We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two rooms, two different worlds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #16 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was in 2 different rooms my stay. My first was on the poolside of the resort, very pretty view. Next room was facing the back if the resort. Parking lot! The mountain was beyond, and was pretty. Salt water pool was nice, but full of bugs!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momo6Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just returned home from spending Labor Day weekend at this hotel and already cannot wait to book our next stay. We booked the All Inclusive rate, which was a great deal - it includes the resort fee and all meals.

We weren't too sure what to expect of the food, but we were extremely impressed. Epazote was our favorite - we loved both meals we had there and the atmosphere was very nice (highly recommend the trout and the short ribs!) We had lunch at Sundance right before we checked out and loved the mac and cheese, vegetable soup (sounds plain, but is delicious) and the ahi tacos. We did the full buffet both days and loved the various options - they have a eggs/omelets cooked to order, along with many other hot options, steel cut oatmeal, fresh fruit, mini green smoothies...anything you could want for breakfast.

As far as the rooms go, we stayed in building 16 right off the Acacia (adult) Pool and loved it. The room itself was very quiet and the location was perfect. Even over the busy weekend, the pool wasn't crowded and it was very relaxing. The only downside is that they don't have service there, but it's just a short walk up the hill to get some food or drinks if you want. The one small complaint about the room was that the air conditioner was a bit loud and constantly turned off and on throughout the night to maintain the temperature. Other than that, it was very comfortable.

There was a lot of activities going on over the long weekend and it seemed that the kids were all really enjoying them, especially the dive in movies. They even had stargazing and s'mores that would have been fun, but we were enjoying our leisurely dinners in Epazote instead! We did try to do the morning yoga by the pool, but it turned out that the instructor was out of the country. I was a bit bummed at first since I was excited to do yoga outside, but the replacement took us all on a power walk that turned out to be a great start to the day and very scenic.

Be sure to check out the spa as well - I got a 25 minute Reflexology/25 minute massage combo with Karen and it was amazing. Part of the resort fee is 15% off in the spa and the prices are very reasonable.

All that being said, the best part about the stay was the service. Every single employee we encountered was very friendly and sincere, especially Mary at the Lobby Bar, Steven at Valet and Shannon at the Front Desk. They seemed to truly care about taking care of us and really went out of their way to show it. To me, that is the most important part of any stay and will be the reason we will return soon and recommend this resort to many others!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room near the Acacia Pool. It's a small hike up to the main pool/l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherh1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent 20 minuets driving around looking for a parking space at about 9:30 at night could not find one, so they ended up valet parking us for free, I normally like to park my own vehicle. Room could have been a little cleaner. There was a wild party going on next door into the wee hours, which is not the hotels fault. I could have called the front desk and complained, but it did not matter, the air conditioning unit kept us up all night anyway. Most hotels have a free exercise room and some kind of free breakfast, not here. They also charged us $20 for things that we would not use. I'm not normally a complainer, this is my first hotel review. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We regret to hear about your disappointment during your stay with us and we do extend our sincere apologies for the various challenges that you experienced. Our goal is to have each guest have an enjoyable stay, and we appreciate you taking your time to write a review, as well as sharing with us areas that may need improvements. We are continuously striving to provide the best service to our guests as well as making adjustments to enhance our overall guest experience. We hope you return and provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Lynn Ericksen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We love this hotel and will continue to book our stay there when we visit our daughter. The staff is friendly and we use valet service as my husband is in a wheelchair and we are able to book a handicap room which is very important to us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bettye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a wonderful resort hotel and golf and tennis addicts will be in heaven...but you need to be a committed Hilton Honors member to really get the best value.

I thought it was a complete rip off to charge $20 dollars a day for wifi and also basic tennis and golf facilities. In USA free wifi is so easily available that I baulked at paying this extortionate charge.

Apart from that everything was great, a lovely room but as a previous review says there is a lack of covered walkways if you are there in the 'rainy' season. All the staff were well trained...perhaps a little over trained as they were very formal for that area of the USA where everyone is so warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I only attended the convention here and didn't stay at the property. However, every staff member I encountered was absolutely excellent in customer service, even the back door! I want to really rave on the F&B staff, they were superb!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southernbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is great resort, but it's in the AZ Desert so there were snake and spider sightings. No covered walkways if it rains... which it did during our stay. Beds were comfy! Lovely granite in the vanity and bathroom areas. Nice size balcony. Nice mountains for views. Rooms were fairly spacious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay! Our Sonoran Desert is host to lots of wildlife and we believe this is what makes Tucson such a preserved, pristine destination. Nothing compares to waking to the sounds of Coyotes howling and enjoying one of our breathtaking sunsets as the desert turns to night. It’s great to read that you enjoyed our Hilton Bed and the views from your balcony. Next time you visit, I would recommend staying in building 4, as it is a short walk from the lobby under a covered walkway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,002 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
13.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $153 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing