backed up against the mountains and is quite a big resort. We actually didn't do the tennis or the golf. We did go horseback riding. There is a riding stable right by the tennis courts and we had a wonderful ride. We also ate at the Mexican restaurant at the resort the first night, which was a lot better than I was expecting. We ate outside on the patio and there was a lovely view of the pools and the mountain and there were lots of cute birds hopping around. The food was good we both thought. I had tacos and my husband had a burrito.

The next day we had breakfast at the hotel and that was the only low point on the stay. There was either an expensive buffet or about 5 single dishes to choose from. I thought it was overpriced and we didn't go back. The next day we went to an Einstein bagel that was about 5 minutes up the road on the way to our sightseeing for the day.

The hotel is about a 20 minute drive to Tucson. I live in a city so I didn't want any part of a city! I wanted to be out among the cacti and be in a resort. The cacti are wonderful by the way! The saguro are so beautiful! That is the main reason we went to Tuscon, we wanted to see the cacti. Seeing the Saguro National Park was amazing! We also had a wonderful time at the Sonoran Desert Living Museum.

The room we had was big and spacious and overlooked the pool. It was on the third floor of the building near the spa area of the hotel. The jacuzzi was great here! The pools looked fun but we didn't actually go in.

All the hotel staff was very friendly and the little gift shop had some cute things in it.

We both really liked this hotel. We both would go back easily.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

I stayed one night with my sister-in-law before her wedding day. We had a great time at the Conquistador! The resort is located in a beautiful area in the Tucson Foothills. It is located near great restaurants if you want to eat off the property. The resort itself gave off a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere. The room was spacious, well lit, clean, and comfortable. The staff were very friendly too! The pool was nice and there was a fire pit in the evening. We didn't eat at the resort since we were so busy with wedding preparations, but the menus looked delicious. We didn't golf either, but the course looked well kept, green, and fun! The main issue that we encountered was noise/privacy. The walls must not be well insulated because we could hear the neighbors' conversations pretty easily, when they dropped off the morning newspaper (in the middle of the night) we could hear the paper drop next to the door and all the doors down the hall, and in the morning kids were running in the rock landscape next to our room and it was a bit disruptive (neither of us claim to be light sleepers). Overall it was a great way to spend time together and have fun the night before the wedding.

  • Liked — The scenery and overall atmosphere of resort.
  • Disliked — Walls are thin - heard everything outside of room.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hvtrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
19.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 130 in Tucson
872 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing