We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
Ranked #42 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I recently stayed here for three nights and enjoyed my time at this hotel. I stay at the Marriott brand hotels when I can and this one didn't disappoint. The pool was outside and very relaxing, as well as the fitness room was sufficient. The nights I stayed there they had dinner and even though I already ate I was allowed to take snacks back to my room, along with some wine, which was free! Breakfast was really good too and had a wide variety from potatoes, to eggs, and meat. The staff was also nice and answered any questions I had with a smile. The only drawback was I chose an upstairs room and had a forty pound suitcase. It was hard to maneuver up the stairs but the trade off was my room was VERY quiet. I used the laundry bag to take items down in two trips, which lessened the possibility of tripping down the stairs. I would definitely choose this hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose upper floor if traveling light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Kee_12,
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know when you stay with us again, we would be delighted to help you with your luggage up the stairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 303 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

Typical Residence Inn, which in my book is just fine. Good location, easy to get to, close to restaurants/shopping/etc. Comfortable. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Nice social hour with beer/snacks. Good breakfast selection.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Jim G,
Thank you for your comments and feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our Social hour Tues-Thursday is one of our favorite guest events. We are thrilled you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for multi-night stays on two occasions in the first half of 2014 while in Tucson for my daughters' swim meets. A lot of the other families (including the Joneses) lodged in hotels much closer to the meet sites, but we are budget conscious, and the price here was worth the extra drive. We always love the complimentary breakfast at Residence Inn too.

Sure, this property is a little outdated and out og the way, but it's clean, comfortable and safe. Best of all, we like being able to back the car up to just a few feet from the room for unloading and loading our stuff.

Looking for something COOL to do with half a day in Tucson? Take a drive up the Catalina Highway to the top of Mount Lemmon. It's about 30 miles one way from the hotel but you'll climb to over 8,000 feet elevation. You'll think you ended up in Colorado. There are dozens of places to stop and see the sights or just rest. Bring a picnic lunch or plan to hit one of the eateries in the town of Summerhaven near the top of the road.

Restaurant recommendation: for lunch or dinner, walk next door to Breeze inside the Radisson hotel. Great menu and service.

To management: glad to hear you're upgrading the beds. Other than please keep the homey vibe of this gem hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank campfiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Campfair,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We love the charm that this hotel has and we are so glad that you do too. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed 2 separate nights in 2 different 2-story rooms. I think all rooms of this kind are in the back of the property, so they are all quiet. Besides, "master bedroom" could be almost completely isolated with the doors closed. The pool was clean, warm, the staff smiling, breakfast was the best we've had so far in Marriott's chain/Hamptons/Holiday Inns/Best Westerns, yummy potatoes, chocolate chips, strawberries and whipped cream for the waffles, granola and blueberries for the yogurt in addition to the regulars. Very happy with the price, too. If we are in Tuscon again, will not even look for any other accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NPBeginner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear NPBeginner,
Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Went there during Spring Break as there we a lot of college kids there. This is your typical older Residence Inn that needs to take some time and rework some of the rooms. I love my wife to death, but to always meet in the middle of the bed because it is worn out just is not romantic. The sleeper sofa was hardly more comfortable.

In order to get some sleep because of a bad back, I slept on one of the pool chaise lounges that I pulled into the room. It was better than either of the beds.

I am sorry to say that with the prices some of these places charge, the furnishings should be new every year. Definitely not where I will stay next time.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep, stay away from the rooms facing Speedway Blvd. It is a very busy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldnavy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

OldNavy2001,
I am so sorry to hear about your experience. We are working to replace the beds that are becoming too soft. I am positive that your next stay with us will be wonderful. Please try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Totally pleased with my 5 night stay at the Residence Inn. The staff are helpful and friendly. The property is very well maintained and managed. I stayed in the "Double Queen", which has 2 private sleeping areas, one is a 2nd story loft. Each have their own bath. A comfortably appointed full kitchen and living room. The free breakfast and coffee were fine. Had breakfast there each morning. A wide selection of foods available with fresh coffee, juice, etc. as well. They also have a "meet & greet gathering several evenings,which was nice as well. Beer, wine and snacks were served. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor, in the building by the pool, and Speedway. It was quiet, so I'd imag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara-Hilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Tamara-Hilo,
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Come back and see us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are fine, beds comfortable. No noise insulation whatsoever. Horribly loud a/c. Very genetic breakfast. When we needed a blanket for ghe sofabed, we had to go to the front desk to pick it up. There was also no person available to help hook up the DVD player, we were offered to come to front desk and get another DVD player. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Irene101,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are working very hard to increase our variety at breakfast, while still maintaining the consistency standards that Marriott requires.

I apologize that you had to come to the front desk to get the blanket. At this time we are working on ways to increase our staffing in the evening to help with guest delivery requests.

We truly hope you will stay with us again, so we may exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
10.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tucson
Candlewood Suites Tucson
#56 of 129 in Tucson
75 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#23 of 129 in Tucson
1,193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
10.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
8.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at Tucson Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Tucson

Address: 6477 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85710-1133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $96 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Tucson, AZ hotel offers one and two bedroom suites featuring a full kitchen, work area, living room and free WiFi. Guests can enjoy an outdoor heated pool, fitness center, business center, daily breakfast and evening social. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tucson Speedway Hotel Tucson
Tucson Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing