We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Magnificent Sonoran Desert Resort Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #20 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magnificent Sonoran Desert Resort Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful one week vacation with my big sisters (sans hubbies) at this lovely resort. First of all, this resort is located in a magnificent location, with jaw dropping views from nearly every vantage point. The long drive way up to the resort creates a special expectation. My sisters and I were not disappointed. From the warm greeting of the on duty doorman (excellent doormen daily!) to the efficient and friendly check-in with the front desk clerk, we were made to feel welcome. At check-in we were addressed by our first names, which surprised me. We thought it could be because everyone we encountered in the Tucson area was so friendly and formality no longer seems to rule in our day and age.The grounds are beautifully landscaped and are meticulous in every design detail. The staff is one of the friendliest I have encountered in a resort of this type. They aim to please and are most accommodating. This speaks well of management from my perspective. I am a former hotel executive and I know what I am talking about. The food we dined on was excellent and well presented. For breakfast, I preferred ordering from the menu versus the buffet. My one sister sister preferred the buffet, as she is a Vegan. She thought it had many wonderful offerings. Marissa was the best of the wait staff. Lovely! Evening cocktails/wine on the patio of El Epazote was a special and repeated treat with excellent service by the waitstaff and bartender. The coffee bar in the lobby where you can order a "Starbucks" and a light breakfast was a nice touch. The Barista was amazing. The only negative from this visit was the guest room. Although spacious, with comfortable beds, and notable bathroom amenities - the room was tired looking and the carpet in need of a thorough shampooing/cleaning. We did like the fluffy bath sheets and bath robes in our rooms. Our room attendant(s) were very thorough and obliging. I realize this lovely resort is going through a financial re-organization and no doubt during the off season, the rooms will be refurbished up to the expected standards for a resort of this ilk. My one sister is a former flight attendant and she reserved our rooms under an airline special rate, so perhaps the rooms we were assigned were in keeping with the lower rate. Both of our rooms had a gorgeous view and the balconies had comfortable teak patio furniture you seldom see in most resorts. The room's "Guest Services Directory" left a lot to be desired. Very little visitor information was available and we found ourselves having to contact the Front Desk more often than not to get the information we needed. All in all-a most pleasant stay at a lovely resort with more going for it than not. We would stay here again. It was a very pleasant stay. Kudos to the staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    557
    215
    93
    40
See reviews for
520
396
65
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Various
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely resort, set at the foot of the Santa Catalina Mountains. The property, while not new, but is attractive throughout, done in classic Southwest architecture, The grounds are beautiful, with spectacular mountain views. Maintenance is impeccable. We only stayed overnight but got a good sense of it. Our room was spacious and comfortable, service was excellent throughout the facility, the quality was right.

Resort fees: These things annoy me no end. This one is $20. It includes Internet service, but also includes several useful resort services, including golf practice range and use of the putting green. I like that.

We will stay here again. A comfortable stay at a first rate facility, and a good value.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingBillK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The view of the mountains and pool from our room was great. But the rooms themselves need to be updated. I missed brunch but the group I was with said it was good. The views of Pusch Ridge are stunning from here very close.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review; we appreciate guest feedback regarding our resort and guest rooms. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Thank you for staying at our resort.

Sincerely,
Lynn Ericksen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I went to this hotel in December of 2012 for a company Christmas Party. This hotel is very accommodating and offers good rates for government employees. It is set in a very nice location near the mountains and away from everything but close enough that it doesn't take forever to get anywhere. But this hotel has pretty much everything you need, so why leave? 5***** all the way. Great atmosphere, great staff, and great rooms for an affordable price.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, we didn't have a view but at the time we didn't care, just wanted some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zombie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Most reviewers had already stated that the property was beautiful but I was completely blown away by the service. The staff is extremely well trained, what ever you ask for the respond with "of course". Really makes you feel special and welcome. Thank you to Anna who checked us in.
The fine service extends to the new restaurant as well. Thank you to Nikki our server.
We were in a casita which was beautiful and if you can believe this, Peter Thomas Roth amenities. The property is beautiful and peaceful. Loved the age appropriate pool at the casitas, so quiet.
We will definitely be back, this place won us over for sure..
Highly recommend for a peaceful, relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Would caution those handicapped about the casitas as there is a bit of walking and elevation althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful golf course, and very nice trails for hiking. The Tucson area is very nice, the weather in march is beautiful and there is a lot place to visit and also State parks. The people are friendly and the hotel is well situated near a lot of restaurant for all tastes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have stayed here a few times over the years. The grounds are beautiful as is the setting. Our room needed updating. The bathroom was large but lacked two sinks and a walk in shower. The staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
19.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#9 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
5.7 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.4 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing