We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
Ranked #46 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Typical Residence Inn”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Our room had been updated. It was clean and check-in was a breeze. Location was okay, but traffic can be an issue in this section of the city. I used Marriott points without any problems.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    82
    31
    10
    19
See reviews for
125
54
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Rooms are nice. We have stayed there twice and will be staying there again in March.
Great staff and service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagosa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent two nights here in January. We had a two bedroom penthouse unit. It had a one bedroom upstairs unit with a room in a loft. We had a full kitchen and two bathrooms. The unit was clean and fully stocked. The beds were comfortable and each room had a flat screen T.V. We did not use the fireplace but a log was issued to us for our use. They had a pool which we did not use due to the cool weather. The breakfast was great! We had eggs, waffles, sausage, potatoes, cereals, fruit, pastries and more. The staff was very nice and helpful every morning. Each unit had easy parking in front of each unit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom "Penthouse Suite" for three nights. It was actually like a second floor apartment with a loft bedroom. I have paid far less money for far better accommodations. This is the biggest disappointment in a hotel I have ever had. Why do they still get average instead of terrible?
Pros:
Rooms are clean
Good table/desk space
Flat panel TVs
Good breakfast-food was not stale which is common in desert areas
Excellent customer service
Plenty of room

Cons:
This looks like and old apartment complex that has been taken over.
When they say "This room is not accessible" (this should be in LARGE print and at the top of the description and it is not), they mean no elevators, only stairs.
Ice maker squeaked, moaned and was so loud it had to be turned off (it was off when we arrived, but we needed ice)
Bottom level toilet leaked into the bowl, so refilled itself every 3 hours-loud enough to wake you up.
Shower noise from next hotel room was so loud, I had to make sure that my children upstairs were not showering at 11:00 PM.
Upstairs bathroom had timer for light. You wouldn't want to spend more than 15 minutes in the tub, or you will be plunged into darkness
Thin walls. I could hear the neighbors, and people out in the parking lot even though we were in the back.
When you turned on the fan in the living area, the Ground Fault Interrupt switch went off. (Scary)
To heck and gone from anywhere where you might really want to be. Takes 20 minutes just to get to the freeway, and don't go down Speedway-that has to be one of those tongue in cheek jokes. Going south on Wilmont got a little sketchy for my taste, with tagging on walls and signs. How they call this "upscale" is beyond me. Maybe if you stay on the North side of Speedway?
Slowest internet on the planet, with confusing directions in the room (the directions in the room did not match what the desk clerk said when I called to find out how to connect). A "saavy business traveler" would never stay here with this kind of internet connection.

Neither pro nor con, just not our thing:
Odd flat panel TVs. I could hook up a computer but not a portable DVD player.
Hotel DVD player was in the bedroom, not the living room. (Might be a plus for some people, just not us)
Table was set for two upon arrival. This just got in our way, but did look like they wanted things to look nice.

Bottom line: Not convenient to anything (malls, food choices, places to visit, freeway), lots of noise (due to faulty equipment and thin walls), and VERY overpriced for what you get (at least as far as the "Penthouse Suite" goes). Staff is excellent, it is apparent they have tried to fix this hotel up and have not worked out all the kinks, and they have thought about what an extended stay visitor would want in a hotel. If you have a need to be near the hospitals nearby, it might be for you. There are better choices for less money in more convenient locations if you are visiting attractions in the area.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka,Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

A good place to spend a week with easy access to Tucson and surroundings.

Quiet, clean, good service, and even outside gas grills for your own evening barbecuing.

Breakfast is simple. There is wine and simple snack food evenings 4 days a week.

Internet is free but slow.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms a distance from main road. There are 2 levels in most units. A special feature is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitka1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were here for a night's stay. Very quiet and comfortable hotel my wife and I and our two kids, 4 and 2 yr olds. Breakfast was great and staff was very friendly. Each one I came across greeted me with the proper greeting of the day. Room was great because this hotel offered a DVD player in the room, which makes the stay for the kids much better. Overall great stay. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I come down every summer to visit my family here in Tucson.My spouse and I stay at the Residence Inn Marriott on Speedway its just a wonderful hotel. All the hotel staff are at your service when you need them they always have a smile to greet you with. It also has all the amenities you need just like home! My family can come over and I can even cook for them in are full kitchen. and my husband can sit in the living room surffing the complimentary wireless internet. If your ever in Tucson Arizona! Residence Inn is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WALTER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#26 of 130 in Tucson
1,138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Williams Centre
9.0 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Tucson Williams Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Tucson

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
Address: 6477 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85710-1133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Tucson, AZ hotel offers one and two bedroom suites featuring a full kitchen, work area, living room and free WiFi. Guests can enjoy an outdoor heated pool, fitness center, business center, daily breakfast and evening social. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tucson Speedway Hotel Tucson
Tucson Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing