We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cant spit-shine a turd!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Airport North
Ranked #100 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Florence, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You cant spit-shine a turd!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have stayed at this particular hotel since it was a Ramada approx. 10 years ago. Since then its been the Palo Verde Inn and now a Quality Inn......ironically, it is missing the "quality" part. The day manager and evening gal were super nice and it was super quiet there and those are the only reasons I rated it a 2. I asked about the upgrades that supposedly had done to some of the rooms and were told that some were good but the ones on the far side of the pool were still really bad. Upon check-in, we found it to be clean but didnt impress us with any special upgrades. The hotel building has been going downhill for years. It was freshly painted and it looked as if a new, but tiny, wall AC had been put in. It was adequate when the temp was 85-90 when we were there but there is no way it would have kept up in the 100-110 degree weather that Tucson gets in the summer. I noticed in the bathroom that there were several fruit flies/large gnats flying around. The bathroom light had a exposed wire running from it to the wall and there was tissue stuck in the hole around the wire to plug it. We were supposed to have free wi-fi and it never worked,even after telling the front desk about it. Some of the outlets didnt work and others were missing face plates. I mean, really! How much does a face plate cost? 27 cents?? The bed was one lumpy mess with no box springs that slanted towards the wall. Although 7 premium channels were promised, we got only 2 and that was of the 10 total channels we got. I heard other guests complaining at the front desk that their door was broken and they couldnt get in....another said that they felt like the ceiling was going to fall down on them. There was also a storm drain near our parking space that was spewing foul smelling green slime. I do have to say that I loved the huge fluffy pillows though! If that was a refurbished room, I would HATE to see the other ones! RUN! Run FAR away from this place...you just cant spit-shine a turd! :/ Oh yeah, neither jacuzzi were operating correctly when we were there. One had heat but no bubbles, the other had bubbles but no heat..lol. Pool was a little dirty but still refreshing....had to ask for towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertdiva71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    15
    24
    58
See reviews for
40
26
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a big elephant which is getting old. Rooms need remodeling, however, the bed was not bad and it was clean. Bathrooms are old, boxy tv, old carpets and it seemed there was no one else in this humongous place...little scary. Somehow the pictures look nice on the website but in reality it has potential if renovated. The from desk guy was friendly but was constantly on his cell phone talking in Spanish and would ask them to hold and help you...he was friendly but...
Breakfast was not good compare to other quality inn we have stayed. The business center computer did not work. Pool looked fine but we did not use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenorBaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This property is in transition to a Quality Inn, nothing on this stay was quality.
No housekeeping on second day (staff said that none of them showed up)
No attempt was made to notify us! Just walk into an unservice room.
Ask for replacements towels. Only large bath towels were available and
nothing else. (Wanted us to move to another room to have clean towels??)
They did rob towels from another room, a couple of hours later when we
ask for other towels. Despite a nice breakfast on the first morning, second
morning was like a morgue, nothing there and no one around. NO waffles,
NO bagels, NO scrambled eggs, nothing but two cereal choices. NOT even a
spoon to eat the cereal with.
Granted a hotel in rehab mode is understandable but Normal Operations and
Service is what we pay for. Even wrote on their bill, it was paid for in protest
for lack of service and ask for a small rebate accordingly. Never heard one word from
management. Period! Other choices in available in the area.

Room Tip: Hopefully, Quality Inns will step in and improve Management and instill service. Until then...look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Apparently a recent addition to the chain, this motel is an old large complex in need of renovation. The rooms are average size, beds are old and thin, but still comfortable. Breakfast is included and its the usual make your own with waffles, yogurt, Danish, cereal, etc. staff are friendly and try to be helpful where they can. If you are on a tight budget, this will be fine. Right off hwy 10, it's easy access on and off ramp.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here while attending a friend's wedding at the Hotel Congress. After reading numerous reviews of how loud it was downtown (particularly at the Congress) I decided to use some Choice Points to reserve a room here.

Well they got the quiet part right. I'm not certain, but I think I was one of maybe 10 people staying at the entire hotel. The room itself was "clean" but it was musty, and during the 2 days / 1 night I was at the hotel, I got a nasty cough (I don't even have allergies) from being in the room. The water came out a little brown at first from the taps, but this is of course bound to happen with almost any faucet that hasn't been turned on in a while. The TV was old and of pretty poor quality.

As other reviewers have said, the hotel itself is on the older side and really could use some renovation. Not sure how they would afford that with such a low occupancy. The hotel is situated roughly between the airport and downtown. For your dining pleasure, there is an Arbys and McDonald's across the street - the hotel "restraunt" was closed for all I could tell. Even if it was open, it looked so sketchy I'm not sure I'd want to eat anything that came out of it.

I've stayed in worse, but I've also stayed in MUCH better. Maybe request a room that has been recently occupied or cleaned before booking here. My guess is they rent out the room that's been sitting the longest first in order to try and cycle them, but wow, must have been a long time since someone slept in the one I was in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
418 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Although the room was quiet, it was clearly worn out.
The bed was all lumpy and uncomfortable and appears to be as timely as the 70s decor in the room.
This place is just worn out, and in bad need of repair and restoration.
Although 'functional' the room and amenities were barely acceptable for a stay here. Unfortunately we had booked 2 nights and it made it worse to stay here the additional night.
The breakfast is barely that, instant egg sandwiches from Costco to heat in the microwave...thin coffee (barely brown), and a very limited assortment of rolls (mostly Costco sweet rolls and bread slices).
The restaurant on site it closed so you'll have to find somewhere else to eat.
The hot tub had 'black' water in it...I'm not kidding, it had a black tinge to it...I couldn't imagine what it was but judging from the rest of this place it was probably corrosion from the piping system.
The hotel staff was nice enough, but they obviously didn't have much to work with. I asked about the WiFi and was given the "maybe it'll work, maybe it won't" story...in my room (183) it did work, but very slow.
This place used to be the Palo Verde Inn (according to the desk staff) and is in the process of being renovated (couldn't convince me of that, I didn't see anything being worked on). The sign out front was covered by a cloth Comfort Inn & Suites sign...
I can't recommend this place unless you have absolutely no where else to stay and don't mind the run down conditions.

Room Tip: Go to a different motel or ask to have a room in the main building, not one of the sections they cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not sure what all the negative reviews are about... I've stayed here twice and found it to be quite acceptable, especially for the low price that I paid for my room. This is a good place to stay if you are traveling with a pet (although there is a $10 fee for pets).

Pros:
-clean room
-breakfast included
-pet friendly
-hot tub
-very affordable
-easy access to airport, I-10 freeway, AMARG/Boneyard area and Pima Air Museum

Cons:
-wireless internet didn't work
-bathtub was a bit dirty and didn't have a plug for the drain
-phone in my room wasn't hooked up.

The hot tub in the main pool area was out of service during my stay, which was initially a disappointment - until I walked over to the other side of the complex (across the parking lot) and found a secluded second hot tub that was much larger and nicer than the one in the main area!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#72 of 130 in Tucson
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Tucson Airport
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#68 of 130 in Tucson
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson Airport
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Tucson Airport
Quality Inn Tucson Airport
#92 of 130 in Tucson
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
#82 of 130 in Tucson
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Airport North

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Airport North
Address: 5250 S Julian Dr, Tucson, AZ 85706-1824 (Formerly Palo Verde Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Airport North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-friendly, pet-friendly, free WiFi, free parking, complimentary airport shuttle, new renovations description = The newly renovated Palo Verde Inn & Suites is an authentic Southwestern, adobe-style hotel in Tucson, Arizona nestled among native Palo Verde trees and saguaro cactus. We are centrally located to all Tucson area attractions and the business district--minutes away from Tucson International Airport (TUS), downtown Tucson, University of Arizona, and Davis-Monthan Air Force Base. Whether traveling for business or leisure, the Palo Verde Inn & Suites is the perfect location to enjoy genuine Southwestern hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palo Verde Hotel Tucson
Palo Verde Inn And Suites
Palo Verde Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing