We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Tucson National Resort
Ranked #20 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great resort and staff”
Reviewed July 6, 2007

This was our first stay in an OMNI hotels and we loved our time there. Even if it is being fully renovated, I found that the existing rooms and other facilities where very nice so I guess they will only get better after that.

What really made our time there (5 nights) so nice was the staff: from the front desk to the cleaning staff, they always wanted to make sure that we were pleased with our stay and to see if we needed anything, without being overbearing in any way. I can say that any request that was made was always promptly answered.

A very pleasant stay !

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Yul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    299
    167
    97
    45
See reviews for
394
507
78
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

The good:
- Spa: The spa was amazing! We had manicures, pedicures, and facials. The technicians were amazing and it was probably the best facial I have had in a long while. One bright note- the manicurist gave us all the best tips on shopping and we found the Off 5th store just five minutes away was fantastic - amazing designer stuff at bargain basement prices, so that was a highlight! The spa bathroom is gorgeous, with every supply you could ever need and an empty sauna and steam room.
- Common areas: The common areas were nice, and the pool is very pretty, and I loved that they put out towels for you.
- Food: The room service breakfasts were very good - we had the fruit medly and it was excellent. The rest of our meals were through the conference and they were also excellent so compliments to the kitchen!
The bad:
- Room mixup: We were here for a conference and the rooms were very dissapointing. They had overbooked and moved us to a king size room even though we had confirmed two queens with a pool view twice and booked months in advance. So they moved us back to two queens but it was awful! The room was very dark and needs updated - we asked to be moved right away but they were overbooked and could not move us for the entire visit.
- Noisy: The room was right by the first hole and we were woken every morning before 5 by early bird golfers starting up their carts and teeing off. The people upstairs were incredibly loud, so we felt sandwiched!
- Uncomfortable: The beds were very hard and old. I am spoiled at home with my sleep number bed but this bed was very hard! The pillows were also very cheap and hard, so much so that I went to the ross down the road and bought a feather pillow on my second day here!
One saving grace in the room was the bathroom, which was big, with a walk in closet and seperate makeup area which was great for two people. it also had lovely tile and great toiletries, with plenty of towels.
However for the price, I would not go back unless they refurbished the rooms (which we were told they plan to do soon).

  • Liked — Pool, Spa, Room service
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiCowgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

I had never visited Tucson before. Next time I do, I will certainly stay at least a night at the Omni. From the moment I checked in the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The hotel layout is not particularly intuitive, but just when I started to get lost heading to my room, a helpful member of the staff appeared to lead the way. The room was incredibly spacious--the bed sumptuous. Very nicely appointed room and a wonderful bathroom. The turn down was a treat to return to every night. The casual hotel restaurant had great food and was a nice place to unwind at the end of the day. The Omni is known for service and this hotel delivered.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MeigsField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2007

The minute I saw my large, comfortable room at the Omni, I regretted not bringing my husband. I also apologize for forgetting my camera on this trip. Suffice to say that it lives up to the pictures on their Web site. Rooms were either new or recently renovated- no dirty grout or dusty corners. Scenery was magnificent. Staff were friendly and helpful but not cloying and obsequious. One of my colleagues remarked that if you walked by someone using a leaf blower, they turned it down till you were past to spare you the noise.

This is a hotel that gets both the business and the pleasure parts right- the heavy, crisp sheets, nice soap and other amenities, and the good food make it feel like a resort- but the Wi-Fi in the rooms was fast and dependable, with no problems getting connected. They even had Wi-Fi in the meeting rooms, which I hadn't encountered in my other business travels. Very much appreciated. (I don't have a Blackberry yet!)

A few misses: a friend who usually gets her father a golf shirt reported that they cost $84 here. She turned that down. Tap water is strongly chlorinated, which makes a very bad cup of coffee in the room. Unfortunate since they had Wolfgang Puck coffee packets. I don't think Wolfgang would approve. Restaurant coffee was fine. Either stop on your way up and buy bottled water or leave the carafe of water out overnight so the chlorine dissipates. You will want LOTS of water- the dry air leaves you thirsty. There's a $12/day "resort fee" which is "automatically added to your room charge". Let's call it what it is, people- it's just another way of adding bucks to the room rate.

I would definitely return to the Omni, either for business or just R&R.

  • Liked — Large, comfortable room in a beautiful setting
  • Disliked — Heavily chlorinated tap water in rooms- awful!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

This hotel is bizarre. The worst "4 star" hotel that anyone I was with has ever stayed at. Only a handful of employees seemed like they had ever been there before -- noone knew where anything was, what services were offered, even directions to the hotel from a few minutes away. THe lobby feels like the entrance to a motel or a funeral home -- one lone person at a desk is "reception"....the beds have lumpy pads, the pillows feel like bean bags and foam slabs. THe only people that had a clue were housekeeping. The pool was ok, but it only looked like the photos on line when you laid down flat on the chaise and got a wide angle view. Stay away -- we've been to the Marriott amd the WEstin and La Paloma -- no REASON on earth to visit the Omni.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2006

Having experienced four of Tucson's 4 star resorts, I can comfortably say that the Omni has no real competition. I stayed there in both February and April, and the weather is phenomenal! Its mountainside location with spectacular sunsets, sophisticated spa, elegant dining, well-appointed rooms and seasoned staff make staying there a delight! Most importantly, service is the best by far at the Omni.

The property is in northern Tucson in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains. While golf is a primary draw for the Omni, it provides a great setting for a resort vacation without hitting the links at all. The central reception building houses the spa, restaurants and shops, and the lodging buildings are an assortment of stucco rooms and villas sprawling between two outdoor pools and other recreational amenities.

I would note that many of the rooms closer to the reception building are built into the hillside, and consequently, some on the lower level are a bit dark for my tastes. You might ask for a room overlooking the pool or on the upper floor. The staff is very accommodating in that regard and gave me carte blance to pick amongst available rooms when the first one wasn't as bright as I like. A large king room with sitting area, wet bar and huge bath and dressing area overlooking a flowering tree and the pool became my abode. When a water main break caused problems, I was transferred to a one bedroom villa with high ceilings. My only regret was losing the amazing bathroom and dressing area in my former room. The full kitchen in the villa did enable me to cook one night which was a nice respite from hotel dining. Stores are within a mile of the property if you desire snacks. All rooms have either a balcony or patio with furniture.

The upper pool at the Omni is quite relaxing, but on the smaller side, and the larger pool near the villas is a bit remote and colder, at least in the winter. If water activity is what you're really after, the El Conquistador Resort's water slide and pools are a nice option. The rooms there are cookie cutter small though, and the property is convention-oriented with minimal attention to real service like that at the Omni. Poolside service of lunch and drinks is provided by friendly Omni staff located at the full bar. Chaises and towels are of the finest quality, and the Arizona sunshine can't be beat!

The spa provides fitness classes and offers a wonderful respite with a multitude of services. Locals who live near the villas belong to the spa as well, so that helps the Omni maintain a robust class schedule. Call the concierge to have one mailed to you before your visit. Machines, weights and balls are also available in the gym area. The spa reception area and locker room are a peaceful haven with water and light snacks provided. The staff is professional and friendly, and I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent there rejuvenating.

The dining options vary from formal to sports bar in orientation, with the latter sporting billiards tables and TVs in a rear room. The ambience in both is preserved by seasoned waitstaff and hosts, and the food quality is above average to worldclass in presentation and quality.

The Omni's concierge, Johnny, is perhaps the most charming repository of local information that one could hope for. All of Tucson's attractions come alive with her mini-history lessons, as she gives you pre-printed directions that she's expertly assembled. She'll also direct you to remote finds that aren't even listed in Lonely Planet's guide.

The clubhouse for tennis is near the villas as well, and a pro is on staff daily. Watching a sunset from the hottub at the lower pool is worth doing. All in all, the Omni provides a peaceful vacation. Join Omni's preferred guest program before your stay, and you'll even have your morning beverage and paper delivered to your door free of charge each morning!

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank DC_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2006

I stayed in the Sonoran suites. The room was beautiful with separate large bath and shower, walkin closet, and separate eating area. Depending on where you are located the mountain views are outstanding. The pool view not so good. However, would stay again if in the Tucson area.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — parking not close to room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank regosnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.2 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
11.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
971 reviews
9.5 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
4.5 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
7.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Tucson National Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Tucson National Resort

Property: Omni Tucson National Resort
Address: 2727 W Club Dr, Tucson, AZ 85742-9766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#11 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#32 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Tucson National Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the PGA TOUR's Champions Tour in 2015, the Omni Tucson National Resort boasts an award winning service team, chef-driven restaurant concepts, exquisite meeting space and 36 holes of world-class golf on our Catalina and Sonoran courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Tucson National Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Tucson National Hotel Tucson
Tucson Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing