We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Tucson National Resort(Tucson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,183)
Filter reviews
2,184 results
Traveler rating
1,059
681
267
118
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,059
681
267
118
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspusch ridgeoro valleyjunior suitepool areathe main hoteltennis courtsmain poolmountain viewcatalina mountainslobby barbreakfast buffetgolf coursebeautiful groundsbit datedhot tubgreat poolfitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,822 - 1,827 of 2,184 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This Hilton was beautiful and the views were spectacular. The rooms were a good size and the staff friendly. I do however dislike how high end hotels charge for things lower hotels give their guests for free like Internet. The wifi was $10 and was slow and spotty. The food at the restaurant was good. We were located in one of the casita rooms. It was spacious but was a walk from the room to the lobby, main pool and restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattilca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Hilton El Conquistador is situated at the foothills of the Catalina mountains. The hotel backs up to the reserve area and so there are unobstructed views of the mountains. The hotel itself went through a renovation a few years ago when Hilton took it over from Sheraton. The pool area has been spruced up and, overall, the hotel is in great condition.

The resort has 3 golf courses; 2 x 18 hole courses off the property (a short 5 minute drive provided by the hotel) and one 9 hole on the property grounds. My favorite is the 9 hole which is a true par 36 course which, if played 2x is as rewarding as playing 18 on the other courses. It is not an executive or par 3 course, it is challenging. It's also great if you have family and want to play a 1.5 hour round instead of a 3 hour round.

The breakfast buffet is very well done and the bars are usually not crowded. Service at the pool is friendly and efficient, just raise the flag on your chair and a new drink is delivered.

You will need to decide if you want desert mountain views or poolside views, it's difficult to have both. I personally enjoy the mountain views but being close to the pool might be better for families.

There is great hiking nearby, just head south on Oracle Road (the main road outside the hotel) to Linda Vista Blvd (about 1/2 mile) and make a left. There is a very nice trail there that is very appropriate for families. Not challenging at all but it will offer great views and feel as if you've done a real desert hike. If you're an accomplished hiker this can be your morning warm up; if you're a novice hiker this will give you the feeling and views of a more difficult hike.

A great time to visit might be September when the weather is cooling down a bit (it can still be hot) but the hotel hasn't started to charge winter (high season) rates.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prince_of_Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, Executive Assistant at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador. The El Conquistador offers many activities for our resort guests. Golf, tennis, nature walks/ hikes, or simply lounging by one of our fabulous pools we are glad you were able to enjoy some of the amenities available.

Our associates are here to help create exceptional memories of your time in the desert southwest. We hope to welcome you back soon

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I recently stayed for 1 week for a personal trip. The grounds are spectacular and rooms have quite beautiful views. The staff is caring and efficiently responsive to any requests. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador. Our mountain views are spectacular -- our setting is the perfect place for a little rest and relaxation.

Thank you for your comments. We hope you will return to Tucson and the Hilton El Conquistador.

Lori B.
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and loved the experience. The only criticism is that the spa is 3 miles away. Not walkable. However, there is a gym on the premises that will suffice unless you want to access the free yoga and other classes at the spa.

We were upgraded to a casita which was excellent. Living room, fireplace, dining area and kitchenette. Separate bedroom and bathroom. It was a great and romantic experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are please you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience of traveling to the Hilton El Conquistador Country Club for yoga and other fitness classes. The resort offers yoga and other fitness classes during the summer season, but we are always reviewing our offerings and will look into opportunities to expand our services.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We took a mini vacation here. The pool and grounds are wonderful. My children loved the small waterlide. There are 3 pools and a childrens's pool..........all very nice for a family. The grounds are beautifully kept and reminds us of Hawaii. The room itself was a bit older, but overall just fine. The staff was always friendly whenever we spoke with them. Would definatly stay here again. Beautiful view of the mountains and a nice quiet get a way.

Room Tip: Upper floors give you better views of the gardens and mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5frys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

The Hilton Tucson El Conquistador is a wonderful family vacation, and we are always pleased to have an opportunity to serve our military families. Adults, Teens, and kiddos always enjoy the 143' water slide and our sparkling pools!

We will look forward to welcoming your family back to our resort.

Sincerely,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews