We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but Terrible WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #86 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The rooms were clean and the owner and workers were very, very nice and helpful. The room had a stand up shower, which was fine for us, but if you want a bathtub, you should look elsewhere. Also, breakfast is very minimal and is only available from 6 - 8 a.m., so if you are a late riser, you will miss breakfast. The biggest problem with this hotel is their wifi/internet service. It is extremely slow, and often won't work at all. During mid-day, it is slow but tolerable, but by early evening, when many people are in the rooms and trying to use the internet, it takes forever to try to load anything and often is too slow to load at all - it is worse than dial up used to be.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thanks for the review and your positive comments. I am terribly sorry about our WiFi. We just expanded it Dec. 2013 to all our rooms & added new equipment. We are getting the property re-wired to further expand our cable TV and will also increase our bandwidth by 250%. If that doesn't do the job we will look at upgrading the new equipment. Breakfast was kept open till 9am after a few comments. I am sorry you didn't get the word. Gem Show is so much busier than normal (we ran 100% all this last week) it does strain our infrastructure on occasion. This year, internet seemed to be the main comment during that busy week. Within the next month or two, even this should be corrected. Thanks again for taking your time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

The price was great. Actually about half of what I'm used to paying for a hotel.

The room was clean & everything worked fine.

It was noisy--kind of normal for a motel in this class. It seems there was a group of high school kids travelling together for a school function. There were doors slamming and some loud talking in the parking lot at various hours of the night (not the motel's fault, really). I was actually a bit worried about security in the morning with all those big, tough-looking kids hanging around with nothing to do....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thanks for taking your time to review us. The group was in for a short stay. Please accept my apology for their noise. We weren't successful in keeping them as quiet as we would have liked and will consider this the next time we are approached about a group of this type. We think we provide a good value and work at improving the property on a regular basis. We will keep your review in mind. Again, thanks for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

my calender says 2014 -- and working internet is pretty much standard issue at any hotel anymore. we specifically asked for a room with wi-fi internet, since a notice in the lobby said the "back rooms" didnt have it, and only rooms facing the pools had it. but apparently even these rooms didnt have it!

fortunately i had broadband as a backup. and there seems to be a cell-tower close by.

but to make matters worse, i was unable to dial an 800 number from the hotel telephone either. most hotels i have stayed in for the past 10 years have one or the other working.

the room was adequate, but the area looked pretty unsafe. there was some teenage looking bar-be-que party going on at the pool too.

maybe good for one nights stay.

strangely, in the lobby they were bragging about their tripadvisor rating! maybe they meant a different hotel?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We just upgraded our WiFi equipment and extended WiFi to all our rooms. Obviously we have had some issues with the new equipment. We also will be increasing our bandwidth in the near future after we re-wire all guest rooms for our new cable service with expanded channels. I am fairly new and will look into our phone switch to see if it's possible to add 800 service to our room telephones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

poor experience, complimentary breakfast included only coffee and danish, very disappointed, did not get good night sleep due to people walking upstairs on 2nd floor, had booked for 2 days, but left the hotel after 1 night, did not get a refund for 1st night, will not go back to any americas best value inn in future

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Please accept my sincere apology. This is the first I heard about your complaint. Although we cannot control a guests actions we would have been happy to call the room that was affecting you or move you. Did you contact the front desk? We are there 24 hours per day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a very nice inn. It's clean and quiet. There is no fitness center or restaurant, which is why I rated that aspect poorly. However, the continental breakfast with coffee from 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 a.m. is nice. It's pet friendly. The bed was okay. There is no ESPN channel. For a great value, this is definitely a worthwile place at which to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thanks for the kind words. I will relate this to our housekeepers who work very hard to keep us spotlessly clean. We are bidding companies now for ESPN. I hope to add this feature soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. It was in a Great location right by the interstate and close to attractions. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rates were very inexpensive. Limited breakfast of coffee, juice, fruit, oatmeal and fresh danish. Relaxed by the nice outdoor pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time to let us know our continued hard work is paying off. We recently scored 100% on our ABVI annual inspection and we continue to upgrade our hotel. Our direct guest feedback is very positive. Thanks for your feedback online. It helps us greatly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked for a five night stay. An emergency happened that I needed to stay in a hospital with a relative after a stay of 2 nights but was told they offer no refunds even for emergencies like this.
A pretty decent place to stay for the money you pay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Pancho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

I am sorry about your crises. On our weekly rates all we can do is convert to our regular rack rate or if you have AAA or some other regular discount. If there is money due back after that we will of course refund that money. Our weekly rate is just so low the no refund is part of the rate. It's like advance purchase. We should have offered this to you. If you would like to give me more information I will be happy to check to see if we are able to refund some of your stay. Thanks for taking your time to let us know how we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tucson Airport
0.6 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#102 of 129 in Tucson
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Studio 6 Tucson
Studio 6 Tucson
#79 of 129 in Tucson
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Tucson Airport
Days Inn Tucson Airport
#97 of 129 in Tucson
211 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
#80 of 129 in Tucson
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 810 E Benson Hwy, Tucson, AZ 85713-5024 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: $62 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value with large, clean, comfortable rooms! Easy access off Interstate 10. Less than 5mi. to the U of A, downtown Tucson and the airport. We are even closer to the VA, Tucson Electric Park, Costco and the Rodeo grounds. We recently remodeled our bathrooms; granite counter tops and showers plus re-carpeted 25% of our rooms. Free high speed wireless internet, 3 HBO channels, desks and a business center for your business needs. We feature a large grassy pool area with a 40 ft. crystal clear heated swimming pool. We have two guest laundries, free coffee and danish served every morning. We are minutes from Reid Park/Hi Corbett Field complex, Desert Diamond Casino, Saguaro National Park, Old Tucson, the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum and Pima Air and Space Museum. American owned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing