We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Third time at this place and it always hits the mark. Absolutely fantastic resort, great service, very clean and good size rooms. Love this place as it is of a very high standard but is not "stuffy" and pretentious like some high end places. Gym great, pool superb. Can't wait to come back for a fourth time

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTaySAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed using the fitness center facilities and our pool.

We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Hilton El Conquistador.

Best regards,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    623
    232
    103
    50
See reviews for
586
473
74
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in a Casita over the Christmas holiday. It was comfortable and quiet and the perfect size for our family of three with a separate bedroom and pull out bed in the livingroom. We enjoyed the wood burning fireplace and the more private pool available to the casitas. We experienced a plumbing problem and the maintenance staff were quick to come and fix the it and did so in a professional and curtious fashion.
Unfortunately, the front desk staff was apathetic at best. We definitely didn't feel like our business was important to them. In addition, although the main pool area had a great water slide it was closed as there was no staff available to supervise. We sat in that area as it was quiet and saw many people come down and take a peek and then turn around and go somewhere else.

Our stay was acceptable, but overall, just average. Unfortunate, because there is potential for this to be a memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrcasIslandDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying in the Casita Suites. The Casita Suites are adjacent to the heart of the resort and perfect for those guests who desire a more private location.

I apologize that you found our front desk team apathetic, that is not the impression or the standard that we strive for. I will pass along your comments to our Director of Front Office so that he can share your experience and use it as a training moment with his team. During the winter months our pool area /slide operations vary due to weather. I am sorry that your family was unable to enjoy our slide during your visit.

We hope that you will visit the Hilton El Conquistador again, and I trust that your family will enjoy the resort and all that we have to offer.

Sincerely,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for two nights (Aug 3 & 4). The place was nice (of course, it's a resort & a golf course right next to the mountains of Oro Valley)...we were planning to stay for another night and we tried to call the front desk....first, we got a voice mail, telling to dial specific number to reach specific dept...we did, to our disappointment, we were put on hold for 20 minutes...listening to the music, finally we gave up! We went to the front desk and talked the person available and she said "they were very busy with 200 guests checking in"....so that means if you are just a regular guest and not in a big group checking in , they have no time for you!...So we decided not to stay another night and probably not stay from this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ruffles52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I apologize that you did not receive prompt service from our front office team, and that they did not explain that our property was sold over the date that you wanted to add (August 5). I am going to forward your comments to our Director of Operations and Director of Front Office so that they can review with their team.

I hope you will return so that we have an opportunity to regain your confidence. If you need assistance with reservations, please contact me directly at lori.bunker@hilton.com.

Sincerely,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

My sisters and I checked in to this hotel for a 4 night stay. We appoached the counter and the woman behind the counter was ok but not very friendly. She said we had a two bed villa and it was located down the parking lot. We thought this was going to be a nice room, boy were we wrong. The room was old, smelly, musty and the beds were horrible. And to top it off there were small black bugs on the bed that bite. We were in the room for 30 min and we had bites marks on our legs. That was it!!! We could not stay there. So we went to the counter and said we can not stay and want to move to another hilton property. The young man at the counter was very helpfull but no one asked us why we wanted to move. I know this is an older property but it sure shows it age. Not what a Hilton hotel should be. It is in a good location, but is in badly need for a remodel NOW!!!

Room Tip: If you want a villa keep in mind some require stairs to get to. Bring bug stray!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carefree787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We take this feedback very seriously. We remodeled those rooms in late 2008 and we are in the final stages of replacing all of our mattresses. We will contact you independently (through Trip Advisor) to get a few more details as we have no documentation. We look forward to resolving this and we hope to show you that it was a onetime fluke.

Robert Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed for three nights whilst exploring the local area. There are no negative points to mention & the staff are friendly and do helpful.

Happy hour each day from 4 to 6. Two wines for $10

Breakfast buffet excellent. Fresh & loads of choice.

Pool large & clean with plenty of umbrellas.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We have a lot of activities on the weekends and we are implementing more food and beverage specials. Our Stargazing on Saturdays has become very popular. We also have the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum with its friendly creatures on Sundays.

Come visit us again soon and thank you for your loyalty.

Robert Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is our third year staying at the El Conquistador Resort. Although we feel it is a nice place to spend a few days, each year I have noticed a decline in the hotel overall. We prefer the Junior Suite in the main resort over any of the other accommodation options. This year, lightbulbs were out in our room, our bath fixtures were loose and extending off the wall, our toilet paper roll holder was broken on one side so sat at a severe slant. One night, I had to walk to the entire other side of the hotel in order to find an ice maker with ice in it and noticed that each hallway has different smells...some musty, some offensive, some with strange odors and others just fine. The restaurant on-site is average food with expensive prices and the burgers that my children ordered were hard as hockey pucks (ordered as medium rare). We do, however, like the fact that you can drive up to your building. We like the pool area and the kids love the waterslide, we love the tennis facility and the hotel is beautifully lit at night. I'd still return though...

Room Tip: Junior Suite is well worth the $15-$20 upgrade as you get a much larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAvacationmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I hope that you brought the issues you mentioned in your review to our attention. We have a team that works together to inspect our guest room product on a regular basis, and unfortunately it sounds like we overlooked the guest room you stayed in. If you have the time, we would appreciate a little more feedback from you, please contact our Director of Front Office at Shannon.schilling@hilton.com, and share your thoughts and feedback.

Sincerely,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Beautiful desert oasis. friendly staff. nice restaurant

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ittybittyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your comments about the Hilton Tucson El Conquistador. Nestled in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains our resort location is beautiful! I am delighted that you enjoyed our restaurants, and found our staff friendly.

Kindly,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.5 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
3.1 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing