We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oro Valley”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The upscale attitude of the staff does not match the less than upscale attention to detail. Pool areas are in need of TLC. Chipping paint, broken umbrellas. Bar/restaurant at pool is understaffed. Our king hospitality suite was satisfactory. Resort is in need of updating as furniture is showing wear and tear. Small kitchen (microwave and fridge behind a bar) was not super clean. The finishing work on the tile stopped before the cabinet. That may be trivial, but I believe it tells a lot about the overall resort. On the positive, the bellman were nice and always there to open the door to the lobby. Also, the front desk staff was helpful. This resort lacks the attention to detail to make it excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FCWImom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your guest room, and the pool areas.
We appreciate your feedback and will take your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. Thank you for recognizing our guest services team.

Sincerely,
Lynn Ericksen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    625
    234
    103
    51
See reviews for
597
474
74
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the casitas. It's kind of like an efficiency apartment except there's absolutely no kitchen. A microwave and tiny fridge is it. We stayed here 3 nights with 3 kids. Casita room decor and furniture seemed a little old but not too bad. Kind of a long walk to the main hotel and pool and restaurants but that can be nice if you like to be away fr the bustle of the hotel. I played the 9 hole course on site which was nice enough and not expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The resort has awsome views of the Mountain Bluffs behind the resort, and sits high on the hill so in the early morning you can see over the city and multiple mountain ranges in the distance. If you are in the area this is definately an overnight stop- we stayed here when headed to Tombstone. We did not try out the tennis court or golf course but the facilities looked great. The only downside- we stayed in one of the villas and the couple next door was very loud if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
203 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The El Conquistador Golf and Tennis Resort is a beautiful hotel that sits in the foothills of the Catalina Mountains. The resort has a very large main building with a couple of nice restaurants, a bar and sitting area, a large lobby and rooms for conventions. There is a pool in the back of the building that has other buildings with rooms that surround the pool, making a circle. There are also many stand alone rooms on the property.

I did not play golf or tennis during my stay, so can not speak about these. You do drive by the golf course on your way to the hotel and it does look very nice.

The rooms are very spacious, and are very quiet. There is no noise when the heat or air come on and there is very little noise from the hallway. Each room has either a small patio or balcony with a couple of chairs and a table.

Our bathroom was very spacious with lots of counter space and the towels are very nice and over sized.

The property is kept in very good repair and everywhere is very clean.

The fitness center was well appointed for a hotel, with several treadmills, ellipticals, a stationary and recumbent bike as well as several pieces of weight training equipment and free weights.

The only complaint that I have is that the only free internet is in the lobby and at resort prices, I think wifi in the rooms should be included.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This resort was tired and needs to be updated to the normal Hilton standards for a four (4) star facility. The furniture in the junior suite was soiled and uncomfortable.
Although the room was keep very clean during our seven (7) night stay the hallways and other common areas needed further attention.
It was the first time that we were disappointed in a Hilton resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeye67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your guest room. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Lynn Ericksen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kohler, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We visited our granddaughter who is in college in Arizona and booked a casita at the Hilton tucson El Conquistador Golf and Tennis Resort. The weather was perfect, the staff so friendly, pool beautiful and grounds outstanding. We had adjoining rooms which worked so well for us. Our guest Services agent, Jason, made us feel very welcome. Kudos the the hotel.

Room Tip: Call Jason
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and except for occasionnally not leaving enough towels or bathroom tissue, the hotel was really nice. Great pool area, the water slide and hot tub were a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was very good too, and the staff is very nice and the grounds are really beautiful, you cannot beat the view or location. The walls are a little thin as we continually heard people above us moving around, but it wasn't the worst I've experienced. The resort fee is a joke though, as it gives you access to a bunch of things you don't want and the Internet is so slow I felt it was almost dial up. It's 2013, time to upgrade your connection speed, people rely on the Internet now for many things while they are away. A hotel of this caliber should definitely upgrade. The on demand stuff is a little pricey too, $4 for a 30 minute kids show? If the Internet connection was faster the kids could've watched it online as part of that $20 resort fee.

All in all I would recommend the hotel, all they need to do is upgrade the Internet.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sjuhawks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
3.1 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing