We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel, with excellent service and a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Livermore, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel, with excellent service and a great location.”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at the Loews Ventana Canyon Resort for 3 days and I wish it could have been longer. The view of the mountains, pool and a natual waterfall from our balcony room was wonderful. The Flying J Restaurant had excellent food and service combined with a view of the signature hole on the golf course and the wateralls that front the hotel. The golf course was in excellent shape and fun to play. They have renovatd the rooms recently and everything was clean and up to date. The shower is huge! I wish there had been double sinks, but you can't have everything. The service at this hotel is some of the best I have seen, and I travel a lot. My husband and I can't wait to go back. Oh, I had a massage at the spa and it was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,883
    555
    184
    86
    45
See reviews for
584
878
105
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We returned to the Ventana for our 10th anniversary because we had such a wonderful time a few years ago. We were given a great room with a view of the mountains and the waterfall. Service was generally very good and the staff were very courteous & friendly. We were looking forward to lounging around the pool but did not enjoy it this time - loud, at times raucous music blared non-stop and the pool staff seemed determined to harass us every ten minutes about requests for drinks & food, towels, sun spray etc. Our request to turn down the music was not appreciated and one of the staff marched over & cranked it up. We felt like we were continually under observation. The food at the poolside cafe & across the street at the restaurant was very disappointing - expensive, poorly prepared and tasteless. Go offsite - we found a great sushi restaurant in the River Shopping Center nearby & had a fabulous dinner at The Dish (in the Rum Runner) that was the best meal we've had in years.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dao_Vintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed here for five days so we got to know the place. The resort is located in Ventana Canyon and has gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains and the City of Tucson. It is an excellent resort with outstanding and friendly service at all levels and very good outdoor amenities. The room was comfortable and clean and housekeeping did an impeccable job each day. Lots of walking trails for casual strolls on the grounds are available and there is an excellent hiking (and much more challenging) trail behind the resort and nearby (don’t forget to bring lots of water). If you stay here, I would recommend that you take the very short trip to Sabino Canyon. It's simply beautiful!! The spa was clean and relaxing and the therapists were very good. The restaurants on site are also excellent. We really enjoyed the Flying V. The golf course was in great shape. I suspect this is one of the best resorts in the area. Free high speed internet is available in the lobby area which is comfortable but not free in your room. Free parking is available as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnthemoveChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

we travelled here with our 2 little kids and it was a wonderful place to relax after a long drive from Sedona, Arizona. the environment is SO pretty and it was WONDERFUL to get out of the heat and into the pool. the staff are incredibly warm and friendly and when we couldn't get room service to answer the phone, they apologised by giving our room service dinner for free! The rooms are fantastic with good TV. the bathtubs are SUPERB and we loved sitting out on the balcony.
The restaurant is lovely and quiet and they don't throw your food at you, which we found typical of USA restaurants.
I wouldn't stay ANYWHERE else in Tucson but here. It's absolutely tremendous. the check in staff even gave my 2 boys a gift :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maraisfamilyRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

The experience at Ventana Canyon was consistently exceptional for our four day stay. The location nestled high in the Tucson foothills is ideal. We had a city view on the 4th floor and enjoyed watching the Tucson lights along with the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The room was very clean, well maintained, super quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. The dining experience was perfect as each day the staff made recommendations based on our dietary needs and our likes and dislikes. We were welcomed each morning for breakfast and the wait staff remembered our preferences. They even went the extra mile one morning by preparing a complementary special tea for my wife. The grounds and hiking trails were well maintained and the private natural waterfall was so enjoyable. We could go on and on but to sum it up, we have stayed at other locations similarly priced and we found this to be the best experience so far. We will definitely return and look forward to the great service and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Second time at the Loews Ventana Canyon, loved it the first time, but this time, wasn't as nice.
Still love the rooms, with the huge bathtub and TV in the bathrooms.
Balcony the first time around was better with nice city views.
Second time around our balcony was not very private because the way they are positioned, whereby people in other balconys on both sides can see into your balcony, from as far away at 10 balconys down. Many balconies are like that but not all.

Had problems with the pool area this time.
Admittedly the hotel was pretty full with the Mrs. America pageant going on at the hotel, while last time it was alot less crowded.
The pool itself is good, although they have maybe about 50 loungers outside which is probably about 100 less than they need.
They have another "adult" pool by the spa with more loungers but that too was full and the pool is pretty small.
Since there were no chairs or loungers available we just sat in our balcony.

We went back down later in the early evening and there were some loungers available so we put our clothes, books and towels down on two loungers and went directly into the pool.
After about ten minutes, I saw Mrs. Minnesota talking to the towel girl and the towel girl went to our loungers and took our belongings off the lounger and gave the loungers to Mrs. Minnesota and presumably her husband. She then took our belongings back to her station in the towel tent..
It wasn't even ten minutes and we were dispossesed of our loungers and the loungers were right in front of her station so she should have seen that we just arrived especially since we got two towels from her.
Really didn't like that especially since there were other open loungers around.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bjohnson4271, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It was disappointing to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet you expectations. Rest assured, your issues will be addressed, and corrected by our staff. We hope you will return soon, and please do not hesitate to contact my assistant for any upcoming reservations. Sincerely, Brian Johnson Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium-Europe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2010

When i go to Tucson this where i want to stay. Better than Hilton Conquistador. Nice views over Tucson and Saguaro. Good food and great breakfast. Only pricy in the high season...

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ArcticFoxes_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
779 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.4 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing