We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Week Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I recently spent a week at the resort playing golf. It was a delightful week with only rare exceptions. My Jr. Suite was spacious, clean, well furnished and had a great view of the court yard and pool but was still very quiet. When I first checked in the A/C was not working properly and after a phone call to the desk engineering had it working great within an hour. Housekeeping was very good although a little late getting done a few days but this was not a major problem.

The restaurant was much better this year since it was renovated and changed to a SW theme. The bar/ lounge was very nice as were the breakfast/lunch and pool venues. All areas offer both indoor and patio dining. The employees were all well trained and customer friendly.

The only drawback is the distance to the golf club. The 9 hole course is next to the hotel and well kept up. The regular golf club with two 18 hole courses is a 10 to 12 minute ride which is not bad but arranging shuttle times can be a bit disconcerting since they don't run on a regular schedule which would be a better idea. One day when this inconvenienced me for about an hour I politely approached the manager at the hotel when I got back. The golf club manager had already notified her. She was very apologetic and when I got back to my room there was already a complimentary cheese/fruit plate and a bottle of wine. The course conditions were good when taking into account this is change over season for the grasses on the course with rye transitioning to Bermuda. The golf club/restaurant is very nice and the professional staff are friendly and excellent teachers especially at the Hilton Golf Academy.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,997)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,372 - 1,378 of 1,997 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

- Great location, north of Tucson.
- Overall experience very positive. Rooms are large, well maintained with nice amenities.
- Pool area is wonderful for family and especially for kids.
- Chairs, towels, overall area is very fresh / new - No issues with anything
- Good bar service, food service, etc....very friendly staff
- Hotel restaurant is very good....
- If eating outside, birds are a real problem....

- Valet parking is not very responsive, even with calling ahead to get car pulled around / Only 1 person, handling too many tasks and responsibilities / Hotel should address.

Room Tip: Just ask....If you book through Priceline or hotels.com, expect a no-view room....lower level - but...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel has all the amenities with a fantastic pool, tennis courts, golf courses and view of the mountains and is very reasonably priced. It is located in the Oro Valley 20 minutes north of downtown Tucson and 15 minutes east of I-10. Sabine Canyon is not far away for hiking. Good restaurants and shopping are nearby. The elevation is 2,700 feet so it is several degrees cooler than Phoenix. We combined a few nights in Carefree north of Scottsdale with this trip to Tucson.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmalaw_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Never in all of our traveling years have we had things taken from our room. But we did here. First, someone took a cardigan that I loved. Then, a day or two later (I guess once they got away with the sweater), they took a brand new expensive golf jacket. The Security Guard to whom we made the theft report seemed inept; my husband left a phone message for the manager of the hotel the day we left/discovered the theft--2 weeks later, NO RETURN CALL. WOW! My husband stays in Hiltons for business. He will be taking this issue-no return call from the manager-as high up as possible. Really scary that the manager doesn't care that guests had things stolen from their room. Be careful. I was forced to buy 2 new jackets because we continued our AZ travel up to the north of the state--couldn't be without the cardigan and jacket. Oh, and while scrounging around the room looking for our stuff, found someone else's sock under the nightstand. GROSS.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bimeny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your concern. We are very eager to help resolve this situation, but our General Manager’s call and our Security Director’s call to the number provided have not been returned. As such, we encourage you to contact the Director of Security & Loss Prevention at your earliest opportunity at 520.544.1283.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is an ageing property desperately in need of renovation. It's still functional, and I think the prices are low enough that its still fair value for money bit it is not at all a premier quality resort property.

The biggest problem with the place is location. It's far away from anything.

The resort layout is also very spread out so you can have a 10-15 minute walk from your room to the lobby or to the pool or to the gym.

Rooms are old and dated. Carpet is worn out, bed was lumpy and lighting was poor. Desk chair was uncomfortable.

Bar is small but service was good and friendly.

Parking is limited close to hotel so another 10-15 minute walk.

Gym is ok as far as cardio equipment goes with 3 newer precor ellipticals and 4 precor treadmills. Not very many weight machines or weights. The area is not good for jogging outside either due to hills and no sidewalk on the main road.

In Tucson, your best bet is the JW Marriott .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j889814672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your guest room. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Lynn Ericksen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed four days while celebrating our anniversary. The room was spacious and nicely furnished with all necessary amenities. There are plenty of restaurants and activities within 30 min of the hotel. My wife enjoyed the spa, while I took advantage of the bicycles available as part of the resort fee. We also enjoyed the pool area which is great for families. The one slight disappointment was the dining choices, although we did find some selections we enjoyed including the shrimp ceviche, caprese salad, and green chili pork enchilada. I would both recommend and return to the resort. The only thing between the Hilton and a five star rating would be entertainment and dining options.

Room Tip: I loved the pool and mountain views...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at our resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and celebrated your anniversary with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I accompanied my wife to a conference in Tucson. The Hilton Tucson El Conquistador is a beautiful hotel, in spectacular landscape. Large, comfortable, clean rooms. Very nice pools and fitness facilities. Executive golf course right on the grounds. Very reasonable costs to play the golf course. Make sure to bring comfortable shoes for hiking, as there are trails on the grounds. The hotel is quite far from the airport. No outside amentities are within walking distance. Would recommend renting a car, in order to explore/access other parts of Tucson.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamboat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
19.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
896 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $168 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing