We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
165
102
41
13
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
102
41
13
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenspeedway blvdstudio suitean extended staydvd playerliving areabasketball courtlaundry roomno elevatorhome away from homepool and jacuzzismall kitchenfront desk staffgreat propertygreat place to stayfree breakfastthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 346 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is neglected and in urgent need of a renovation. It has one elevator which is filthy. Our room, the two-bedroom penthouse, had torn furniture and was cramped beyond belief. The exterior buildings are worn and in desperate need of maintenance. When we arrived and entered the lobby to register we instantly knew we were in trouble. The stairs needed sweeping, the entry doors were marked up, and the interior was dark and dingy. Thursday night was the manager's reception and was advertised with beer and wine. The wine was two small carafes sitting on the counter and a spicket for beer. The food -- tuna fish salad. Really? The location is miles from the nearest highway. Plan on an extra half hour added to your trip just to get from the highway to the hotel. Don't get off Speedway or you'll end up in the middle of some pretty rough neighborhoods. Overpriced and underwhelming. It makes us wonder why Marriott would allow this facility to remain in the Residence Inn family. Our plan was for a four day stay, but upon checking into our room we instantly got on the internet to find an alternative place to stay for our golf vacation. Would have never checked in if we had arrived before 6 PM. Of course, we would have if we hadn't had to go through 30-40 minutes of street travel just to get to the hotel. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Chris B,
I am so sorry to hear about your recent experience with our hotel. I would very much like to speak with you about your stay in more detail. Please contact me direct at the hotel to discuss your stay 520-721-0991.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It feels like an apartment I had in college. Nice staff and nice landscaping. Cracks in walls here and there and smudges left in public areas. It has potential but just needs updating and a overhauled.

Room Tip: Back gate is open to the public and proabably not quite as safe as near office
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMES H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

jharperfl,
Thank you for your comments. We do open the back gate to offer our guests an alternative access to hotel other than via Speedway Blvd. We do secure and lock the back gate overnight. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Recently spent a week here on vacation with family. The management did whatever they could do to make this hotel good, the service, housekeeping, grounds, etc. were excellent. Unfortunately, there were structural issues that meant that I wouldn't unilaterally recommend this hotel.

First, the good. The grounds were particularly nicely maintained, extremely clean, we didn't use the pool but it too looked clean, and we really enjoyed the basketball court (they had a ball behind the desk). The breakfast was very good, the usual buffet, with scrambled eggs that actually had a decent texture, unlike most, and some entrees that were very tasty. The staff at breakfast was particularly helpful. From what we saw, the clientele was mainly families or older couples, very quiet overall.

We took a two-storey suite, for six people. The lower-level bedroom was spacious, with a good-sized bathroom, closed off from the rest of the suite by flimsy doors, and while there was a desk-chair, there was no armchair in the bedroom. With the sofabed open, there was nowhere to sit in the living room, which barely fit the sofabed. The upstairs bedroom was in a loft that overlooked the living room (thus, no privacy at all), barely big enough for the bed, again, nowhere else to sit except at the desk. The closet door opened at the top of the stairs in a dangerous way, the sink was in the bedroom and the room with the bathtub/toilet was tiny. Beds were comfortable but pillows were awful. There were no dressers in which to put clothes, which meant living out of suitcases. Finally, the windows were very small, and this meant that the rooms were dark and dreary; we were there in the winter and would have liked to have had as much Arizona sunlight as possible. Overall there was little privacy and not much comfort. Fortunately, we weren't in the room much so it didn't matter that much.

The kitchenette was nicely stocked with a full-size refrigerator and stove, and a few utensils. Everything was very clean, and the cleaning staff was friendly. Unfortunately, the plumbing was not good - bathtubs didn't always drain, toilets kept clogging up (and being given a plunger while on vacation is not really my idea of a good time). Again, the staff was as friendly and helpful as they could be, but I would rather not have had the circumstances. The internet was mostly reliable, it only went out once and was soon back up.

The neighborhood was a bit iffy a few blocks to the west (a lot of pawn shops), but the area around the hotel was quite upscale. There were plenty of stores and restaurants within an easy drive, but nothing to walk to from the hotel, so if you were stuck here during the day, you would really be stuck. The other thing about the location, from the point of view of a tourist, was that it is on Tucson's east side, whereas most of the tourist attractions are on the west side, so it was at least a 30-minute drive to each of them. Again, the hotel can't help this, but I wouldn't recommend it for people who were planning to spend time at the university or at the western tourist places.

Long and short: if you have to be on this side of town, or have a car and don't mind driving, and you need a very reasonably priced, clean and friendly place that can house a lot of people, then this place is pretty good.

Room Tip: Do NOT get one that faces the Speedway, it will have a lot of traffic noise. On the other hand, one in the same building but facing the other way was perfectly quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank INTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

INTraveller,
Thank you for your feedback concerning our hotel. I am so glad that our staff took such good care of you while you were here. We do enjoy our location. We are about 20-30 minutes from almost all attractions in Tucson (both east and west of hotel). We find it to be a nice balance to be able to visit the attractions and return to a quiet neighborhood hotel. We do hope that we will see you again on your next trip to Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Overall, this hotel is a good buy in a nice neighborhood, close to shopping and numerous restaurants. Our room was spacious and kept spotlessly clean. The kitchen was fully furnished with dishes, glassware, silverware, pots and pans, range with oven and dishwasher.

We had a two-bedroom suite, with one bedroom in the loft. Getting to and from the room required the navigation of 16 stairs, with an additional 14 stairs to the loft. No elevator.

A big problem was no luggage carts. We've stayed in many Residence Inns and never had this problem before. The property is huge - 16 buildings in all - and it can be a bit of a walk from the parking area to each building. The lack of carts was troublesome, as we arrived by car and had brought quite a bit for a 10-night stay.

Housekeeping quality was well above average, and the housekeepers spoke English well. Staff overall (front desk, housekeeping, breakfast/happy hour) were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was varied and plentiful: scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage patties, English muffins, bread, blueberry muffins, oatmeal, four kinds of dry cereal, milk, yogurt...you get the idea. I think that eggs or omelettes could be made to order.

If you have physical limitations with walking or climbing stairs, it could be a problem unless you get a ground-floor suite.

Room Tip: If you have physical limitations with walking or climbing stairs, it could be a problem unless you get a ground-floor suite. We were one building away and could hear the traffic noise from the busy Speedway Blvd. Ask for a building away from the street.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmlowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

jmlowman,
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do appologize for the lack of luggage carts. I can see how that would be difficult to get your belongings to your suite.
You are correct, all of our two bedroom suites are located upstairs in all of our units. We do however have studio suites located on the ground level. We hope to see you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed one night at this property, it is styled in the older look of the Residences, the outside needs some TLC, but the room was spacious and nice, nothing special. Front desk staff was courteous and even though they were training a new hire, check-in was easily handled. Fantastic free breakfast(eggs, potatoes, biscuits and gravy) to just name a few of the choices. Price was good, which is why this property was chosen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juanita F, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

C D
Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad to hear that your check in experience went so smoothly even though we were training a new associate. I am so glad you enjoyed your breakfast experience. Our breakfast team take a lot of pride in providing a very tasty meal. We look forward to having you as our guest again on your next trip to Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews